Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 01:51:46 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Let's dispel two Windows GPU mining myths..  (Read 14279 times)
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:41:23 PM
 #1

A lot of us have read that Windows has a 4 GPU limit and that Windows XP can't do 4 GPU's.  Let's verify/dispel those myths.

  • Is there anyone out there that has more than 4 GPU's mining on a box running Windows OS?
  • Is there anyone that's been able to get 2, 3 or 4 cards mining using Windows XP?

Edit: If anyone can answer yes to either of those above, please list your hardware/software setup.
1481464306
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481464306

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481464306
Reply with quote  #2

1481464306
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481464306
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481464306

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481464306
Reply with quote  #2

1481464306
Report to moderator
1481464306
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481464306

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481464306
Reply with quote  #2

1481464306
Report to moderator
dayfall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:08:31 PM
 #2

Yes, I have had 3 6970's running on XP.  However, I had heat issues and had to remove one to another box.  I used the Guiminer, poclbm, 2.4 drivers, (and cat 11.4  I think, not sure).  MB was a ASUS Crosshair IV Formula.
keybaud
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:12:58 PM
 #3

A lot of us have read that Windows has a 4 GPU limit and that Windows XP can't do 4 GPU's.  Let's verify/dispel those myths.

  • Is there anyone out there that has more than 4 GPU's mining on a box running Windows OS?
  • Is there anyone that's been able to get 2, 3 or 4 cards mining using Windows XP?

Edit: If anyone can answer yes to either of those above, please list your hardware/software setup.


I'm running 3 x HD5870 on Windows XP with an Intel DX975XBX motherboard and an Intel E6400 with 1 GB DDR2. I'm using single resistor dummy plugs in cards 2 and 3 and all 3 cards are running at 950/300. I run 2 Phoenix instances on each GPU with identical settings, so I cover 2 pools in case one has problems. My total hash rate is just over 1,200 MH/s.

Not an XP/Windows problem, but to get around the heat issue, as the cards are so close together, I use insulating spacers to push the cards apart and I've cut holes in the case and fitted 2 fans that blow air directly onto the middle card.
michaelmclees
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 07:56:22 PM
 #4

I have 4 card on XP right now.  2 5850's, 1 5870, and 1 6870.  I don't OC them much and I get about 1.2Ghash.
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 08:54:29 PM
 #5

So it looks like up to 4 cards in XP is fine.

What about 5 or more cards running in Windows, anyone been able to make that work?
Xer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 08:18:06 PM
 #6

5 cards and up wont work due to a limitation in windows, they simply wont be recognized by the operating system.
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
June 17, 2011, 08:53:41 PM
 #7

5 cards and up wont work due to a limitation in windows, they simply wont be recognized by the operating system.

Not true.

I had 5 cards working under Windows for about 2 days. I don't currently as I rearranged to load balance, but with Dummy Plugs I had no issues.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 09:04:28 PM
 #8

5 cards and up wont work due to a limitation in windows, they simply wont be recognized by the operating system.

Not true.

I had 5 cards working under Windows for about 2 days. I don't currently as I rearranged to load balance, but with Dummy Plugs I had no issues.

Cable, which cards, mobo and OS were you using?
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
June 17, 2011, 09:16:01 PM
 #9

5 cards and up wont work due to a limitation in windows, they simply wont be recognized by the operating system.

Not true.

I had 5 cards working under Windows for about 2 days. I don't currently as I rearranged to load balance, but with Dummy Plugs I had no issues.

Cable, which cards, mobo and OS were you using?

Win 7 Ultimate x64
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P motherboard, all cards run through extender. 2 x16, 3 x1->x16.
Ran 1 5970 (Sapphire), 2 5870 (XFX), 1 5830 (Sapphire.)

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 10:20:53 PM
 #10

Win 7 Ultimate x64
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P motherboard, all cards run through extender. 2 x16, 3 x1->x16.
Ran 1 5970 (Sapphire), 2 5870 (XFX), 1 5830 (Sapphire.)
but that's only 4.
1 + 2 + 1 = 4

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 10:55:26 PM
 #11

5 GPU though... So Windows still somewhat had to handle 5 GPUs... now it depends on what the drivers showed windows, but it is technically 5 GPU...

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 02:28:58 AM
 #12

Hmm, yeah, the 5970 is dual GPU, so it could be that it only works with 5 cards or Cable was only using 4 GPU's (1 off the 5970).  Cable, were you using all 5?

Is there anyone out there that's gotten windows working with more than 4 physical cards?
Swishercutter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 08:09:37 AM
 #13

Has anyone tried running 5 with virtual machines? I do not know enough about them to know if it would work but could you assign 3 to one machine and 2 to another?  I am very curious...have another 2 cards on the way and I would rather run 5 per machine...pretty sure I can pull it off physically with card extenders.
c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 11:55:11 AM
 #14

Remember AMD APP SDK support for Windows XP stops at v2.4 Smiley

iamzill
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 09:13:54 PM
 #15

5 cards and up wont work due to a limitation in windows, they simply wont be recognized by the operating system.

Not true.

I had 5 cards working under Windows for about 2 days. I don't currently as I rearranged to load balance, but with Dummy Plugs I had no issues.

Cable, which cards, mobo and OS were you using?

Win 7 Ultimate x64
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P motherboard, all cards run through extender. 2 x16, 3 x1->x16.
Ran 1 5970 (Sapphire), 2 5870 (XFX), 1 5830 (Sapphire.)

Can you post your speeds per card?

That's the only way of verifying whether you have all 5 GPUs working.

Someone from this thread confirmed that you cannot mine with more than 4 GPUs:
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=19038.0

Windows showed 7 GPUs detected for this computer, but that's meaningless, since openCL drivers only support up to 4.
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 05:58:38 AM
 #16

There are no myths here...

On windows, prior to driver 11.6 only 4 GPUs would work.

GPU does not equal a video card in this context...
Windows will recognize more than 4 video cards just fine... However, you won't be able to use more than 4 GPUs with 11.5 or below.

However, with 11.6 drivers, it looks like there's limited confirmation of 8 GPUs being the new limit.
On Linux there are rumors that the limit is at least 10 GPUs...

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
June 22, 2011, 09:46:12 PM
 #17

XP support at least 4GPUs
7 supports at least 8GPUs, but only 4 can run OpenCL.

With the new 10.6 drivers, the limit on Windows is now 8 OpenCL

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 02:41:34 AM
 #18

Hmm, that's awesome.  Of course, you run into power requirement issues with that many cards, but it's nice to be able to bundle things up into fewer machines.

So, that leads to the question of what are some good suggestions for motherboards that have 5+ PCI express slots?
padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 02:45:18 AM
 #19

Hmm, that's awesome.  Of course, you run into power requirement issues with that many cards, but it's nice to be able to bundle things up into fewer machines.

So, that leads to the question of what are some good suggestions for motherboards that have 5+ PCI express slots?

I'm running an ASUS WS Revolution with 7 GPUs with Windows 7, AMD currently has a ticket from me escalated to engineer to deal with the need for dummy plugs with 11.6.

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 02:52:46 AM
 #20

Hmm, that's awesome.  Of course, you run into power requirement issues with that many cards, but it's nice to be able to bundle things up into fewer machines.

So, that leads to the question of what are some good suggestions for motherboards that have 5+ PCI express slots?

I'm running an ASUS WS Revolution with 7 GPUs with Windows 7, AMD currently has a ticket from me escalated to engineer to deal with the need for dummy plugs with 11.6.

If AMD gets rid of the dummy plug for win, that will be SUPER fantastic!!!!!
Please keep us posted!

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!