Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 12:05:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Updating portable without loosing my BTC ??  (Read 297 times)
icecold007
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
January 24, 2017, 06:33:14 AM
 #1

Hello,

im using a old Version of electrum portable.
Now i try to update to the latest portable build.

How can i do this without loosing my BTC and my settings??

I hope anyone can write me a little step by step guide.
Thank you
1511438734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511438734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511438734
Reply with quote  #2

1511438734
Report to moderator
1511438734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511438734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511438734
Reply with quote  #2

1511438734
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511438734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511438734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511438734
Reply with quote  #2

1511438734
Report to moderator
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260

In the midst of an exam, will be very inactive.


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2017, 06:37:00 AM
 #2

The rule of the thumb is to always backup the seeds first. If not, you should backup the wallet file first.

For portable version, you just have to download and run Electrum in the same directory. Portable versions will always search for Electrum_data folder.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
kolloh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


View Profile
January 24, 2017, 06:55:49 PM
 #3

You shouldn't need to do anything special to upgrade to a new Portable version. Electrum reads the wallets/configurations/etc from your User directory folder.

For example, on recent versions of Windows, it stores the data in the following folder
Code:
Users/YourUserName/AppData/Roaming/Electrum
and for Mac/Linux it will be in
Code:
~/.electrum

Just download the new version and you shouldn't have an issue.
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260

In the midst of an exam, will be very inactive.


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2017, 04:48:45 AM
 #4

You shouldn't need to do anything special to upgrade to a new Portable version. Electrum reads the wallets/configurations/etc from your User directory folder.

For example, on recent versions of Windows, it stores the data in the following folder
Code:
Users/YourUserName/AppData/Roaming/Electrum
and for Mac/Linux it will be in
Code:
~/.electrum

Just download the new version and you shouldn't have an issue.
Portable versions has a different behavior as compared to executable and installer. Portable versions are configured to search for the data directory within the folder the portable version is in. This is what differentiating itself from other versions.

If you opened the client in F:\, the wallet directory will be F:\electrum_data.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
kolloh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


View Profile
January 25, 2017, 01:16:02 PM
 #5

You shouldn't need to do anything special to upgrade to a new Portable version. Electrum reads the wallets/configurations/etc from your User directory folder.

For example, on recent versions of Windows, it stores the data in the following folder
Code:
Users/YourUserName/AppData/Roaming/Electrum
and for Mac/Linux it will be in
Code:
~/.electrum

Just download the new version and you shouldn't have an issue.
Portable versions has a different behavior as compared to executable and installer. Portable versions are configured to search for the data directory within the folder the portable version is in. This is what differentiating itself from other versions.

If you opened the client in F:\, the wallet directory will be F:\electrum_data.

I don't believe that is accurate. I use the portable version and it is still using the data in my user directory. Perhaps it has the option to use both, depending on where it can locate the data?
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260

In the midst of an exam, will be very inactive.


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2017, 10:39:56 AM
 #6

I don't believe that is accurate. I use the portable version and it is still using the data in my user directory. Perhaps it has the option to use both, depending on where it can locate the data?
Are you using the one with -portable.exe behind? For example: electrum-2.7.18-portable.exe. A folder called electrum_data will be created in the same folder. All the block-headers are in there. You can specify another directory for the wallet though.

If you're using the standalone executable, the behavior would be that data will be stored in the %appdata%.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
kolloh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


View Profile
January 27, 2017, 02:37:42 PM
 #7

Are you using the one with -portable.exe behind? For example: electrum-2.7.18-portable.exe. A folder called electrum_data will be created in the same folder. All the block-headers are in there. You can specify another directory for the wallet though.

If you're using the standalone executable, the behavior would be that data will be stored in the %appdata%.

Yeah, I was using the standalone executable and not the "portable" version. Sorry didn't realize they had both the standalone and the portable versions.

Portables are meant to store everything in the local folder so that it is easily ran from a USB drive or whatever so it makes sense that it would store the information within the electrum_data folder in the same folder as the executable.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!