Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2019, 01:41:12 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCI-e slots  (Read 2177 times)
ProfLayton
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 16, 2013, 11:36:48 PM
 #1

I have been looking for a decent mobo (and one that won't break my wallet) for my first dedicated miner.
I found a well priced mobo with 4 PCI-e slots, but I am unsure exactly what the specifics mean (new-ish to custom built computers).
PCI Express 2.0 x16: 4 (x16, x16, x4, x4)
What does the "x4, x4" part entail?

link to the mobo HERE

Thanks Smiley
1555638072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555638072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555638072
Reply with quote  #2

1555638072
Report to moderator
1555638072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555638072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555638072
Reply with quote  #2

1555638072
Report to moderator
1555638072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555638072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555638072
Reply with quote  #2

1555638072
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1555638072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555638072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555638072
Reply with quote  #2

1555638072
Report to moderator
1555638072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555638072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555638072
Reply with quote  #2

1555638072
Report to moderator
marketermac
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 17, 2013, 01:45:20 AM
 #2

It's the bandwidth available to the PCIe lane. As far as mining is concerned, it doesn't matter. Even 1x lanes are perfectly fine.


And the link you posted doesn't appear to go anywhere.
mufa23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1001


I'd fight Gandhi.


View Profile
April 17, 2013, 01:56:57 AM
 #3



You can mine on either x1, x4, x8, or x16. x16 is pretty much the standard for videocards these days. But you hook up a videocard into a x1 slot using a PCIe x1 to x16 extender.

Positive rep with: pekv2, AzN1337c0d3r, Vince Torres, underworld07, Chimsley, omegaaf, Bogart, Gleason, SuperTramp, John K. and guitarplinker
ProfLayton
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0



View Profile
April 17, 2013, 02:44:49 AM
 #4

Thanks a lot for the replies guys. Helped a lot Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!