Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:22:53 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Making sure your PC doesn't overheat?  (Read 1485 times)
Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
November 16, 2010, 03:58:45 PM
 #1

Howdy,

I'm new to bitcoin (today) and I'd like to be able to run with all 4 cores of my processor generating coins. I was wondering what is the best way to keep the PC from overheating? With 4 Cores going it is up to 82 Degrees C. Any ideas/thoughts?

Thanks,
Dd
----
BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
1480717373
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717373

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717373
Reply with quote  #2

1480717373
Report to moderator
1480717373
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717373

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717373
Reply with quote  #2

1480717373
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
November 16, 2010, 04:13:57 PM
 #2

I'm new to bitcoin (today) and I'd like to be able to run with all 4 cores of my processor generating coins. I was wondering what is the best way to keep the PC from overheating? With 4 Cores going it is up to 82 Degrees C. Any ideas/thoughts?

Without a GPU, particularly an ATI GPU, generating coins is pointless.  You'll waste electricity for 1-2 months before generating a single block, most likely.

Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
November 16, 2010, 04:45:20 PM
 #3

I do have an ATI Card how do I get it so that it will use my GPU?

Yea I think I need to do a good bit of better cooling. I've dropped it to 1 core, I was getting 5K+hps.


BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
November 16, 2010, 10:31:59 PM
 #4

first you should check, if your gfx-card is OpenCL capable (this tool will show you),
if it does, goto this thread, download the getwork-patched client and the miner and your ready to go.

Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
November 17, 2010, 02:23:42 PM
 #5

first you should check, if your gfx-card is OpenCL capable (this tool will show you),
if it does, goto this thread, download the getwork-patched client and the miner and your ready to go.

Awesome thanks!

BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!