Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2024, 05:48:04 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Creating the Bitcoin floor @ 1/2 the current price  (Read 1494 times)
FandangledGizmo (OP)
Legendary

Activity: 1138
Merit: 1001

View Profile
April 18, 2013, 12:09:10 AM

I just thought about this tonight so apologies if it's been discussed before and or if my maths/assertions are wrong. I'm fairly new to BTC but I hate the idea that nefarious entities or speculators may be able to control the future of BTC by bringing huge volatility to what should be a fairly stable rising store of value. (even if it goes up fairly fast in the short term giving it's low starting point.)

Right now nefarious entities can drive the price down by selling a large amount of coins and then buy up again at the lower amount.

Eg. If you bought 100 coins at $50 sold at $250 and then bought at $50 again you would have 500 coins. If you have enough coins to control the price moves in thinly traded times A government/nefarious entity can quickly amass a substantial share of Bitcoins which can be used to control the price even further.

This is their plan but I think it is very easy to fight back if supporters of BTC work together.

Putting a strong floor @ +-1/2 the current BTC price.

As I hope to show this will reduce volatility to the upside and the downside. It also only requires a few big players/accounts to take part to make it 'self fulfilling' and it also very much in their interest.

How do we put the floor under the price?

Lets call it the 'BTC TEAM' (People who help stabilise BTC by contributing to the floor)

Once the BTC price passes $100, the BTC Team  slowly trade out 10% of their BTC and put in a buy order order @ $50.
This will give us a buy order for at least double the BTC we just sold.

E.g Round numbers for simplicity (10 Mil)