Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2018, 06:00:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Question for Mining Rig Construction? 4 RX 470 with old Motherboard.  (Read 992 times)
crypticj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 251



View Profile
April 01, 2017, 08:20:25 AM
 #1

Hey Guys I have a noob question i have an old HP PC which has the following mother board.

http://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c02014355

Which has following expansion slots:
One PCI Express x16 slot (for graphics card support)
Three PCI Express x1 slots (for cards such as network, sound, or tv-tuner)
One PCI Express x1 minicard socket

Do you think i will be able to run 4 GPU (RX 470) mining rig >? (I have enough power supply etc. ) I purchased a new PSU full modulare 1000w.

Also i purchased 4 x16 to x1 powered riser card.
https://www.amazon.com/Powered-Extender-Litecoin-Bitcoin-Mining/dp/B00HZ0M9F2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1491034727&sr=8-1&keywords=powered+x16+to+x1

Any help will be appreciated. Just would like to know if my mobo should be able to support 4 gpu using the riser cable.

Thank you.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532196048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532196048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532196048
Reply with quote  #2

1532196048
Report to moderator
1532196048
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532196048

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532196048
Reply with quote  #2

1532196048
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1271


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
April 01, 2017, 09:21:27 AM
 #2

Hey Guys I have a noob question i have an old HP PC which has the following mother board.

http://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c02014355

Which has following expansion slots:
One PCI Express x16 slot (for graphics card support)
Three PCI Express x1 slots (for cards such as network, sound, or tv-tuner)
One PCI Express x1 minicard socket

Do you think i will be able to run 4 GPU (RX 470) mining rig >? (I have enough power supply etc. ) I purchased a new PSU full modulare 1000w.

Also i purchased 4 x16 to x1 powered riser card.
https://www.amazon.com/Powered-Extender-Litecoin-Bitcoin-Mining/dp/B00HZ0M9F2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1491034727&sr=8-1&keywords=powered+x16+to+x1

Any help will be appreciated. Just would like to know if my mobo should be able to support 4 gpu using the riser cable.

Thank you.

maybe.


 can you link the psu?

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
crypticj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 251



View Profile
April 01, 2017, 03:24:19 PM
 #3

Hey Guys I have a noob question i have an old HP PC which has the following mother board.

http://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c02014355

Which has following expansion slots:
One PCI Express x16 slot (for graphics card support)
Three PCI Express x1 slots (for cards such as network, sound, or tv-tuner)
One PCI Express x1 minicard socket

Do you think i will be able to run 4 GPU (RX 470) mining rig >? (I have enough power supply etc. ) I purchased a new PSU full modulare 1000w.

Also i purchased 4 x16 to x1 powered riser card.
https://www.amazon.com/Powered-Extender-Litecoin-Bitcoin-Mining/dp/B00HZ0M9F2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1491034727&sr=8-1&keywords=powered+x16+to+x1

Any help will be appreciated. Just would like to know if my mobo should be able to support 4 gpu using the riser cable.

Thank you.

maybe.


 can you link the psu?

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817438019&cm_re=evga_power_supply-_-17-438-019-_-Product

Thank you. BTW why would it matter about PSU whether the PCI-E x1 would work with rx 470 or not.
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1013


View Profile
April 01, 2017, 04:49:37 PM
 #4

In my experience old mobo's are kind of hit or miss with the 1x PCIe slots using risers.  Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't work, and sometimes they work with a lot of finickiness, so you have to deal with crashes and freezes and things that occur much less often with more modern mobo's.  For me though I have ready access to old PC's so making rigs with old PC's that run a single GPU is easy and cheap for me.  I try and use risers where they cooperate but as I say, it is kind of hit or miss with old boards.
crypticj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 251



View Profile
April 01, 2017, 05:04:33 PM
 #5

In my experience old mobo's are kind of hit or miss with the 1x PCIe slots using risers.  Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't work, and sometimes they work with a lot of finickiness, so you have to deal with crashes and freezes and things that occur much less often with more modern mobo's.  For me though I have ready access to old PC's so making rigs with old PC's that run a single GPU is easy and cheap for me.  I try and use risers where they cooperate but as I say, it is kind of hit or miss with old boards.

Thank you so much for your insight i appreciate it truly.

I will give it a try with old Mobo, and if it has issues i will order new motherboard.

Cereberus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 01, 2017, 05:54:44 PM
 #6

In my experience old mobo's are kind of hit or miss with the 1x PCIe slots using risers.  Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't work, and sometimes they work with a lot of finickiness, so you have to deal with crashes and freezes and things that occur much less often with more modern mobo's.  For me though I have ready access to old PC's so making rigs with old PC's that run a single GPU is easy and cheap for me.  I try and use risers where they cooperate but as I say, it is kind of hit or miss with old boards.

Thank you so much for your insight i appreciate it truly.

I will give it a try with old Mobo, and if it has issues i will order new motherboard.



