Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 05:55:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Move 2FA to new phone?  (Read 241 times)
felosial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
February 22, 2017, 10:00:00 PM
 #1

Hey folks,

I just got a new phone and am moving all my 2FA tokens over to the new device. Electrum/trustedcoin doesn't seem to have any documentation about how to move 2FA to another device. I have my old phone online since for most of these moves I need to log in with the current 2FA before I can regenerate keys but I'm seeing no such options for electrum. Anyone know how I can do this?
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511502945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511502945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511502945
Reply with quote  #2

1511502945
Report to moderator
1511502945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511502945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511502945
Reply with quote  #2

1511502945
Report to moderator
1511502945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511502945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511502945
Reply with quote  #2

1511502945
Report to moderator
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260

In the midst of an exam, will be very inactive.


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2017, 11:50:38 PM
 #2

You cannot do that with Electrum. You need to move the 2FA keys over to the other device or create a new 2FA address.

For authy, just use your old phone number. I'm not sure for others but it would definitely work if you saved the QR code you were given to activate the 2FA.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1892



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2017, 10:25:39 AM
 #3

You cannot do that with Electrum. You need to move the 2FA keys over to the other device or create a new 2FA address.

yes you can do it with recent versions.
restore your wallet from seed, and request a new 2FA code in the install wizard.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Coin-Keeper
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
February 23, 2017, 11:55:21 PM
 #4

Thomas,

Is there anything you haven't thought of on the Electrum project?  That is a great improvement.  Nice work.

BTC: 1PYSBbuKM3kW19xe9TXJQfq64rPhd8XorF
Staked and Verified: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=996318.msg17102755#msg17102755
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!