Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 08:04:17 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GUI Miner crashes on open SOLVED!!! A.K.A. HOW TO SOLVE ISSUE WITH OPENCL  (Read 16735 times)
sv4ol84a6v79a46ilby
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 05:11:49 AM
 #1

SCROLL DOWN TO END OF POST FOR THE SOLUTION!!!

I downloaded the latest version (here: github.com/downloads/Kiv/poclbm/guiminer-20121203 [DOT] exe), found at the official thread (here: http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3878.0)

Here is the error screen:





I installed the Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (here) just in case, but it didn't work.

I installed the OpenCL for my Radeon HD card (here), and restarted my PC, but still same appcrash.

The file I am directly double-clicking to run from the extracted folder, is guiminer.exe


Am I supposed to be doing something more than just double-clicking the guiminer.exe file?

What could be causing this issue?

Antivirus is not running, and I disabled any malware programs. I disabled Windows Firewall too. Still same issue.

I also tried to run directly from cmd, but same appcrash.




With further research, I now know it is clearly a problem with OPENCL. Trying to figure it out.

I know this, because also the OPENCL benchmark has same problem
http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/16920-directcompute-and-opencl-benchmark.html



-----------------------

UPDATE: SOLVED!!!

Ok, here is how I solved it:

STEP 1)
  • Went to C:/Windows/System32/
  • appended .old to the following files (you could also delete):
    • SlotMaximizerAg.dll
    • SlotMaximizerBe.dll
    • amdocl64.dll
    • OpenCL.dll
    • OpenVideo64.dll
    • OVDecode64.dll

STEP 2)
  • Went to C:/Windows/SysWOW64/
  • appended .old to the following files (you could also delete):
    • SlotMaximizerAg.dll
    • SlotMaximizerBe.dll
    • amdocl.dll
    • OpenCL.dll
    • OpenVideo.dll
    • OVDecode.dll

Step 3)
Reinstalled the AMD SDK (found here: http://developer.amd.com/tools/heterogeneous-computing/amd-accelerated-parallel-processing-app-sdk/downloads/)

SUCCESS!!! Cheesy

1508443457
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508443457

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508443457
Reply with quote  #2

1508443457
Report to moderator
1508443457
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508443457

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508443457
Reply with quote  #2

1508443457
Report to moderator
1508443457
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508443457

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508443457
Reply with quote  #2

1508443457
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
GSnak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 06:55:39 AM
 #2

You can try running CGMiner directly.
sv4ol84a6v79a46ilby
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 07:14:49 AM
 #3

You can try running CGMiner directly.

no, i did that first. THEN i tried cmd method still didn't work

It is clearly a problem with OPENCL with further research. trying to figure it out.

I know this, because also the OPENCL benchmark has same problem
http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/16920-directcompute-and-opencl-benchmark.html

sv4ol84a6v79a46ilby
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 07:24:18 AM
 #4

SOLVED!!

sv4ol84a6v79a46ilby
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 07:33:22 AM
 #5

I appended solution to the end of the original post.

SoundChaos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2



View Profile
April 27, 2013, 01:16:11 AM
 #6

OMG THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! Your post was incredibly detailed and thorough, which I very much appreciated! I had the exact same issue right down to every step of the way, and tried countless solutions posted by others, but you put it all in one with a few things I have not tried yet, and it worked perfectly.
Galli
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50



View Profile
April 29, 2013, 11:50:35 PM
 #7

Huge help!!! I had the same problem and this fix worked well!

thanks!!
os008
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79



View Profile
June 20, 2013, 12:53:17 PM
 #8

STEP 1)
  • Went to C:/Windows/System32/
  • appended .old to the following files (you could also delete):
    • SlotMaximizerAg.dll
    • SlotMaximizerBe.dll
    • amdocl64.dll
    • OpenCL.dll
    • OpenVideo64.dll
    • OVDecode64.dll

STEP 2)
  • Went to C:/Windows/SysWOW64/
  • appended .old to the following files (you could also delete):
    • SlotMaximizerAg.dll
    • SlotMaximizerBe.dll
    • amdocl.dll
    • OpenCL.dll
    • OpenVideo.dll
    • OVDecode.dll

Thank you. This solved my problem as well. However, in step 3, I installed the OpenCL from the driver package, and it worked.

2x5850 @ 600[M|K]H/s
Saedeleare
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile
September 01, 2013, 04:06:01 PM
 #9

Greetings Miners,

 got a little problem.

Bought some 5850 to get startet with Litecoin.

I tested:

Card A with 260 kh/s AX5850 1GbD5-PPDHG Power color

Card B with 230 kh/s ATI Radeon HD 5850 Extreme

 
So i went back to Card A. Deinstalled Drivers. Changed the Card. Installed the drivers again (Catalyst 13.4)

When i start cgminer 3.3.1 after a few seconds i get the message, cgminer isnt working anymore

My Scrypt

cgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://stratum2.wemineltc.com:3334 -u XXXX -p XXXX -I 12

 
I tried CGMiner 3.4.0. Same result.

Installed Catalyst 13.1. Same result with both CGMiners Versions.

Shut down Antivir and Firewall. Same result.

I tried to install the sdk but i always get an error. The Samples wont get installed.

 

I can run the Card on the Bitminter java Client for Bitcoins with 300 mh/s without problems.

 

Anyone any suggestions? Want to start Mining again.

 

Thx for help
EzCheese
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
September 02, 2013, 01:18:57 AM
 #10

I'm not sure with CGminer, but if you've tried everything posted here and it's still crashing (guiminer), verify you have java installed.  

I worked for hours until I remembered someone saying you need it installed to work.   Roll Eyes

Hope this helps,
EZ
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!