Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2017, 05:49:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Max # of GPUs on one motherboard (Linux)?  (Read 1208 times)
marvinmartian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 10:30:28 PM
 #1

I see several motherboards out there with 2, 3, 4, and even 5 PCI 2.0 slots on them.  EG.,

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131667

but I've never even heard of crossfire or sli working with five (5) cards. 

How does this work with bitcoin mining, particularly under Linux.  Can I just insert five cards and have the OS do the rest?  Or do I need to somehow cable all the cards together (my last time with crossfire I had to connect the two cards with a special cable)?

Thanks,

N

"... and the geeks shall inherit the earth."
1498412969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498412969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498412969
Reply with quote  #2

1498412969
Report to moderator
1498412969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498412969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498412969
Reply with quote  #2

1498412969
Report to moderator
"This isn't the kind of software where we can leave so many unresolved bugs that we need a tracker for them." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498412969
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498412969

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498412969
Reply with quote  #2

1498412969
Report to moderator
tunatime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 03:16:45 AM
 #2

you can only crossfire or sli up to 4 cards but you can run as many cards as you want whit out sli/crossfire(some mb dotn like a lot of cards though) and some boards shut off pcie lanes if you use other slots like lga 1155 does this unless they have the nf200 chip in them to multiplex pcie lanes

as for getting them all to work under Linux idk but on windows you just hook up dummy plugs to them and then start them up
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 09:46:40 AM
 #3

as long as you have enough power to run them - linux will be able to see and use all of them - it will be the power that is the difficulty - no need for dummy plus or anything

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!