Bitcoin Forum
April 29, 2017, 01:33:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: newbie questions  (Read 596 times)
rogerdv
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 01:39:14 PM
 #1

Hi all
Yesterday I decided to give a try to bitcoin and see what happens, today, I have a couple of newbie questions. I think that mining is my best choice, I have a geforce 9500 video card so I downloaded DiabloMiner for Linux, registered an account at mining.bitcoin.cz and started working. My first question is: should I keep the mining software working without interruptions or can I stop it whenever I need the computing power? The second question, do I need bitcoind to be running while my miner works? Why?
1493472814
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493472814

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493472814
Reply with quote  #2

1493472814
Report to moderator
1493472814
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493472814

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493472814
Reply with quote  #2

1493472814
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493472814
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493472814

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493472814
Reply with quote  #2

1493472814
Report to moderator
1493472814
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493472814

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493472814
Reply with quote  #2

1493472814
Report to moderator
wyze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile WWW
June 17, 2011, 01:43:03 PM
 #2

You can keep it running or stop it when you want to use the PC. You could also change the aggression or a "-f" flag, depending on the miner, and this will not utilize as much of the GPU if you wanted to use it to watch movies or something. You do not need bitcoind running to mine since you are mining in a pool. A reason for running it would be it helps out the network by creating a node that transactions can process through which helps them process quicker.
zerokwel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 01:58:26 PM
 #3

yea wyas is correct. if you set a high -f number I set mine to -f 120 you can game fine. I was playing fallout wile this pc was working.

I know different people will tell you different -f numbers to use but it what works best for you have a play with the settings
BtcNmcMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 02:36:35 PM
 #4

I run a 5770 and notice a drop of about 20 Mhash/s if I let guiminer run at the default aggression while watching something with winamp, no lag in the video though. I see about a 75% decrease in hash rate with the same settings when playing a youtube video in Opera and the video is slightly choppy. Haven't tried gaming at all since I started mining.

◊-ROUND-◊--CS:GO-tournaments:-Weakly-500$,-Monthly 2000$--MAIN EVENT 100 000$ Guaranteed!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!