Bitcoin Forum
February 26, 2018, 03:52:07 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPU Rig Mining Issue  (Read 600 times)
DebitMe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1001


Crypto-Games.net: Multiple coins, multiple games


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 04:36:42 AM
 #1

So, I bought a couple of mining rigs from RockyForever's thread, and have been having an issue with one of the rigs, that I wanted to open up to the community for help as I am kind of lost.

Here is the thread...
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764710.0
Its Rig 1 I am having the issue with...

So, I received the rig and the RAM slot had dislocated from the MOBO, http://imgur.com/a/K7WFA  I tried to start it up with the RAM in the other slot, but I couldn't get any output to the screen.  The power supply would start up, all fans connected would spin, but nothing would output to the monitor.  It would run for about 20 to 30 seconds, then the power would stop and restart up.

I figured it was just the MOBO that the RAM ripped off, so I ordered the exact same MOBO and received it today.  I got the new board hooked up and tried to start it up, but again, nothing would output to the monitor.  I tried switching power supplies and hard drives, to no avail. 

So I guess I am wondering if anyone has any ideas on what could be wrong?  The only parts I haven't changed are the CPU and RAM, but wouldn't I still get an output of the BIOS at the very least?

Thanks for anyone's help in advance.


▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄██████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
▀██████████████████████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
   ███████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
███████
BTC  ◉PLAY  ◉XMR  ◉DOGE  ◉STRAT  ◉ETH  ◉GRC  ◉LTC  ◉DASH  ◉PPC
     ▄▄██████████████▄▄
  ▄██████████████████████▄        █████
▄██████████████████████████▄      █████
████ ▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄ ████     ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██
████ ▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀ ████ ▄██████▄
████████████████████████████ ████████
███████▀            ▀███████ ▀██████▀
█████▀                ▀█████
▀██████████████████████████▀
  ▀▀████████████████████▀▀ 
DICE           
BLACKJACK
PLINKO       
VIDEO POKER
ROULETTE     
LOTTO             
1519617127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519617127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519617127
Reply with quote  #2

1519617127
Report to moderator
1519617127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519617127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519617127
Reply with quote  #2

1519617127
Report to moderator
1519617127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519617127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519617127
Reply with quote  #2

1519617127
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1519617127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519617127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519617127
Reply with quote  #2

1519617127
Report to moderator
1519617127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519617127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519617127
Reply with quote  #2

1519617127
Report to moderator
Biodom
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1047


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 04:47:12 AM
 #2

So, I bought a couple of mining rigs from RockyForever's thread, and have been having an issue with one of the rigs, that I wanted to open up to the community for help as I am kind of lost.

Here is the thread...
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764710.0
Its Rig 1 I am having the issue with...

So, I received the rig and the RAM slot had dislocated from the MOBO, http://imgur.com/a/K7WFA  I tried to start it up with the RAM in the other slot, but I couldn't get any output to the screen.  The power supply would start up, all fans connected would spin, but nothing would output to the monitor.  It would run for about 20 to 30 seconds, then the power would stop and restart up.

I figured it was just the MOBO that the RAM ripped off, so I ordered the exact same MOBO and received it today.  I got the new board hooked up and tried to start it up, but again, nothing would output to the monitor.  I tried switching power supplies and hard drives, to no avail.  

So I guess I am wondering if anyone has any ideas on what could be wrong?  The only parts I haven't changed are the CPU and RAM, but wouldn't I still get an output of the BIOS at the very least?

Thanks for anyone's help in advance.

I had exactly the same situation. It turned out that CPU's pin bed had some pins bent out of shape, but since you have all new mobo, it is unlikely to be the case. Maybe look at CPU's pins and see if anything looks out of shape. Was CPU shipped on mobo? Since RAM was ripped, the same blow could have smashed CPU's pins.
DebitMe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1001


Crypto-Games.net: Multiple coins, multiple games


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 04:50:48 AM
 #3

So, I bought a couple of mining rigs from RockyForever's thread, and have been having an issue with one of the rigs, that I wanted to open up to the community for help as I am kind of lost.

Here is the thread...
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764710.0
Its Rig 1 I am having the issue with...

So, I received the rig and the RAM slot had dislocated from the MOBO, http://imgur.com/a/K7WFA  I tried to start it up with the RAM in the other slot, but I couldn't get any output to the screen.  The power supply would start up, all fans connected would spin, but nothing would output to the monitor.  It would run for about 20 to 30 seconds, then the power would stop and restart up.

I figured it was just the MOBO that the RAM ripped off, so I ordered the exact same MOBO and received it today.  I got the new board hooked up and tried to start it up, but again, nothing would output to the monitor.  I tried switching power supplies and hard drives, to no avail.  

So I guess I am wondering if anyone has any ideas on what could be wrong?  The only parts I haven't changed are the CPU and RAM, but wouldn't I still get an output of the BIOS at the very least?

