Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:48:08 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
Author Topic: How Long do you have to Wait to Not be a Newbie?  (Read 1854 times)
Rob768
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 11:35:59 PM
 #1

Just wondering.  I had questions for the other folders at this forum.  When will I be able to post in them?

1481276888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481276888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481276888
Reply with quote  #2

1481276888
Report to moderator
1481276888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481276888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481276888
Reply with quote  #2

1481276888
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481276888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481276888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481276888
Reply with quote  #2

1481276888
Report to moderator
1481276888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481276888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481276888
Reply with quote  #2

1481276888
Report to moderator
1481276888
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481276888

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481276888
Reply with quote  #2

1481276888
Report to moderator
deadon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 11:46:04 PM
 #2

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=15911.0
Sayno86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 11:53:39 PM
 #3

5 post requirement just encourages someone to spam here and there to get their 5 posts.

I'd really like to make a post on the deepbit thread asking why I haven't seen the bitcoins I tried to withdraw from my account there even after waiting 4 hours, instead, I am here. . . spamming.
Salzgitter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 12:05:24 AM
 #4

Yeah, its really annoying, having to ask some important stuff and being forced to spam here for a while, even after reading the Forum peacefully for several days... Cant even show up how serious i'm into Bitcoin because I need to spam 50 posts just to put my deepbit Hashrate into my signature... Wink
deadon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 12:22:18 AM
 #5

It is irritating indeed. However, it does protect the rest of the board from illegitimate spam and trolls.
sudzandbudz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 12:57:15 AM
 #6

I'm pretty frustrated myself - it has been a week since I learned about Bitcoin, and I still don't have any. Tried one exchange - lots of communication at first, then I send the moneypak and no more responses (they didn't even cash it). Tried somewhere else - they need you to do an international wire or open a dwolla account. I come to this forum to post on the thread on the processor I tried to use, and I find out I can't even post due to a new rule. I'm a friggin computer programmer and I'm frustrated - I can't even imagine a non-geek would even be bothering anymore at this point. It will most certainly have to get easier to purchase these things if it is ever going to catch on big.
ricksta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77

Co-founder and CEO of CoinFresh.com


View Profile WWW
June 16, 2011, 01:06:33 AM
 #7

yeah it's not easy setting up a mining rig either. I'm an electrical computer engineer and I've spent many days setting my rig up.

fascistmuffin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 01:08:50 AM
 #8

It was quite frustrating when I wanted to answer a hardware question, but after staring at the screen for five minutes wondering where the reply button went, I quickly gave up.

There are many ways to prevent spam and trolls, and this is an effective way, maybe not the best, but it does make it difficult for newcomers to contribute. All I got to say now is: Na na na, I got out Tongue

P.S.: The 4 hours limit is kinda ridiculous. I'm not sure the policy makers know how long that can take to accumulate.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 01:13:39 AM
 #9

It was quite frustrating when I wanted to answer a hardware question, but after staring at the screen for five minutes wondering where the reply button went, I quickly gave up.

There are many ways to prevent spam and trolls, and this is an effective way, maybe not the best, but it does make it difficult for newcomers to contribute. All I got to say now is: Na na na, I got out Tongue

P.S.: The 4 hours limit is kinda ridiculous. I'm not sure the policy makers know how long that can take to accumulate.

Just keep a tab signed in for a while, that's what I do, im up to 7 days logged in.
TheSpiceMustFlow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 01:18:20 AM
 #10

 Cool
Bitman_Begins
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 16, 2011, 01:32:53 AM
 #11

Is there really any point in joinin a "rig" if you ca just buy bitcoins from an exchange anyway?

I am waiting for my account being verified by Bitmarket.eu??...I have put my eBay username as a CV, hopefully that will get me in as I have over 4000 FB.

Want to join Tradehill.com? Please use this referral code as you join: TH-R18919

Join the Bitcoin Randomizer using this link and start winning Bitcoins! http://rand.bitcat.ch/?ref=128

Tip me! 1NBN21CDpuc6Gyns2oqRjDSvxaanMeYfbY
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 01:34:24 AM
 #12

Is there really any point in joinin a "rig" if you ca just buy bitcoins from an exchange anyway?

