Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2018, 12:47:13 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 100% CPU Usage for Coin Generation?  (Read 10939 times)
venom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 10, 2010, 11:08:05 PM
 #1

Hello.. I was wondering if you guys knew if having your CPU running at 100% usage while generating coins is normal?  On an older Pentium M 1.7ghz w/ 1gb ram... also on a newer Core 2 Duo, 2.2Ghz w/ 2gbs of ram... I thought that the software is only supposed to use idle time?
1539866833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539866833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539866833
Reply with quote  #2

1539866833
Report to moderator
1539866833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539866833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539866833
Reply with quote  #2

1539866833
Report to moderator
1539866833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539866833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539866833
Reply with quote  #2

1539866833
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539866833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539866833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539866833
Reply with quote  #2

1539866833
Report to moderator
1539866833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539866833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539866833
Reply with quote  #2

1539866833
Report to moderator
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 291


View Profile
June 10, 2010, 11:57:53 PM
 #2

The software doesn't know anything about idle time, but it changes the generating thread's priority to be low.  This should cause the operating system to schedule it whenever a higher priority item is pending.  The result is that when your computer is idle, in between higher priority processing becoming runnable, bitcoin becomes runnable and so all the CPUs are always at 100%.

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
asdfman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 12, 2010, 08:43:44 AM
 #3

100% cpu usage isn't necessarily a bad thing, I believe there might be a bug with bitcoind when it changes the process priorities during coin generation..

these threads might help:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=285.0
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=72.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!