Thanks for anyone's help in advance.

I had exactly the same situation. It turned out that CPU's pin bed had some pins bent out of shape, but since you have all new mobo, it is unlikely to be the case. Maybe look at CPU's pins and see if anything looks out of shape. Was CPU shipped on mobo?

CPU was shipped attached to MOBO, I will take a look to see if pins look OK.

EDIT:  Just looked at the pins on both MOBO's and on the CPU, and can't seem to find anything out of place.  I am planning to purchase a new CPU tomorrow unless any else has any ideas?


▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄██████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
▀██████████████████████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
   ███████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
███████
BTC  ◉PLAY  ◉XMR  ◉DOGE  ◉STRAT  ◉ETH  ◉GRC  ◉LTC  ◉DASH  ◉PPC
     ▄▄██████████████▄▄
  ▄██████████████████████▄        █████
▄██████████████████████████▄      █████
████ ▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄ ████     ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██
████ ▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀ ████ ▄██████▄
████████████████████████████ ████████
███████▀            ▀███████ ▀██████▀
█████▀                ▀█████
▀██████████████████████████▀
  ▀▀████████████████████▀▀ 
DICE           
BLACKJACK
PLINKO       
VIDEO POKER
ROULETTE     
LOTTO             
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 658
Merit: 516


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2017, 07:44:06 AM
 #4

did you tried connecting the monitor to different hdmi/dpi ports on the vga card if only  1 card installed ? or  boot the computer without any cards in the pci slot , monitor connected straight to the  motherboard dvi or vga output ?


Learn about Merit & new rank requirements , Learn how to use MERIT , make this community better
If you like the answer you got for your question from any member ,
If you find any post useful , informative use the +Merit button.
mojoxc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 12:12:55 PM
 #5

So, I bought a couple of mining rigs from RockyForever's thread, and have been having an issue with one of the rigs, that I wanted to open up to the community for help as I am kind of lost.

Here is the thread...
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764710.0
Its Rig 1 I am having the issue with...

So, I received the rig and the RAM slot had dislocated from the MOBO, http://imgur.com/a/K7WFA  I tried to start it up with the RAM in the other slot, but I couldn't get any output to the screen.  The power supply would start up, all fans connected would spin, but nothing would output to the monitor.  It would run for about 20 to 30 seconds, then the power would stop and restart up.

I figured it was just the MOBO that the RAM ripped off, so I ordered the exact same MOBO and received it today.  I got the new board hooked up and tried to start it up, but again, nothing would output to the monitor.  I tried switching power supplies and hard drives, to no avail.  

So I guess I am wondering if anyone has any ideas on what could be wrong?  The only parts I haven't changed are the CPU and RAM, but wouldn't I still get an output of the BIOS at the very least?

Thanks for anyone's help in advance.


I had exactly the same situation. It turned out that CPU's pin bed had some pins bent out of shape, but since you have all new mobo, it is unlikely to be the case. Maybe look at CPU's pins and see if anything looks out of shape. Was CPU shipped on mobo?

CPU was shipped attached to MOBO, I will take a look to see if pins look OK.

EDIT:  Just looked at the pins on both MOBO's and on the CPU, and can't seem to find anything out of place.  I am planning to purchase a new CPU tomorrow unless any else has any ideas?

Swap the ram first from one of your other rigs and see if that works then try a cpu from another rig if that does not work.  The Asrock h97 Anniversary boards, Asrock H81 pro btc boards and the Biostar board he had listed all have DDR3 Ram and Lga 1150 processors so you can interchange ram and cpus.  Figure out what parts not by testing known working ones then just buy the part you need vs guessing.
DebitMe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1001


Crypto-Games.net: Multiple coins, multiple games


View Profile
February 15, 2017, 02:47:18 PM
 #6

did you tried connecting the monitor to different hdmi/dpi ports on the vga card if only  1 card installed ? or  boot the computer without any cards in the pci slot , monitor connected straight to the  motherboard dvi or vga output ?



I tried the other ports and booting without a GPU connected, no dice...

Good call mojoxc, I will try swapping the RAM and CPU from Rig 2 in and see if that fixes it.  It has to be one of those 2, since I have changed everything else out anyway.


▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄██████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
▀██████████████████████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
   ███████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
███████
BTC  ◉PLAY  ◉XMR  ◉DOGE  ◉STRAT  ◉ETH  ◉GRC  ◉LTC  ◉DASH  ◉PPC
     ▄▄██████████████▄▄
  ▄██████████████████████▄        █████
▄██████████████████████████▄      █████
████ ▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄ ████     ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██
████ ▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀ ████ ▄██████▄
████████████████████████████ ████████
███████▀            ▀███████ ▀██████▀
█████▀                ▀█████
▀██████████████████████████▀
  ▀▀████████████████████▀▀ 
DICE           
BLACKJACK
PLINKO       
VIDEO POKER
ROULETTE     
LOTTO             
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!