Bitcoin Forum
May 15, 2024, 02:49:43 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Altcoin Concept, Come Poke Holes in My Idea  (Read 924 times)
AusKipper (OP)

Activity: 98
Merit: 10

View Profile
February 25, 2017, 09:19:31 PM
Last edit: February 26, 2017, 09:46:25 PM by AusKipper

*update*

Idea above fails due to noone ever having incentive to mine. Idea updated in post 10
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1805042.msg17990290#msg17990290

Firstly, I cannot code so this is not something I will ever develop.
Secondly, I am new to cryptocurrency so there will probably be massive issues with this idea, thats why i'm posting, to find out what they are.

Anyway, basic concept:

Proof of Storage coin

Coins are issued by the network based on the following formula:

-1 coin = 1gb hosted for 1 month.
-Any downtime (detected by pinging) reduces profit 10x (ie, if your mining machine is down for 1 day, you lose 10 days worth of profit for that uptime month)
-100% of your "storage" has to be downloadable by the network within 1 hour, tested by the network randomly 4 times per month (uptime month of 30 days, not calendar). If you fail this test your profits over this period are reduced by double the amount of failed download, eg, you are hosting (mining with) 4gb of space, a random download attempt occurs and only 90% of the 4gb is downloaded, then your profits are reduced by 20% untill the next random download test.
-When you start mining you do not receive profit for the first uptime week of 7 days (this is to stop people that had some downtime simply creating a new miner on a new wallet straight away)
- Ping checks are performed every 15 minutes, you need to fail 2 to be considered "down". Thus you can install an update and restart without "down time".
- Miners are also rewarded the transaction fees of the network, spread evenly to the miners based on earning.

Use of the storage: