Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:41:09 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Catalyst 11.6 drivers released  (Read 9032 times)
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 06:39:33 PM
 #21

AMD 2.1 SDK > All
offers bugfree stable operation + best performance
http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=527&t=137766

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
1481208069
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208069

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208069
Reply with quote  #2

1481208069
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481208069
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208069

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208069
Reply with quote  #2

1481208069
Report to moderator
WebMonkey
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile WWW
June 18, 2011, 09:17:42 PM
 #22

AMD 2.1 SDK > All
offers bugfree stable operation + best performance
http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=527&t=137766

unless you have a 6 series ati card.

which begs the question:

is the ati 6770 a rebadged 5770 and therefore compatible with sdk 2.1?

'monkey

Team Calvary Racing

support the ministry
BTC: 1KXvwsDwRM2RUdwtnff3feuYrHH2a1JHnR
LTC: LWdf2pnmQqBkg7GP7rmfGYCZaAQrjsu2Yx
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 09:29:04 PM
 #23

I'd say no to that.
but you can always try Smiley

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 19, 2011, 03:21:37 AM
 #24

I can do gaming/mining/video on my Nvidia card, but ATI = instant crash.

Really? My 3 year old plays Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, Just Cause 2, and Bulletstorm all the time while the AMD card is hashing!

I've run three cards through his computer too, a 5850, a 4870, and now tonight a 5770, and all three worked fine while hashing!

The key is to set the right aggression so as not to interfere with his games; with the 5850 it was 4, with the 4870 it was 3, and I haven't found the exact one for the 5770 yet but I'm using 3


This is of course all with Phoenix.exe -k phatk

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
SeriousWorm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54



View Profile
June 19, 2011, 03:59:39 AM
 #25

For standalone video problems, try turning off hardware video acceleration. In MPC I just use Overlay Mixer as the renderer, it seems to work well. Of course, then your CPU has to do all the rendering, so make sure you have a powerful CPU because the trend is to offload that work onto the GPU, which you are now actively disabling.
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 06:10:58 AM
 #26

AMD 2.1 SDK > All
offers bugfree stable operation + best performance
http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=527&t=137766
I just downloaded the 2.1 SDK and I observed absolutely no change in hash rates.  However, my temps went from 71C down to 67C with nothing else changed but the SDK.  This totally confuses me, but I'm not going to complain Smiley

Mousepotato
icolsuineg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2011, 08:17:03 AM
 #27

AMD 2.1 SDK > All
offers bugfree stable operation + best performance
http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=527&t=137766
It was true before phoenix+phatk optimized for 2.4, I'm getting the same speeds with it and less hassle while installing (only need to install the 11.5 package).

Any BTC tips go to: 1Avi9bf3m6fAj7MmubMKJh4BtnChGtTTmp
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 03:33:51 PM
 #28

AMD 2.1 SDK > All
offers bugfree stable operation + best performance
http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=527&t=137766
I just downloaded the 2.1 SDK and I observed absolutely no change in hash rates.  However, my temps went from 71C down to 67C with nothing else changed but the SDK.  This totally confuses me, but I'm not going to complain Smiley

Did you actually uninstall the 2.4 SDK and change the device number in your miner?  You'll see the device numbers change for the video cards between 2.1 & 2.4. 
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 05:59:20 PM
 #29

I can do gaming/mining/video on my Nvidia card, but ATI = instant crash.

Really? My 3 year old plays Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, Just Cause 2, and Bulletstorm all the time while the AMD card is hashing!

I've run three cards through his computer too, a 5850, a 4870, and now tonight a 5770, and all three worked fine while hashing!

