Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:21:48 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Its coming down  (Read 3552 times)
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 08:54:16 AM
 #1

Computational power of the Bitcoin network, green 1 day stimate:



Closer, green 8 hour estimate:



Does anyone know where the spike of computational power came and why its going down?
1481228508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228508
Reply with quote  #2

1481228508
Report to moderator
1481228508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228508
Reply with quote  #2

1481228508
Report to moderator
1481228508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228508
Reply with quote  #2

1481228508
Report to moderator
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481228508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228508
Reply with quote  #2

1481228508
Report to moderator
Prze_koles
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 08:57:25 AM
 #2

fuuuu, someone make a sticky about it? The same question is asked every 10 days.

saqwe
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile WWW
June 16, 2011, 09:00:11 AM
 #3

EVERYTIME THE DIFFCULTY CHANGES THE SYSTEM GOES NUTS FOR SEVERAL HOURS

hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 09:02:00 AM
 #4

Ok, my bad. If some mod see this just delete.
dikidera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 10:36:55 AM
 #5

Interesting, you are a member since May 2010 and you didn't know this?? What kind of a bitcoiner are you??
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 10:41:24 AM
 #6

EVERYTIME THE DIFFCULTY CHANGES THE SYSTEM GOES NUTS FOR SEVERAL HOURS
No, that's only the estimate on Bitcoincharts. The graphs on bitcoin.sipa.be aren't influenced by difficulty change.
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 10:44:55 AM
 #7

EVERYTIME THE DIFFCULTY CHANGES THE SYSTEM GOES NUTS FOR SEVERAL HOURS
No, that's only the estimate on Bitcoincharts. The graphs on bitcoin.sipa.be aren't influenced by difficulty change.

Are you saying then that the change is real and not due to sherenigans because of the difficulty change. If so, what has caused that rise and fall?

Quote
Interesting, you are a member since May 2010 and you didn't know this?? What kind of a bitcoiner are you??

I had never GPU mined until one week ago.
btcLeger
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 10:49:02 AM
 #8

EVERYTIME THE DIFFCULTY CHANGES THE SYSTEM GOES NUTS FOR SEVERAL HOURS
No, that's only the estimate on Bitcoincharts. The graphs on bitcoin.sipa.be aren't influenced by difficulty change.
Who switched 2.5 Thash/s nearly simultaniously with the dif. change on then? I doubt the graphs are correct...

I use TradeHill instant BTC trading: http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R11320

donations: 12BdMNcn7VQitFGMhtRojvwXbrX3Jcs9U6
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 10:58:27 AM
 #9

Are you saying then that the change is real and not due to sherenigans because of the difficulty change. If so, what has caused that rise and fall?
There were particulary many blocks solved relative to difficulty. There is no way to know why, but my guess is a combination of luck (lots of blocks taking less time than normal to solve in a row), and temporarily added mining power. The calculation for making the graph is simple, and it's easier to handle the difficulty change right than wrong, so I doubt there is anything wrong with it. There hasn't been in the previous changes. There's often a spike just before the block change because of people trying to squeeze out some extra coins before the next increase. Don't know why most of it came just after this time. Maybe someone with access to a large pool of computers messed up and took too long to get it started.
urtur
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 01:27:43 PM
 #10

EVERYTIME THE DIFFCULTY CHANGES THE SYSTEM GOES NUTS FOR SEVERAL HOURS

It is because of evil prof Vatolini who turns on his 3TH/s cluster for a brief period after the difficulty changes.
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 05:33:30 AM
 #11

I work at AMD as a beta card tester, we've been testing the new 7xxx prototype for a while,
past few days I install a grid miner to about 10k of these cards for the heck of it.
didn't know it would cause so many issue for you gaise, sorri.

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 05:37:28 AM
 #12

I work at AMD as a beta card tester, we've been testing the new 7xxx prototype for a while,
past few days I install a grid miner to about 10k of these cards for the heck of it.
didn't know it would cause so many issue for you gaise, sorri.

Hahah, trolls are getting certainly creative.

PS: Just in the 0.1% chance you are for real, you didnt cause any problem, I was just curious.
fascistmuffin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 05:44:12 AM
 #13

I work at AMD as a beta card tester, we've been testing the new 7xxx prototype for a while,
past few days I install a grid miner to about 10k of these cards for the heck of it.
didn't know it would cause so many issue for you gaise, sorri.

Wouldn't it be considered alpha testing since it's still company only?

Also, I was supposed to help the testing also and never received the card, mine sending me one Tongue Grin
MadduckUK
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 09:35:40 AM
 #14

 Angry dammit, now i really want to ask the troll how many Mhash/s the 7XXX's gave, but he would only make something up  Embarrassed
jasonk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 09:55:20 AM
 #15

I work at AMD as a beta card tester, we've been testing the new 7xxx prototype for a while,
past few days I install a grid miner to about 10k of these cards for the heck of it.
didn't know it would cause so many issue for you gaise, sorri.

Oh that was you that fired up all those cards!  Tomorrow you will be getting your pink slip.  I hope it was worth it!  Tomorrow's your last day at AMD.

Like my post?  Consider giving me a tip! =)

1HSj4CoNarcJ2B8Mi2EY6AtDWkUemYTWkQ
BarsMonster
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 04:08:59 PM
 #16

Oh that was you that fired up all those cards!  Tomorrow you will be getting your pink slip.  I hope it was worth it!  Tomorrow's your last day at AMD.

Yeah, betatester using 2MW of electricity and nobody notices... :-)

We love microchips. That's why we boil them in acid. http://zeptobars.ru/
Man From The Future
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 04:31:00 PM
 #17

People moved to namecoin - its instantaneous difficulty is now 100,000... 0.o, and it's already at 55000.

It was 3k less than a week ago.

D:
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 04:41:43 PM
 #18

People moved to namecoin - its instantaneous difficulty is now 100,000... 0.o, and it's already at 55000.

It was 3k less than a week ago.

D:
it's a fad. Once they found out that it's no longer profitable, it will make a correction

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
exahash
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 276



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 04:46:11 PM
 #19

EVERYTIME THE DIFFCULTY CHANGES THE SYSTEM GOES NUTS FOR SEVERAL HOURS
No, that's only the estimate on Bitcoincharts. The graphs on bitcoin.sipa.be aren't influenced by difficulty change.

It's the same math.  It all goes a little nuts when the difficulty jumps.  The bigger the jump, the further off the estimate of total network power.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!