Bitcoin Forum
August 15, 2018, 07:21:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining X11 with ASICS?  (Read 2359 times)
Socket54
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 102



View Profile
March 12, 2017, 08:45:30 PM
 #1

Some years ago there was some rumors that one could use ASICS to mine X11 algo that were proven true(allegedly).
Now i understand there are X11 specific unites for sale now, but with a high price tag.
How might one be able to use a basic ASIC to mine X11 say a block eruptor or older cheaper
units such as a the Antminer S5?

Laugh Smile and Love
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534317669
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534317669

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534317669
Reply with quote  #2

1534317669
Report to moderator
1534317669
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534317669

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534317669
Reply with quote  #2

1534317669
Report to moderator
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 1151


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2017, 08:59:10 PM
 #2

Devices you are talking about don't support X11 algo.
For example Antminer S5 is only for Bitcoin or other SHA-256 cryptocurrencies.

Baikal and PinIdea are manufacturing miners for X11 algo.

http://www.baikalminer.com/

https://shop.pinidea.io/

Socket54
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 102



View Profile
March 12, 2017, 09:50:29 PM
 #3

Devices you are talking about don't support X11 algo.
For example Antminer S5 is only for Bitcoin or other SHA-256 cryptocurrencies.

Baikal and PinIdea are manufacturing miners for X11 algo.

http://www.baikalminer.com/

https://shop.pinidea.io/

Right, allegedly the X11 algo was cracked and able to be mined by your basic ASIC units like the Antminer S5.
Was there never any actual truth to that, and if true how is it possible?
I would love to get that quad by Baikal, but with the price point and ROI, the imminent difficulty increase that comes with such tech
i am hoping those rumors from years ago were true, in which case some cheap S5's and other gear otherwise collecting dust
might prove useful.

Laugh Smile and Love
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 1151


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2017, 09:56:07 PM
 #4

Those are just some rumours without technical understanding.
Antminer S5 is only able to handle SHA-256 hash.
So it is only able to mine Bitcoin, Peercoin, etc.

And take my miners for more example.
AvalonMiner 721: SHA-256
Antminer R4: SHA-256
Antminer S9: SHA-256
Antminer S7: SHA-256
Baikal Mini Miner: X11, X13, X14, X15, Quark and Qubit

Socket54
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 102



View Profile
March 13, 2017, 01:24:46 AM
 #5

Those are just some rumours without technical understanding.
Antminer S5 is only able to handle SHA-256 hash.
So it is only able to mine Bitcoin, Peercoin, etc.

And take my miners for more example.
AvalonMiner 721: SHA-256
Antminer R4: SHA-256
Antminer S9: SHA-256
Antminer S7: SHA-256
Baikal Mini Miner: X11, X13, X14, X15, Quark and Qubit

Bah, ok thank you very much. Typical crypto rumor mill.

Laugh Smile and Love
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!