Bitcoin Forum
August 22, 2017, 06:58:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multi-GPU Mining: Core i5 Integrated GPU and Discrete AMD?  (Read 2098 times)
leetlamer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile WWW
June 16, 2011, 09:58:17 AM
 #1

Is it possible to mine Bitcoins on a discrete gpu and run the regular operating system on Intel integrated HD 2000 graphics (built into CPU) so the system isn't slow?

I want to use my HTPC to mine bitcoins and it currently doesn't have a discrete GPU in it, it only uses the integrated graphics.

bitcoinshirts.co (https://bitcoinshirts.co) - Bitcoin Shirts That Don't Suck! Free shipping to the USA!
1503428298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503428298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503428298
Reply with quote  #2

1503428298
Report to moderator
1503428298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503428298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503428298
Reply with quote  #2

1503428298
Report to moderator
1503428298
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503428298

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503428298
Reply with quote  #2

1503428298
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
September 16, 2011, 07:49:04 PM
 #2

Hi there,
I was actually curious about this setup myself.If the onboard intel GPU (built into CPU) supports OpenCL or another technology that enables GPGPU computing then it can be mined on.Try GPU caps utility or something to check what that GPU supports.As for mining with both intergrated GPU and discrete GPU,that is possible if the intel GPU also supported GPGPU as well.

I'd personally look into AMDs APUs because their intergrated GPUs can be mined on in addition to the discrete GPUs in the system as well.Check the mining hardware comparison to be sure though if going down the AMD APU route as this is planned for a future dedicated mining rig as my current mining is done on my main PC which is also used for other stuff as well so it's not really a dedicated mining as such.

When you check with GPU caps,if you can upload a screen grab of what it says,I may be able to help you a bit more on that.

[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
[This signature is available for rent.BTC/ETH/LTC or £50 equivalent a month]
jrtubs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile
September 17, 2011, 06:05:15 PM
 #3

if you are using your integrated for normal operations that should be fine, but the thing is most of the software/drivers that are being used now seem to put your CPU at 100% load so unless u get everythign set up perfect u will lag even if you're not running your integrated GPU at 100%
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!