Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:19:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: RAM Underclocking ClockTweak v0.7.4b - does it tell the truth?  (Read 573 times)
TeaRex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:25:38 PM
 #1

With ClockTweak I'm seemingly able to underlock my Radeon HD 6990's memory all the way down to 1 MHz. Reading back, the same value comes out. I kind of doubt that the hardware actually supports running at 1 MHz Commodore 64 speed though... And I don't seem to get any noticeable temperature drop either. So how do I find out how much I can REALLY underclock. MSI Afterburner let me go to only ca. 100 to 120 MHz below core speed (exact number depended on core speed), below that the display would show the stock 1250 MHz again. Still I got no temperature drop to speak of... and I've seen other people talk about underclocking to 300 MHz or even to 159 MHz.

My System: Windows 7 SP1 64-bit (fairly fresh installation but with all Windows Updates applied), Core2Quad 2.83 GHz,  one HD 6990, Catalyst 11.6, Phoenix miner (SVN version 103) running from source on 64-bit Python 2.7.2.

I guess this should really go into the ClockTweak thread... but for now I'm restricted to this Newbie section.

Thank you for any help!

*Image Removed*
I'm not asking for donations, but if you think YOUR post is deserving a donation FROM me, send me a message.
1480861198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861198
Reply with quote  #2

1480861198
Report to moderator
1480861198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861198
Reply with quote  #2

1480861198
Report to moderator
1480861198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861198
Reply with quote  #2

1480861198
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480861198
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861198

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861198
Reply with quote  #2

1480861198
Report to moderator
Darioux
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 04:02:30 PM
 #2


From what I understand the 6990 memory can not be underclocked to 300mhz the same way as with the older cards. I think the 6990 can only work reliably with near stock clock of 1250mhz but the core can be overclocked a bit. Mine works reliably up to 920mhz without crashing too much.
TeaRex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
June 19, 2011, 10:29:31 AM
 #3

Thanks.

I run mine at 925 when I'm around and at 900 when I'm away from home. And I found I could drop the voltage from 1.175 Volts back to 1.12 Volts (default value in the standard non-overclocking BIOS) without any problems.

*Image Removed*
I'm not asking for donations, but if you think YOUR post is deserving a donation FROM me, send me a message.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!