Bitcoin Forum
January 24, 2018, 06:29:35 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Rig for a friend .. opinions  (Read 1521 times)
Jama
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 11:13:33 AM
 #1

Hello.

my friend has asked me to build him a rig capable of BTC and LTC mining.

His budget is £1200
Below is what I have put together coming in at £1119

Any opinions on where to spend or save a little more.
It has to have a case, open air is not an option.

Motherboard   Gigabyte 970A-DS3 AMD 970A
CPU              AMD Sempron 145 2.80GHz
RAM              12GB generic dd3
SSD              60gb ocz Agility 3
GPU 1              Sapphire HD 7950 Boost 3072MB
GPU 2              Sapphire HD 7950 Boost 3072MB
GPU 3              Sapphire HD 7950 Boost 3072MB
PSU              1000w Cougar Modular ATX
CASE              Cooler Master HAF XB

2 cards would run straight in the x16 slots, with the 3rd on an x1 riser.



1516775375
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516775375

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516775375
Reply with quote  #2

1516775375
Report to moderator
1516775375
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516775375

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516775375
Reply with quote  #2

1516775375
Report to moderator
1516775375
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516775375

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516775375
Reply with quote  #2

1516775375
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516775375
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516775375

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516775375
Reply with quote  #2

1516775375
Report to moderator
shibaji
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 238


MARKETPLACE FOR PAID ADVICE LIVE BROADCASTS


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 11:15:04 AM
 #2

Looks good - however, gpu btc days are nearly over. Better bet is to wait for asic for btc and fpga for ltc.

Jama
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 11:19:13 AM
 #3

Looks good - however, gpu btc days are nearly over. Better bet is to wait for asic for btc and fpga for ltc.

Thanks.

I forgot to mention electricity cost is 0 for the next 2 years.

middlemarkal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 03:37:02 PM
 #4

if you use a riser why purchase a case ?  Grin

look at that : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=163306.0
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
April 18, 2013, 04:51:42 AM
 #5

Don't need an SSD.  Any old hard drive is fine.  I use a 2GB USB Flash drive myself.

12GB RAM is way too much.  2GB is fine.

I just built a rig around a 970A-DS3, with 7950s.  I can't get the 5th card to work (in the slot nearest the CPU).  The other 4 work if I leave that one out.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
BeetcoinScummer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 211



View Profile
April 18, 2013, 05:38:42 AM
 #6

if you use a riser why purchase a case ?  Grin

He probably wants to jerryrig the third card in some location within the case away from the other two slotted cards.
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
April 18, 2013, 09:06:53 PM
 #7

I just built a rig around a 970A-DS3, with 7950s.  I can't get the 5th card to work (in the slot nearest the CPU).  The other 4 work if I leave that one out.

You might need a PCI-E presence short.
logicbomb666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 260



View Profile WWW
April 19, 2013, 03:02:27 AM
 #8

Don't need an SSD.  Any old hard drive is fine.  I use a 2GB USB Flash drive myself.

12GB RAM is way too much.  2GB is fine.



this.

I think snare rolls should be used as a currency.
computerlamp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
April 19, 2013, 03:15:42 AM
 #9

Pretty sure you need more than 2GB ram if you want to ltc mine, I'm not 100% sure so look it up.
aqrulesms
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 303



View Profile
April 21, 2013, 04:00:38 AM
 #10

Pretty sure you need more than 2GB ram if you want to ltc mine, I'm not 100% sure so look it up.

Definitely get around 6-8 GB of RAM, it'll come in handy. My reaper applications run in at around 1.5 GB each so it takes quite a huge amount of memory for LITECOIN.

    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   
   ████████████████████████████████   
     ▀██████████████████████████▀     
        ▀████████████████████▀       
          ████████████████▀         
            █████████████           
            ▀████████████▀           
             ▀██████████▀             
              ██████████             
               ████████               
               ▀██████▀               
                ██████               
                 
.
trade.io.
██████
██████
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
██████
██████

▄██████████████████▄
███       ▀███████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███       █████████
███              ██
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ███
███              ███
███▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███
██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
███████████▀ ███████
█████████▀   ███████
███████▀     ██▀ ███
███ ▀▀       █▄▄████
███          █▀▀▀▀██
███ ▄▄       ███████
██████▄     █▄ ▀███
█████████▄   ███▄███
███████████▄ ███████
▀██████████████████▀

▄██████████████████▄
████████████████████
███████████████▀▀ ██
█████████▀▀     ███
████▀▀     ▄█▀   ███
███▄    ▄██      ███
█████████▀      ▄██
█████████▄     ████
█████████████▄ ▄████
████████████████████
▀██████████████████▀
██████
██████
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
██████
██████
.
.Join the Trading Revolution.
NetcodePool
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
April 21, 2013, 03:26:05 PM
 #11

Hmm thats interesting, ive been running 4GB on my rigs and use reaper and able to pull expected rates.

netcodepool.org
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!