Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 12:17:40 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Are MH/s the same thing in relation to BTC and LTC?  (Read 489 times)
MrBilling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 10:35:36 PM
 #1

When I run BTC mining I get around 115 MH/s.

When I run LTC mining it is only saying I am getting 3 KH/s.


Should I not be getting the same MH/s as I do with BTC mining?

Or is LTC mining different?




Much thanks
1513081060
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513081060

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513081060
Reply with quote  #2

1513081060
Report to moderator
1513081060
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513081060

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513081060
Reply with quote  #2

1513081060
Report to moderator
1513081060
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513081060

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513081060
Reply with quote  #2

1513081060
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513081060
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513081060

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513081060
Reply with quote  #2

1513081060
Report to moderator
aandcmedia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 10:58:15 PM
 #2

BTC doesn't use the same algorithm to solve, ltc uses scrypt
khimaira
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 11:06:44 PM
 #3

something is definitely wrong in your settings. I find I get about the same kh/s mining LTC's as I do for mh/s BTC mining
MrBilling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 11:28:22 PM
 #4

Yea I havent been able to get LTC mining running for nothing.


I finally just today got it running on give-me-LTC pool.  But it is showing barely anything for speed.


I would be willing to pay someone to help me get it up.


I dunno I may start a new thread.






Thanks though
khimaira
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 11:30:47 PM
 #5

Which miner are you using? What hardware?
kicneoj
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 12:07:06 AM
 #6

They should be very different depending on your GPU and CPU.
chapapa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 11:07:28 AM
 #7

well btc uses sha-256 as an algo
and ltc uses scrypt as an algo.

the difference is that ltc/scrypt is appr. 1000x slower. So instead of 100mhashes u get 100khashes. now while btc is optimized for gpu and fpga right now, and asics anytime soon, ltc was optimized for cpu and gpu. with my mining rig i get about 600mhashes mining btc and 750 khashes mining ltc
Explicit
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 11:36:55 AM
 #8

I think that one needs to be much more careful with the hardware selection when mining Litecoins. Any GPU with DDR3 will produce much lower hashrate, than GPU with DDR5. Selection of RAM is important ...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!