Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 05:37:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin needed to be a tranaction in a packet?  (Read 381 times)
steppinup
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 06:34:12 PM
 #1

Pardon this stupid question,but for a transaction to be included in a packet on the blockchain does it need to contain bitcoin besides tranactions of bitcoin and transfer fees. For instance, if you only wanted a piece of information to be included in the blockchain.
THanks again.     
1513316257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513316257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513316257
Reply with quote  #2

1513316257
Report to moderator
1513316257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513316257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513316257
Reply with quote  #2

1513316257
Report to moderator
1513316257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513316257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513316257
Reply with quote  #2

1513316257
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513316257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513316257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513316257
Reply with quote  #2

1513316257
Report to moderator
1513316257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513316257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513316257
Reply with quote  #2

1513316257
Report to moderator
1513316257
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513316257

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513316257
Reply with quote  #2

1513316257
Report to moderator
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
March 22, 2017, 07:02:57 PM
 #2

A "packet on the blockchain" is called a block.

In order for a transaction to be included, it must be a valid transaction. This means it must consume outputs created by previous transactions, and those outputs must have some value associated with them. A Bitcoin transaction can include arbitrary data, however this is not advised as it harms the network.

Velkro
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


<3 Vanity Addresses :)


View Profile
March 23, 2017, 01:20:11 AM
 #3

A "packet on the blockchain" is called a block.

In order for a transaction to be included, it must be a valid transaction. This means it must consume outputs created by previous transactions, and those outputs must have some value associated with them. A Bitcoin transaction can include arbitrary data, however this is not advised as it harms the network.
i would add to that, miners take care of that job, veryfying if transaction is valid and can be added to blockchain

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!