Bitcoin Forum
April 20, 2018, 01:28:53 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Making sure your PC doesn't overheat?  (Read 1571 times)
Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 16, 2010, 03:58:45 PM
 #1

Howdy,

I'm new to bitcoin (today) and I'd like to be able to run with all 4 cores of my processor generating coins. I was wondering what is the best way to keep the PC from overheating? With 4 Cores going it is up to 82 Degrees C. Any ideas/thoughts?

Thanks,
Dd
----
BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
1524230933
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524230933

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524230933
Reply with quote  #2

1524230933
Report to moderator
If you want to be a moderator, report many posts with accuracy. You will be noticed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524230933
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524230933

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524230933
Reply with quote  #2

1524230933
Report to moderator
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1001


View Profile
November 16, 2010, 04:13:57 PM
 #2

I'm new to bitcoin (today) and I'd like to be able to run with all 4 cores of my processor generating coins. I was wondering what is the best way to keep the PC from overheating? With 4 Cores going it is up to 82 Degrees C. Any ideas/thoughts?

Without a GPU, particularly an ATI GPU, generating coins is pointless.  You'll waste electricity for 1-2 months before generating a single block, most likely.

Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 16, 2010, 04:45:20 PM
 #3

I do have an ATI Card how do I get it so that it will use my GPU?

Yea I think I need to do a good bit of better cooling. I've dropped it to 1 core, I was getting 5K+hps.


BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 16, 2010, 10:31:59 PM
 #4

first you should check, if your gfx-card is OpenCL capable (this tool will show you),
if it does, goto this thread, download the getwork-patched client and the miner and your ready to go.

Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 17, 2010, 02:23:42 PM
 #5

first you should check, if your gfx-card is OpenCL capable (this tool will show you),
if it does, goto this thread, download the getwork-patched client and the miner and your ready to go.

Awesome thanks!

BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!