Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 04:49:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Using Linux 3 6970 video cards in Ubuntu, have issue  (Read 1338 times)
Kanaric
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 03:02:05 AM
 #1

I installed the ATI drivers but when I go to CCC it shows 3 video cards but the other two cards who as "unknown adapter".

Do I have to attach the crossfire cables to the cards? I didn't think I had to.

How do I get the other 2 recognized as 6970s?

Sharecoin: SUkF8Hzg6hdePce2riqUYzXNbTYCygA5LQ
1481388573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388573
Reply with quote  #2

1481388573
Report to moderator
1481388573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388573
Reply with quote  #2

1481388573
Report to moderator
1481388573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388573
Reply with quote  #2

1481388573
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481388573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481388573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481388573
Reply with quote  #2

1481388573
Report to moderator
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 03:10:35 AM
 #2

Try:

Code:
sudo aticonfig -f --initial --adapter=all
sudo reboot

Kanaric
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 03:28:01 AM
 #3

If I start with any of the video cards attached to a monitor the individual one works, is there any way to create a "dummy" monitor for each video card?

Sharecoin: SUkF8Hzg6hdePce2riqUYzXNbTYCygA5LQ
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 03:49:51 AM
 #4

This shouldn't matter in linux, I'm guessing the command I offered didn't help?

Is this the guide you followed?

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=7514.0

If not I suggest wiping and starting over and following this guide if that's not a big deal.

Good luck.

Kanaric
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 04:33:15 AM
 #5

couldn't get it to work, i'm going to try windows. I am a Linux novice and that didn't hand hold enough i guess :/

Sharecoin: SUkF8Hzg6hdePce2riqUYzXNbTYCygA5LQ
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 04:34:20 AM
 #6

You will need dummy plugs on Windows.

http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=11

DanielC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 05:03:05 AM
 #7

Try:

Code:
sudo aticonfig -f --initial --adapter=all
sudo reboot

This should actually work... I had the same issue.

18tx3FHNrPEga3VZzDVkcCgHxXjkbDRCF8
Kanaric
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 05:29:39 AM
 #8

You will need dummy plugs on Windows.

http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=11

I read with XP dummy plugs are not needed. But i guess its back to linux since XP and server is a POS and will only blue screen on install no matter what I do, F6 drivers, ide, etc. Anything wont work. Never in my life have I had this problem with XP and i've installed 100s of systems with XP that have SATA and various hardware. USB install maybe?


Since i'm back to Linux
got the miner program to work but it detects none of my GPUs

that command you gave does this

Code:
mike@GuiMiner1:~/poclbm$ sudo aticonfig -f --initial --adapter=all
Uninitialised file found, configuring.
PowerXpress error: Cannot stat '/usr/lib64/fglrx/switchlibGL': No such file or directory
Failed to initialize libglx for discrete GPU
Using /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Saving back-up to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.fglrx-1
mike@GuiMiner1:~/poclbm$ python poclbm.py
No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following

[0] AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
mike@GuiMiner1:~/poclbm$

restarted and got this bastard error again

ImportError: libOpenCL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

a link of that name exists in the same directory as libOpenCL.so, that fixed it now it is simply ignoring that file it seems....................................

This is the most frustrating annoying day i've ever had working on a computer.

Sharecoin: SUkF8Hzg6hdePce2riqUYzXNbTYCygA5LQ
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 06:14:58 AM
 #9

Did you follow the guide? It works!

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!