Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 07:35:03 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cgminer Running Super Slow?  (Read 1253 times)
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 05:10:20 AM
 #1

I just compiled up a copy of cgminer to run on my Mac Pro (10.7.5) on my AMD5770.
I got it to compile, and it seems to run without issue. Well except one issue, speed. I've tried all sorts of settings, copying settings others use, but no matter what, I'm only getting about 3Kh/s. Three. Other people using 5770s seem to get around 180-200Kh/sec. I, am getting three. I can run Diablo and get 175mh/sec doing bitcoin. That may not be the fastest time, but its well in the neighborhood of where it should be. What is going on this this litecoin stuff?


BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513020903
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513020903

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513020903
Reply with quote  #2

1513020903
Report to moderator
Extornia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 05:13:23 AM
 #2

Overclock it to: 912GPU, 1250MEM with 1.2v (it can run on 1.125 provided your pc is not used, what so ever)
Following settings: -w 256 -v 1 --thread-concurrency 3200 --intensity 18 -g 1 --scrypt

Should give you somewhat 200kh/s.
ljackstar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 05:13:49 AM
 #3

Have you tried any other miners? I know for me litecoins mine way slower than they should on cgminer.

l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 05:19:17 AM
 #4

Overclock it to: 912GPU, 1250MEM with 1.2v (it can run on 1.125 provided your pc is not used, what so ever)
Following settings: -w 256 -v 1 --thread-concurrency 3200 --intensity 18 -g 1 --scrypt

Should give you somewhat 200kh/s.

Having the intensity that high locks up my machine. Leaving the intensity setting out of your options, I get the same 3.2kh/sec or so.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 05:20:28 AM
 #5

Have you tried any other miners? I know for me litecoins mine way slower than they should on cgminer.

I haven't found any other GPU litecoin miners, at least none that will run on OS X.
The 180kh/sec number is what other people get with cgminer, mining litecoins. I can't imagine what would be causing mine to suddenly run absurdly slow.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 10:57:20 AM
 #6

While I was working on this, cgminer 3.0.0 was released. I got it compiled, both with and without scrypt support. As a bitcoin miner, it was getting upwards of 160MH/sec, without doing any dialing in.

YET it's still getting right around 3kh/sec doing litecoin. What is this all about? It should be 65x faster than this, give or take.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 11:32:35 AM
 #7

Occasionally, when I start up cgminer on my pc with a flashed 6950 it will hover around 20-30 kH/s for a minute or two before heading up to 400-450 kH/s. I don't know why and it only does it every now and then.

Have you let it run at least 5 minutes?  Maybe it will pick up speed after a bit.

There's a good guide on here about setting up your card too, although bad setup shouldn't cause that bad a problem.

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 11:34:05 AM
 #8

I'm pretty sure I have let it run for a while. I'll try again and post back if it picks up speed. But it's been slow 100% of the time. The best speed I got was 4.5kh/sec using -w 128, anything higher or lower and it goes back to ~3

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 12:56:32 PM
 #9

I'm pretty sure I have let it run for a while. I'll try again and post back if it picks up speed. But it's been slow 100% of the time. The best speed I got was 4.5kh/sec using -w 128, anything higher or lower and it goes back to ~3

Just did a 20 minute test, got up to about 5.1kh/sec. I also quit my CPU miner while I did this, just in case the CPU load was somehow slowing things down. 5.1, that's almost as fast as one of the eight CPU cores my machine has.

What is most baffling, is that other OpenCL things run fine. Bitcoins mine fine. Collatz Conjecture via BOINC runs really great on this thing. Something about litecoins, she no likey. And my next computer is going to have intel HD 4000 graphics Sad

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
April 23, 2013, 09:55:48 AM
 #10

So I have been able to get my speed up a little bit. Well a lot actually. Putting my intensity at a max of 16, I was able to get up to about 69kh/sec
Any higher intensity, and everything just locks up. Thats not a great number, it's much slower than what's reported for a 5770 on the litecoin hardware comparison page. But at least that, plus my CPU hashing, gets me into triple-digit land. Not ideal but, it's something.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
batman, not crabman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
April 23, 2013, 11:02:45 AM
 #11

Here's my config options for 3 flashed 6950s and one unflashed 6950, maybe it will help:

--scrypt -o pool:port -u user1 -p password --thread-concurrency 6144,6144,6144,5920 -I 19 -g 1 -w 256 --gpu-platform 0 --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 600-920,600-920,600-885,600-885 --temp-target 77 -s 5 --gpu-vddc 1.1 --api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1:4028

Have you tried different pools?  I generally have 3 in my config because I can.

A horse walks into a bar and the barman says "Give me some Bitcoin!"
17TDYWdeL3GU2fsMSpV7itLYS2UJ91dCDx
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
April 23, 2013, 11:09:22 AM
 #12

I've gotten the exact same speed whether in a pool or mining solo. I would ideally like to mine solo if I can whip up a good rig.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!