Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 08:13:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: If you register your own namecoin domain, do u need to keep a DNS server running  (Read 1148 times)
sv4ol84a6v79a46ilby
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 12:21:25 PM
 #1

Per instructions here: http://dot-bit.org/HowToRegisterAndConfigureBitDomains

Do I need to keep my computer on and the DNS running constantly in order to host my own domain?

1510949614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510949614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510949614
Reply with quote  #2

1510949614
Report to moderator
1510949614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510949614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510949614
Reply with quote  #2

1510949614
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510949614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510949614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510949614
Reply with quote  #2

1510949614
Report to moderator
1510949614
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510949614

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510949614
Reply with quote  #2

1510949614
Report to moderator
sv4ol84a6v79a46ilby
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
April 15, 2013, 12:28:12 AM
 #2

bump

mightyb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 04:11:58 PM
 #3

Yes, it will need to be running just like if you were using VPS or dedicated hosting.

Donate LTC: LLpMHGMmhyXjExRdEDbWqvhu7WAvtzVfWz
Donate BTC: 19XG2FAv1pHBxFX7xS4MByo8ytw2dYUdmc
Top Donors (PM me after donating): Anonymous: 0.02 BTC
mmeijeri
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714

Martijn Meijering


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 04:15:04 PM
 #4

You don't need to run your own DNS server if you're willing to rely on existing DNS servers that already work with .bit domains. You'd probably want to use something like FoxyProxy to make sure not every DNS request goes through such a server.

How To Browse Bit Domains

ROI is not a verb, the term you're looking for is 'to break even'.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!