Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 09:45:48 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Litecoin mining and memory usage  (Read 2789 times)
FreedomCoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 600


Freedom to choose


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 04:59:48 PM
 #1

hello all,

got a question, i have heard that video cards with small amounts of video memory are not suitable for litecoin mining due to the design. I have noticed when mining with two video cards my "RAM" usage is close to 1gb. Not sure if my video memory is being used at all..

So my question is, does litecoin mining use alot of RAM on the mother board or video memory on the video card?

1513590348
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513590348

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513590348
Reply with quote  #2

1513590348
Report to moderator
1513590348
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513590348

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513590348
Reply with quote  #2

1513590348
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
anderl
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
April 22, 2013, 05:24:52 PM
 #2

yes but not that much.  Just assume you will need 1GB of board ram for each 1GB of video ram you have in your cards.  Then a couple GBs for the OS.
temor
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
April 22, 2013, 05:27:50 PM
 #3

I have 3 rigs, each have 3 2GB video cards and only 1 stick of 4 GB ram and they are all running smoothly.

Please make a post in my Reputation Thread if we've had a successful trade.
wmikrut
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622



View Profile WWW
April 22, 2013, 05:30:47 PM
 #4

I have run into problems with 1-2GB on my machines with exception errors on the miner.
I upgraded to 4GB on all my machines and now I have no issues with any miners.

Except with riser cables.

Some of my cards will not mine scrypt without a powered riser cable.
Funny thing is, they work just fine on SHA.


I will NEVER ask for any kind of funds up front in a buy/sale of anything on bitcointalk.

BM-2cTFihJKmSwusMAoYuUHPvpx56Jozv64KK
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!