Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 01:50:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: LTC Mining Spec - Ready to order but need help with a couple of things.  (Read 494 times)
elliotp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 09:23:07 PM
 #1

Hi,

I'm ready to order my 4GPU LTC miner. I have a couple of questions as i don't want to get this wrong.

The spec is as follows:

Motherboard: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
CPU: AMD Bulldozer FX-4 Quad Core 4100 Black Edition 3.60Ghz
Memory: 8GB DDR3
GPU: 4 x Gigabyte ATi Radeon HD 7950
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 1250W '80 Plus Gold' Modular Power Supply
Case: DIY Open frame design with some extra fans.

Any advice / improvements on the above spec welcome.

But my main question is about PCIe Risers.  I will need risers/cables to separate the cards out, but what type? Do they HAVE to be active? Do they have to be any particular type.  Or will this do? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PCI-E-Extender-Extension-Cable-Express-16X-Riser-Card-/390578987193?pt=UK_Computing_CablesConnectors_RL&hash=item5af05260b9

Thanks.

Elliot
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513518611
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513518611

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513518611
Reply with quote  #2

1513518611
Report to moderator
1513518611
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513518611

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513518611
Reply with quote  #2

1513518611
Report to moderator
1513518611
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513518611

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513518611
Reply with quote  #2

1513518611
Report to moderator
Joshster
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


Your average Bitcoin enthusiast.


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 09:29:09 PM
 #2

I think the RAM is a bit overkill for the system.

If Bitcoin ever became widely used, we can all say we was in it from the start.
elliotp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 10:16:37 PM
 #3

I think the RAM is a bit overkill for the system.

I was under the impression scrypt was a bit more memory intensive?
aandcmedia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 10:25:11 PM
 #4

For LTC ram isn't as important, you need a good amount but its more about CPU cache memory.
elliotp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 10:30:06 PM
 #5

Any idea on the pcie extenders, that's the only thing i'm unsure about now.
seocrow
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 11:34:24 PM
 #6

I think the CPU's overkill. You should aim for a low wattage CPU like an AMD Sempron (only 40 watts).

Most of the number crunching is done by your GPU's

Ilocans
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 01:39:25 AM
 #7

How are you refreshing all that stuff?
I cannot imagine what to do with all that cards with extenders...

Let's color the MOON: YCu1UpCKcZuu9162NeDCtDFU2Vdiz3t23i

Donation Addresses:
Feathercoin: 6jyEsQGrVSySeNV1brb9JH1b1vPmeMYatF
LiteCoin: LgcJgVeFLiiuuhsC5rUw1cUwg15Nutds5X
Bitcoin:14sZqEb5Tu3w9qVUCDHJ38CzJ2CQS9EV7M
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!