The key is to set the right aggression so as not to interfere with his games; with the 5850 it was 4, with the 4870 it was 3, and I haven't found the exact one for the 5770 yet but I'm using 3


This is of course all with Phoenix.exe -k phatk

No, the crash only happens with the 6000 serie, it's a OpenCL bug, you start something that use the GPU while mining and ta dah: freeze. Even opening GPU-Z while mining lead to a freeze. But, if you first open GPU-Z, let it load and then you restart mining, everything is fine. This of course does not apply for gaming and what else  Grin

The old CAL doesn't have this bug, if someone make a mining client in CAL that problem would disappear
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 06:07:23 PM
 #30

AMD 2.1 SDK > All
offers bugfree stable operation + best performance
http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=527&t=137766
I just downloaded the 2.1 SDK and I observed absolutely no change in hash rates.  However, my temps went from 71C down to 67C with nothing else changed but the SDK.  This totally confuses me, but I'm not going to complain Smiley

Did you actually uninstall the 2.4 SDK and change the device number in your miner?  You'll see the device numbers change for the video cards between 2.1 & 2.4. 
Yes to the Uninstall, and by "device number" do you mean Platform ID?  I had to specify PLATFORM=0 in my Phoenix Miner batch file after I installed 2.1.

Mousepotato
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 08:06:11 PM
 #31

Not sure what the syntax is for devices with your miner.  With Guiminer/Poclbm with SDK 2.1 my CPU is Device 0 and GPU is Device 1, with SDK 2.4 it's GPU first, CPU second.

Whatever your syntax is, just make sure your miners are pointing to the correct devices/cards.  On my 5xxxx series cards with GUIMiner/Poclbm I see almost 10% faster hashing with 2.1 vs. 2.4.
presha
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 08:39:36 PM
 #32

does it fix the 100% cpu usage thing? getting tired of setting the affnity for every process  Roll Eyes

1JnkNJrdDDUFywkz8KAMhN7jnFHXvt8JTe
dinker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 08:43:33 PM
 #33

1% or less cpu use here for my 5850 and intel quadcore.

Help Me Help You Donations:
14kP6tNtrz3woESs9nEE5aDB81QTybGyyZ
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1395


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 04:14:30 AM
 #34

Does anyone know a way to manually uninstall the APP runtime? I can't install a different version of it, because it thinks it's there when installing it, but doesn't show up to uninstall it.
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 04:51:54 AM
 #35

you can get an app called driver cleaner from guru3d i think.
it wipes any ATI or nvidia drivers clean, assuming you want to reinstall them anyways.

You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1395


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:09:09 AM
 #36

you can get an app called driver cleaner from guru3d i think.
it wipes any ATI or nvidia drivers clean, assuming you want to reinstall them anyways.

I think Driver Sweeper from Guru3d was discontinued, but thanks for the idea.  FYI, I did try completely uninstalling ALL the ATI stuff using the uninstall manager, but when I reinstalled, it still wouldn't install the APP SDK runtime.  Everything else installs fine.
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1395


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 07:46:13 AM
 #37

So, it turns out that the issue was indirectly that the dummy plug I bought off of cablesaurus on ebay doesn't seem to work (or there's something I have to do with it besides plug it into the graphics card!).  Once I plugged an actual monitor into the card, while I still couldn't get the APP SDK Runtime installed, OpenCL was detected, and I could mine.  Can I be sure that the problem is simply a bad dummy plug?
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 08:33:15 AM
 #38

AMD 2.1 SDK > All
offers bugfree stable operation + best performance
http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=527&t=137766

Not true. The phatk kernel is optimized for the 2.4 SDK. I get better results with phatk + 2.4 than with any other combination.
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 22, 2011, 12:47:17 PM
 #39

AMD 2.1 SDK > All
offers bugfree stable operation + best performance
http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=527&t=137766

Not true. The phatk kernel is optimized for the 2.4 SDK. I get better results with phatk + 2.4 than with any other combination.

Yeah, it's all relative to your setup/machine.  No matter what I try, phatk with any SDK performs worse for me than straight poclbm with 2.1.

There is no 'magic' setup that will work for everyone.  Everyone needs to experiment with different miners, miner flags, drivers and SDK's to find out what gives them the best hashrate.
new_in_this
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 04:49:36 PM
 #40

6990 still crashes whenever any hint of video is detected when mining.

Same on 6970, had to reset computer.
(5850, no problems)

No other "visible" changes.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!