Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2018, 04:14:52 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S5 + 2x450w PSU  (Read 606 times)
evakka
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 262



View Profile WWW
February 10, 2017, 10:58:18 PM
 #1

Is it possible to power an antminer with two 450w ATX PSU and an ADD2psu module?

Has anyone done it?

1537935292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537935292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537935292
Reply with quote  #2

1537935292
Report to moderator
1537935292
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537935292

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537935292
Reply with quote  #2

1537935292
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
abeandund
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 10, 2017, 11:50:29 PM
 #2

It all depends on your power supply and you don't need the ADD2psu module.   Each power supply needs 2 6 pin pci plugs.  Just hook up 1 power supply to 1 blade each.  The s5 only draws around 600 watts at stock, so depending on the PSU's your using should be ok.  Gold rated psu should be right around 300 each and a cheap 80+ will probably be 350+ each at the wall.  You will either need to use the "paper clip" method to bypass a motherboard or the antswitch or other on off adapter for the 20/20+4 atx motherboard plug.  I use 3 750 golds to power my S7's, 1 PSU for each blade.
evakka
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 262



View Profile WWW
February 11, 2017, 07:22:35 PM
 #3

Thanks for your answer

The PSUs that I am talking about are the simpliest, like this
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIAASV4ZX6626&cm_re=450w_power_supply-_-9SIAASV4ZX6626-_-Product


HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1172


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2017, 08:59:54 PM
 #4

Make sure that you don't mix the two PSUs in same hash board.
Keep the PSUs separated from each other.
Turn on the PSU powering the miner controller first!

I don't know where you got the idea to buy two PSUs.
With Antminer S5 you would be good to go with one EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2 power supply, for example.

leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1022



View Profile
February 11, 2017, 09:51:26 PM
 #5

First off, I've used those power supplies and they're the absolute minimum to use. They break VERY easily and didn't even last me a month with miners drawing way less than the rated maximum power. If you really wanted a power supply you could've gotten a server PSU with a BB like a DPS-800- they're not too loud for server psus and they sure run a lot better. IIRC they sell for 35 bucks on eBay and I bought one off a forum member for just thirty bucks!

Cheap PSUS should NEVER be used no matter how much you have. Trust me, better to have a long lasting more expensive psu than one that lasts a month and is cheap.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
evakka
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 262



View Profile WWW
February 12, 2017, 09:48:27 AM
 #6

Thank you both

The thing is that I already have them and if they break i will take new from the guarantee. I don't want to spend more money for a PSU.

Using a S5 u know that is not profitable nowadays, I just want to use it for practice/testing purposes.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!