I am waiting for my account being verified by Bitmarket.eu??...I have put my eBay username as a CV, hopefully that will get me in as I have over 4000 FB.

hm?
Chimel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 01:56:22 AM
 #13

Is there really any point in joinin a "rig" if you ca just buy bitcoins from an exchange anyway?
It's called a pool, but there's probably no point for the casual miner at this stage.
OK, you may get 1 BTC a day for free if you're lucky, probably more like 1 BTC a week very shortly because of the mining competition increase, but it probably makes more sense to buy 1000 bitcoins at $10 each and resell them when they reach $20/BTC.

That's assuming the exchange rate will increase, which is likely in the medium term, but now the American government is looking at the bitcoin system, so I would not keep bitcoins on the long term. I know, "they'll never be able to shut us down etc."

If you make enough money buying and selling bitcoins to pay for a mining machine, like a $3000 PC with 3 Radeon 6990 cards that mines at 2 gigahashes/second, or even a less ambitious system, then it's a different matter, because you basically got it for free and can resell it for real money if you need to. Just don't expect a mining machine bought now to pay for itself any time soon. Still, for the gamer, you get a great machine at reduced price.
somebadger
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile WWW
June 16, 2011, 01:57:57 AM
 #14

yeah it's not easy setting up a mining rig either. I'm an electrical computer engineer and I've spent many days setting my rig up.

i'm not qualified in any way to setup a rig, but i'm giving it a go with a asus supercomputer mobo, and 7 x 5770 single slot cards.. will see how it goes

http://pool.betcoin.co/banners/1.sig.png <-- Click here to join me Smiley
--
Have I been helpful ? Kick some coins over to 1BLkDhijWne8dAhK4TA9dceUC6C6K6Fite Smiley
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 02:03:14 AM
 #15

yeah it's not easy setting up a mining rig either. I'm an electrical computer engineer and I've spent many days setting my rig up.

i'm not qualified in any way to setup a rig, but i'm giving it a go with a asus supercomputer mobo, and 7 x 5770 single slot cards.. will see how it goes


7?!
ananas5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 02:10:47 AM
 #16

You need to post 5 posts and total time logged in 4 hours.

(+1 post for me  Grin)

If you liked my post, you are free to donate: 17edqFhWUTMthCoLxXNzAxnes8roNLUcik
Thank you.
Tim the Magician
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 02:11:21 AM
 #17

yeah it's not easy setting up a mining rig either. I'm an electrical computer engineer and I've spent many days setting my rig up.

You do have to know your way around a computer and not mind doing a bunch of research.  At least we can try to captialize on our tech abilities for a while.. it it was totally obvious there would be no profit in it at all.
Chimel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 02:16:50 AM
 #18

i'm not qualified in any way to setup a rig, but i'm giving it a go with a asus supercomputer mobo, and 7 x 5770 single slot cards.. will see how it goes
You do know that there is no motherboard that can fit 7 PCI-E x16 cards, right?
Or that most decent 5770 are double slots?
Or no PSU powerful enough or probably no circuit breaker and outlet in your house powerful enough to feed that monster?
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 02:21:49 AM
 #19

i'm not qualified in any way to setup a rig, but i'm giving it a go with a asus supercomputer mobo, and 7 x 5770 single slot cards.. will see how it goes
You do know that there is no motherboard that can fit 7 PCI-E x16 cards, right?
Or that most decent 5770 are double slots?
Or no PSU powerful enough or probably no circuit breaker and outlet in your house powerful enough to feed that monster?

You can put GPU's into x1 slots. and you can use more than 1 PSU per motherboard.
Tim the Magician
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 02:28:41 AM
 #20

i'm not qualified in any way to setup a rig, but i'm giving it a go with a asus supercomputer mobo, and 7 x 5770 single slot cards.. will see how it goes
You do know that there is no motherboard that can fit 7 PCI-E x16 cards, right?
Or that most decent 5770 are double slots?
Or no PSU powerful enough or probably no circuit breaker and outlet in your house powerful enough to feed that monster?

I've seen a bunch of picts where people have ribbon cables extending their even the x1 ports for more video cards.  And I have heard of people using multiple power supplies.  I heard there was a limit of 4 cards for Windows machines (but I don't know for sure).  A lot of people seem to be running without a case so you can just have all the cards sitting on a shelf with a fan blowing on them.
Pages: [1] 2  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!