Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 03:25:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Noob GPU mining - problem with Slush's pool  (Read 748 times)
IDiggityBC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 02:55:24 PM
 #1

Hey all,

As the title suggests, I'm new to BTC and currently GPU mining until ASICs make it totally worthless.

I've got 3 total miners at 2 different locations working in Slush's pool.  2 of them were working fine as of a couple of days ago, but now only my main one is earning shares.

[1st IP]: ~250 MH/s, earning shares

[2nd IP]: ~30 MH/s, stopped earning shares; ~8 MH/s, never started earning shares.


I really wish I could get the miners at the 2nd site earning shares, as I'm losing out on about 10-15% earnings potential. Any advice welcome.

Happy mining!
1513005902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513005902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513005902
Reply with quote  #2

1513005902
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
slarowe86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 03:00:19 PM
 #2

Hey all,

As the title suggests, I'm new to BTC and currently GPU mining until ASICs make it totally worthless.

I've got 3 total miners at 2 different locations working in Slush's pool.  2 of them were working fine as of a couple of days ago, but now only my main one is earning shares.

[1st IP]: ~250 MH/s, earning shares

[2nd IP]: ~30 MH/s, stopped earning shares; ~8 MH/s, never started earning shares.


I really wish I could get the miners at the 2nd site earning shares, as I'm losing out on about 10-15% earnings potential. Any advice welcome.

Happy mining!

So assuming each PC is assigned as a different worker, are all the settings the same? I know slush pool has been having issues recently. Setup a backup pool with 50btc.com or somethin like that (I would suggest BTC Guild, but they have too many users and would be paying a good amount in fee's)
IDiggityBC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 05:06:17 PM
 #3

Yeah, each machine has its own worker assigned, all pointed at  stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333

Just confusing that the 30 MH/s working was working fine until 3 days ago...  The two that aren't working probably have the same external IP, as they are part of a massive university network. GUIMiner shows them hashing, just not earning shares. How can it be that they connect to stratum but don't earn?
slarowe86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 05:15:50 PM
 #4

Yeah, each machine has its own worker assigned, all pointed at  stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333

Just confusing that the 30 MH/s working was working fine until 3 days ago...  The two that aren't working probably have the same external IP, as they are part of a massive university network. GUIMiner shows them hashing, just not earning shares. How can it be that they connect to stratum but don't earn?

Unless the university has strict policies, try a different pool
IDiggityBC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 01:47:12 AM
 #5

Very strange.... I got it to work in a command prompt window running poclbm at the command line exactly ONCE today with Slush's pool.  Got 3 or 4 shares over several minutes.  Have tried both poclbm and Guiminer several times with both Slush's pool and BTC Guild with no success.  No shares accrued Sad

In either case, the poclbm output reads:  8 MH/s (~0 MH/s) [Rejected: 0/0 (0.00%)]
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!