Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 06:12:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Will this work  (Read 1216 times)
vonross2012
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 02:59:05 PM
 #1

ok I have 5 available pci-e slots on my motherboard.
 
I'm goin to get 5 PowerColor AX7970 video cards

Will this HUGE power supply handle all 5 cards?



LEPA G Series G1600-MA 1600W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817494006


The reason i want only one power supply is that the pcie riser cables with molex connectors
specifications state NOT to use multiple power supplies.
http://cablesaurus.com/PCIe-x1--%3E-x16-Adapter-Extender-Cable-w-Molex-Connector




ps here is a neet little connector for multiple power supplies
Add2Psu: How to combine multiple power supplies in a single computer
Yea I know you can just cut and connect some wires but it makes it easy.



1513534357
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513534357

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513534357
Reply with quote  #2

1513534357
Report to moderator
1513534357
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513534357

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513534357
Reply with quote  #2

1513534357
Report to moderator
1513534357
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513534357

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513534357
Reply with quote  #2

1513534357
Report to moderator
Bitcoin addresses contain a checksum, so it is very unlikely that mistyping an address will cause you to lose money.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513534357
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513534357

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513534357
Reply with quote  #2

1513534357
Report to moderator
ionux
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile WWW
April 13, 2013, 03:10:04 PM
 #2

Yeah, that will work.  And, like you said, you can just cut and connect some of the PSU wires instead of using that quick connector but you've also gotta think about the resale value of your gear should you decide to sell it. 

CoinPrice.US - Current market prices in a clean, ad-free interface.  API available for adding Bitcoin prices to your site!  |  Escrow service: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=502569.0  |  Reputation thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=494163  |  Public key: http://coinprice.us/public_key.txt  |  URL shortener project: http://10b.us  Cheesy
middlemarkal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 03:31:10 PM
 #3

ok I have 5 available pci-e slots on my motherboard. good look also at this thread https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=163306.0
 
I'm goin to get 5 PowerColor AX7970 video cards I prefer gigabyte 3 fans

Will this HUGE power supply handle all 5 cards? I don't know the lepa brand, use the silverstone st1500 or an other brand name and check the PS on jonnyguru review site



LEPA G Series G1600-MA 1600W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817494006


The reason i want only one power supply is that the pcie riser cables with molex connectors
specifications state NOT to use multiple power supplies.
http://cablesaurus.com/PCIe-x1--%3E-x16-Adapter-Extender-Cable-w-Molex-Connector

back order


ps here is a neet little connector for multiple power supplies
Add2Psu: How to combine multiple power supplies in a single computer
Yea I know you can just cut and connect some wires but it makes it easy.




DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 06:45:11 PM
 #4

I have a LEPA 850 on one on my rigs mining for 2 years no problem. I think LEPA is a spinoff of Enermax, so it should be more than decent.

BTC: 1AMfUrM37cCHcAvyYGx9bsJWjt6rdCu7sj
ETH: 0x427f41c3a6b79ca643210195a33cdbaa714177aa
hoplouie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 04:46:29 AM
 #5

any update? Just ordered a LEPA 1600 for my 5 7950's
My reasoning was that I didn't want too many wires/connectors to increase resistance.
everybody talks about powered risers.... shouldn't a big PSU take care of pci slots?

LTC: LZ4RhTNpVo1ewRc7bEozR2ADXJ86MbGC4d     WDC: Wd6ijHATBUqbENXepdQSrMxHZdoyGpN9Qm

BTC: 1EV7VyrgoAu7ZUkEJ9Y56hkANxn65iCRmT
vonross2012
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 05:05:39 AM
 #6

I got 2 of those power supplies. seem to work great, but right now i only have 2 cards per computer.  Going to add more but waiting on pcie risers.
hoplouie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 05:09:36 AM
 #7

2 on that huge PSU shouldn't be a problem  Cheesy

LTC: LZ4RhTNpVo1ewRc7bEozR2ADXJ86MbGC4d     WDC: Wd6ijHATBUqbENXepdQSrMxHZdoyGpN9Qm

BTC: 1EV7VyrgoAu7ZUkEJ9Y56hkANxn65iCRmT
vonross2012
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 05:09:57 AM
 #8

any update? Just ordered a LEPA 1600 for my 5 7950's
My reasoning was that I didn't want too many wires/connectors to increase resistance.
everybody talks about powered risers.... shouldn't a big PSU take care of pci slots?


The reason for powered pcie risers is most motherboards can handle at least 3 cards but more that that can risk damaging the motherboard.
2Kool4Skewl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


Suretified Jeanius


View Profile
April 30, 2013, 07:35:05 AM
 #9

I have a LEPA 850 on one on my rigs mining for 2 years no problem. I think LEPA is a spinoff of Enermax, so it should be more than decent.

LEPA's products and enermax products are almost identical and use the same components.  Both make good psus.

That psu will almost max out your 1875W circuit (assuming it's 15A).  I wouldn't use more energy than 1440w continually out of a 15A line.  It's not rated for it.  Lines are only rated at 80% max capacity for continuous operation.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!