Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2014, 01:09:51 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin-qt synchronization stuck for 2 days or more  (Read 2236 times)
minerg0d
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 03:17:28 AM
 #1

I have synchronized 0.8 version on a less powerful PC just last month.  Just built this upgraded PC and downloaded 0.8.1.  PC has been running for days now and still will not sync. 

I have seen some posts about a manual import but those files are accompanied by warnings about "do not use if you already have a wallet."

I used all the same files (restored from backups) to initially use 0.8, prior to 0.8.1. 

Synchronization keeps jumping from 1900 block to 800 block, then back to 1900, crawls to 1800, then back to 800, then back to 1900.  This has been going on now for at least 24 hours.  CPU usage is very minimal, HDD usage is very minimal according to Performance Monitoring.

Please help.

I am just trying to be realistic about things.  Trust me, it's best that way.
1398301791
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398301791

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398301791
Reply with quote  #2

1398301791
Report to moderator

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398301791
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398301791

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398301791
Reply with quote  #2

1398301791
Report to moderator
RBMagillicutty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 03:51:47 AM
 #2

I have synchronized 0.8 version on a less powerful PC just last month.  Just built this upgraded PC and downloaded 0.8.1.  PC has been running for days now and still will not sync.  

I have seen some posts about a manual import but those files are accompanied by warnings about "do not use if you already have a wallet."

I used all the same files (restored from backups) to initially use 0.8, prior to 0.8.1.  

Synchronization keeps jumping from 1900 block to 800 block, then back to 1900, crawls to 1800, then back to 800, then back to 1900.  This has been going on now for at least 24 hours.  CPU usage is very minimal, HDD usage is very minimal according to Performance Monitoring.

Please help.

There is a torrent you can download with most of the blockchain by Jeff Gzarik (sp), called bootstrap.dat , try loading that

Here it is:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=145386.0



Tips if it works Smiley  1JgVTZa3xrAAwZwcMr65fR5ZHB3thd9oV3
RBMagillicutty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 03:56:07 AM
 #3

Actually I would delete everything but wallet.dat , reload, then put that bootstrap file in .... don't try to reuse old files from old computer (exxcept obvisouly wallet.dat)
minerg0d
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 09:06:08 AM
 #4

Did this. Result:

"Database corrupted" And then asks to restart.

Deleted all local data, moved client to new directory and started fresh with backup wallet.  Result: crashed, with same message.

Rinse and repeat...Deleted all local data. Will restore wallet later IF I can get block chain to sync. 

I have seen other posts about this...am thinking about moving back down to 0.8. Have transactions hanging in the ether; I know they should be confirmed when I sync but this still makes me anxious.

I am just trying to be realistic about things.  Trust me, it's best that way.
RBMagillicutty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 10:02:24 AM
 #5


I have worked with pc's for 20+ years - I bet you have an issue with your PC - either the RAM is bad, or there is a mismatch between the motherboard and RAM. I've seen it many times.

You only see problems when using programs that stress the RAM/cpu, such as bitcoin-qt does

Do a memory diagnostic - Windows 7 and 8 have a built in one. Let it run overnight. If it passes, pick the advanced test and let that run overnight again.

Do not use your wallet on that PC until you are 100% sure there are no issues. Else you could courrupt it.


If it is not the ram, it could be the hard drive or sata cable connecting the drive. But that's less likely then a RAM issue

Good luck

RBMagillicutty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 10:05:02 AM
 #6

here's what I'm talking about

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/diagnosing-memory-problems-on-your-computer


if it passes, try the extended test (which is super slow and takes a long long time)
RBMagillicutty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 10:10:57 AM
 #7

another program to try is Prime95

http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft/

it has tortue test that should never fail, let it run overnight, if you get a single error then its hardware issue

(skip the login stuff... just use it for the benchmark/tortue test)


10,000's of people run bitcoin-qt with no errors... I doubt its a software bug.
minerg0d
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 10:17:35 AM
 #8

I will gladly run these, but all hardware is brand new, right out of the box. No other errors with other programs.  CPU and RAM utilization is minimal anyway.

 But I will let you know...

I am just trying to be realistic about things.  Trust me, it's best that way.
RBMagillicutty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 10:50:30 AM
 #9

I have built 1000 of computers, all brand new parts, have had many problems like this!

Newegg.com once told me, about 5% of the parts they ship are defective, hard drives more like 7%.

It may be your ram is 100% fine, but motherboards come with a list called "QVL" (qualified vendor list), if your ram's model # is not listed on the QVL for your motherboard model's #, then it is offically not supported. Nobody really pays attention to this, but I have seen it cause problems! My own PC had this issue a few years back. RAM was fine, motherboard was fine, but they didn't like eachother.

anyway,
bitcoin-qt puts your ram+cpu at 100% when processesing the blockchain, it's the exact kind of program that would mess up if there was even the smallest issue.
minerg0d
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 11:04:56 AM
 #10

Wow. I stand corrected. RAM failed test.  Thanks, I appreciate the help.

I am just trying to be realistic about things.  Trust me, it's best that way.
Finkle
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile

Ignore
April 20, 2013, 11:08:39 AM
 #11

slow inet = forever
RBMagillicutty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile

Ignore
April 22, 2013, 11:00:37 PM
 #12

Wow. I stand corrected. RAM failed test.  Thanks, I appreciate the help.

Glad to hear you figured out what the issue was.

Like I said, RAM might be OK it just didn't like your motherboard's timings, etc. Try 1 stick instead of 2 and see what happens


I'm always hustling for tips so if you feel I helped & can spare a buck I'm 1MTw2PLNCEVUL6DQCNqBmGWwumXpDCW5GC

 Grin
minerg0d
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile

Ignore
April 25, 2013, 07:30:22 AM
 #13

RBMagillicutty,

Just got this rig up and running, my first "real" rig. Once I have enough coin spare a buck, I will keep you in mind.  Again, thanks. 

Solved: bought new RAM suggested by memory maker for my motherboard.  Everything working like a charm.

I am just trying to be realistic about things.  Trust me, it's best that way.
RBMagillicutty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile

Ignore
May 04, 2013, 12:56:57 AM
 #14

RBMagillicutty,

Just got this rig up and running, my first "real" rig. Once I have enough coin spare a buck, I will keep you in mind.  Again, thanks. 

Solved: bought new RAM suggested by memory maker for my motherboard.  Everything working like a charm.

Thanks!

And glad to hear it works.  I went through the same thing, spent a week pulling my hair out, could not figure out what was going on Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!