Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 02:21:53 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7950 problem ! [solved]  (Read 1112 times)
mig91
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 03:28:03 PM
 #1

so i bought 4x vtx7950s to my litecoin mining rig and everything was fine until i see them power usage... my whole 4x7950 rig eats ~1300watt @ c935/m1300/v.stock. (stock clocks are c930/m1250) and they are voltage locked!

so are bios changing the only way to unlock voltage control ?
what vga bios you recommend ?

i really want the cards eating less than 300w each  Tongue

edit. 7950 bios list:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?page=1&architecture=ATI&manufacturer=&model=HD+7950&interface=&memSize=0
1513261313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513261313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513261313
Reply with quote  #2

1513261313
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513261313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513261313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513261313
Reply with quote  #2

1513261313
Report to moderator
1513261313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513261313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513261313
Reply with quote  #2

1513261313
Report to moderator
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 03:34:11 PM
 #2

Try turning the memory clock down and see if that helps.

mig91
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 03:59:47 PM
 #3

Try turning the memory clock down and see if that helps.

i tryed c910/m1050. still eating 270w per card and hashing only 433kh

hmm i really need unlock that v. control, but how ??
mig91
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 06:45:54 PM
 #4

problem solved. thanks to sapphire trixx !
superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 435


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 07:51:28 PM
 #5

You must have one of the 7950's that defaults to 1.25v. Yea you can probably just undervolt with trix but a better solution is a 7970 bios. I have the HIS IceQ 7950 I used the bios from the HIS IceQ x2 7970. I assume you probably can use any reference 7970 bios if yours is a reference 7950 otherwise you probably need to stick with the same brand if its a non-reference. Power usage is around 170w now per card, instead of 250w.
mig91
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 09:26:22 PM
 #6

You must have one of the 7950's that defaults to 1.25v. Yea you can probably just undervolt with trix but a better solution is a 7970 bios. I have the HIS IceQ 7950 I used the bios from the HIS IceQ x2 7970. I assume you probably can use any reference 7970 bios if yours is a reference 7950 otherwise you probably need to stick with the same brand if its a non-reference. Power usage is around 170w now per card, instead of 250w.

im happy with trixx. i undervolted and little overclocked cards and i made -300w in power usage. now that rig is pulling about 980w Smiley

gonna fix it some more tomorrow

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!