Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 07:47:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Using A webserver as a mining rig  (Read 470 times)
fureien
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 12:52:31 AM
 #1

Hi All

I have 2 webservers (probably virtual servers, not sure) that i am not using and just sitting around idle

Im not expecting much processing power, but ive already paid for them without using them, so might as well right?

So i was just wondering if it was possible to set up mining on these servers. Or are software not compatible?

I beleive both are running linux
1513583253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513583253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513583253
Reply with quote  #2

1513583253
Report to moderator
1513583253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513583253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513583253
Reply with quote  #2

1513583253
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513583253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513583253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513583253
Reply with quote  #2

1513583253
Report to moderator
1513583253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513583253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513583253
Reply with quote  #2

1513583253
Report to moderator
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
April 22, 2013, 12:54:33 AM
 #2

Your hosting company will probably shut it down.

Also you will not make the money back, and probably kill the server's CPU.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
sjaguar13
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 01:21:51 AM
 #3

Probably pointless. I have several web servers, and they all run Linux (CentOS). Since they were designed to be web servers, they don't have great video cards, and even if they did, they run command line only. You would have to do some work to get X or something running to even be able to use the GPU. With a 2 CPU quad core Xeon system with 32gb of RAM, 4TB hard drive space, redundant power and ethernet, it was a fairly decent web server. I got 700 khashes/second per thread.
vdek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 01:27:18 AM
 #4

I don't think your hosting company will like it very much if you do that, they will most likely shut you down as you are abusing their resources meant for webhosting.

BTC: 17ZbhY3EsWtphQxGkRFNUDqxSjf4nCdm2S LTC: LLvyrjqVPqPJtS31nsaAT8fg1t2HR6YGNH
fureien
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 02:16:34 AM
 #5

lol thats what i thought

but im not using the servers anyway

so either the annual fee i paid goes to waste

or i abuse it for as long as i can until they shut me down

the question is whether any mining software will run on these servers?
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
April 22, 2013, 02:27:49 AM
 #6

lol thats what i thought

but im not using the servers anyway

so either the annual fee i paid goes to waste

or i abuse it for as long as i can until they shut me down

the question is whether any mining software will run on these servers?

instead of that, try selling it to someone else for bitcoins

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
CRkfx1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 02:37:53 AM
 #7

I've been mining LTC on my dev web-server for about six months.  2 ancient AMD CPUs.

Grand total 105 LTC.  It used to pop out one a day, now only get about one a month (8khs).  No video on board, thinking about popping in a 7970, but it's a blade type config, and it wouldn't fit nicely in my server rack, plus I'd have to rig some kinda riser for the PCIe ports.  

I put a kill-a-watt on it and found that mining eats very little juice, so I just let it run.
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
April 22, 2013, 02:44:40 AM
 #8

I've been mining LTC on my dev web-server for about six months.  2 ancient AMD CPUs.

Grand total 105 LTC.  It used to pop out one a day, now only get about one a month (8khs).  No video on board, thinking about popping in a 7970, but it's a blade type config, and it wouldn't fit nicely in my server rack, plus I'd have to rig some kinda riser for the PCIe ports. 

I put a kill-a-watt on it and found that mining eats very little juice, so I just let it run.


That is cause Litecoin uses a hashing process that uses memory and bitcoin uses is a CPU hashing process. So using the CPU more will eat up the khw.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!