Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2018, 11:09:23 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 3-phase power or Single phase to a power supply? Does it matter?  (Read 656 times)
VentMine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230
Merit: 102


View Profile
February 03, 2017, 07:33:23 PM
 #1

I'm a dummy and want to understand if the power input to a power supply, such as the Bitmain's APW3+ PSU, requires single phase AC or can it be 3 Phase AC?

Spec's on Bitmains website:

Input Voltage Range   176-264V AC
Starting Voltage   200-205V AC
Frequency Range   47-63Hz
...

Can I supply 208V-3PH supply to this PSU or must it be single phase at the appropriate voltage?

Cheers

1ESSdoVYKm8sNtYMfdkFBajhAe2e6G8keH
1544396963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544396963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544396963
Reply with quote  #2

1544396963
Report to moderator
1544396963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544396963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544396963
Reply with quote  #2

1544396963
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544396963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544396963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544396963
Reply with quote  #2

1544396963
Report to moderator
1544396963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544396963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544396963
Reply with quote  #2

1544396963
Report to moderator
1544396963
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544396963

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544396963
Reply with quote  #2

1544396963
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1278

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 03, 2017, 07:35:36 PM
 #2

The PSU will only take in a single hot line. If you span two legs of a 3-phase system for 208V it works just fine. My entire hosting is set up like that.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Colohub
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
February 03, 2017, 11:39:26 PM
 #3

single phase or 3 phase will work just fine, the voltage just needs to be over 200 for that power supply Smiley

www.btcmeqc.com powered by Colohub Data Center
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1278

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 04, 2017, 01:38:04 AM
 #4

Technically not a correct answer, since the PSU doesn't accept 3-phase power. Only a single "phase" is used per PSU; whether that's 240V line-line (or, less likely, line-neutral) or 208V line-line is up to the end user's particular implementation. Of course this is based on a strict parsing of the OP's question, which may not read as he intended it to mean.

But the part about any AC over 200V is right, so pulling 208V from a three-phase installation works just fine.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
VentMine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230
Merit: 102


View Profile
February 04, 2017, 03:46:05 PM
 #5

Right on, I understand. Yes agree my question was worded poorly due to my own confusion. Thanks

1ESSdoVYKm8sNtYMfdkFBajhAe2e6G8keH
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
February 06, 2017, 04:59:03 AM
 #6

The easiest way to use 3-phase power for PSU's is to use a 3-phase specific PDU's which -as sidehack mentioned- breaks power into 3 pairs of phases to obtain line-line 208V (or whatever voltage your 3P is) + ground single-phase equivalent.  The only important thing to note is that the 3 legs of the PDU (colour-coded for simplicity) need to stay as balanced as possible.

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1278

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 05:39:50 AM
 #7

My hosting is set up with 3phase, where I have pulls from two phases dropped to a two-pole subpanel on each shelf breaking out customer circuits (at 208V). There are current meters on each leg at the junction box so I can keep everything reasonably balanced, also shows me what shelves have available power for new gear. Not fancy at all but works out pretty well.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!