Bitcoin Forum
April 14, 2024, 08:08:32 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD7  (Read 670 times)
Pennywis3 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 19, 2017, 11:43:27 AM
 #1

Hi!

Has anyone tried this board? http://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-890FXA-UD7-rev-20#ov

Got one lying around, gonna try and mount some GPU's  Cool
1713125312
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713125312

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713125312
Reply with quote  #2

1713125312
Report to moderator
In order to achieve higher forum ranks, you need both activity points and merit points.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713125312
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713125312

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713125312
Reply with quote  #2

1713125312
Report to moderator
1713125312
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713125312

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713125312
Reply with quote  #2

1713125312
Report to moderator
1713125312
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713125312

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713125312
Reply with quote  #2

1713125312
Report to moderator
Raja_MBZ
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1505



View Profile
February 19, 2017, 01:26:29 PM
 #2

I haven't tried it, but after looking at the specifications and images, I should say that it'd work out pretty good.

Just don't forget to use USB risers with it.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 20, 2017, 02:29:19 AM
 #3

I have the 990FXA version of that board.  I recently bought it used on ebay with a cpu and cooler included.  I just recently got it (sorta) working with W7 and 6 cards via risers.  I used the W7 registry hack.  I had 4 x 480s and 2 x 470s consuming about 1010 watts, using a 1200 watt PSU.  It ran fine for about 10 hours and then crashed.  Problem after problem ensued. I'm sure if I got to aggressive with undervolting, or if the 1010W of 1200W is just not enough margin.  I'm keeping life simple for now, too much down time.  I rolled back to just the 4 x 480s.  They pull about 730 watts (ETH).

I'll be curious to hear your experience.  I'm a bit disheartened at the moment...  Huh
Pennywis3 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 20, 2017, 11:12:43 AM
 #4

I just started to test it, but still waiting for the cards, so atm only one Rx 480 directly on the mobo, working ok.
Im gonna probably make a 4 GPU rig, without risers, i got this Case that supports XL-ATX mobos and has plenty of room for 4 cards, so i probably can't be very usefull to ya Smiley

krasnolud
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2017, 05:29:33 PM
 #5

Pennywis3, did you made the 4 GPU rig based on this mobo?

Raja_MBZ, why USB risers? Regular risers (poweres) won't do?
Pennywis3 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 327
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 12, 2017, 06:03:45 AM
 #6

Hi!

Only have 3x RX480 running on this board, directly attached, no riser.
I didn't attach the 4th card becase they are too close to each other.
Its very stable, no crashes or weird things going on, probably because no risers are involved  Grin
krasnolud
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2017, 12:45:32 PM
 #7

Hi Pennywis3,

Thanks!

Your cards would love more space thanks to risers - and three more brothers in the house! Wink
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!