Depends how old your Mobo is, depend of the FSB (Front Side Bus) speed, what type of RAM max allows etc. If it is a good HP with DDR3 ram support and at least 2nd-3rd generation intel core i processors should be working fine with risers. In fact should be working well even if your processor is a bit older like the Core 2 Quad Q6600 and alikes. Try it with risers first as one costs only 5 USD. If it doesn't work, order at least a 4th generation intel core i motherboard. There are a lot of videos on youtube that shows they work perfectly with risers and one of such video is exactly running with 6 RX 470.

Here is a link to that video running  a good mobo that supports gen 4 processors.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTPlkLOx1Bs




    ██    ██    ██    ██
  ██    ██    ██    ██
██    ██    ██    ██
              ██    ██
            ██    ██
          ██    ██
        ██    ██
      ██    ██       
    ██    ██    ██    ██
  ██    ██    ██    ██
██    ██    ██    ██
TRADEPLAYZ
█ 
█ 
█     
█  █
█  █ 
█  █ 
█  █
    █  █
  █  █
  █  █
        █
    █
      █   
TOURNAMENT PVP SYSTEM
  FACEBOOK |  TWITTER  |  LINKEDIN  |  TELEGRAM  |  GITHUB  |  ANN  | INSTAGRAM 

█ 
█ 
█     
█  █
█  █ 
█  █ 
█  █
    █  █
  █  █
  █  █
        █
    █
      █   

                     █▄
                     ████▄
                     ██████▄
                     ████████▄
                     ██████████▄
                     ████████████▄
                     ██████████████▄
                     ███████████████
                     ██████████████▀
                     ████████████▀
                     ██████████▀
                     ████████▀
                     ██████▀
                     ████▀
                     █
█▀
GOOGLE PLAY

                            ▄█████████████▄
                            ███████████████
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            █░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
                            ██████▀▀▀██████
                             ▀████▄▄▄▄████▀
  APPSTORE
crypticj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 251



View Profile
April 01, 2017, 11:09:50 PM
 #7

In my experience old mobo's are kind of hit or miss with the 1x PCIe slots using risers.  Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't work, and sometimes they work with a lot of finickiness, so you have to deal with crashes and freezes and things that occur much less often with more modern mobo's.  For me though I have ready access to old PC's so making rigs with old PC's that run a single GPU is easy and cheap for me.  I try and use risers where they cooperate but as I say, it is kind of hit or miss with old boards.

Thank you so much for your insight i appreciate it truly.

I will give it a try with old Mobo, and if it has issues i will order new motherboard.



Depends how old your Mobo is, depend of the FSB (Front Side Bus) speed, what type of RAM max allows etc. If it is a good HP with DDR3 ram support and at least 2nd-3rd generation intel core i processors should be working fine with risers. In fact should be working well even if your processor is a bit older like the Core 2 Quad Q6600 and alikes. Try it with risers first as one costs only 5 USD. If it doesn't work, order at least a 4th generation intel core i motherboard. There are a lot of videos on youtube that shows they work perfectly with risers and one of such video is exactly running with 6 RX 470.

Here is a link to that video running  a good mobo that supports gen 4 processors.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTPlkLOx1Bs

Thank you so much cereberus I forgot to mention its Intel i7 - 860 2.86ghz LGA 1156 with 8gb DDR3 (4x2gb)
chup
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 255


Me, Myself & I


View Profile
April 02, 2017, 06:59:40 AM
 #8

This board is not so old according my mining standards.  Wink  One thing You should take into account is that RX4-series GPUs do not boot as primary GPU if the BIOS of the motherboard doesn't support UEFI. No problem if the board has onboard graphics that will be used to boot the system. Of course there is possibility to make mix with cards that can boot non-UEFI board, but expect time consuming problems during mining on mixed rig.

crypticj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 251



View Profile
April 02, 2017, 07:35:30 AM
 #9

This board is not so old according my mining standards.  Wink  One thing You should take into account is that RX4-series GPUs do not boot as primary GPU if the BIOS of the motherboard doesn't support UEFI. No problem if the board has onboard graphics that will be used to boot the system. Of course there is possibility to make mix with cards that can boot non-UEFI board, but expect time consuming problems during mining on mixed rig.
Thank you so much It does have onboard graphics card, i will update BIOS just to be on the safe side.
crypticj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 251



View Profile
April 09, 2017, 11:22:02 PM
 #10








Just wanted to update the Motherboard worked was able to build rx 470 Ethereum mining rig getting aroud 90MH/s for 550 watts. (i underclocked it to save on heat and electricity i can push it upto 103Mh/s by editing BIOS.)
gimliminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2018, 07:00:26 AM
 #11

https://s22.postimg.org/y7uphvxrl/20170409_164534.jpg

https://s22.postimg.org/auwnzdho1/20170409_164545.jpg

https://s22.postimg.org/45q4jcwc1/20170409_164601.jpg


Just wanted to update the Motherboard worked was able to build rx 470 Ethereum mining rig getting aroud 90MH/s for 550 watts. (i underclocked it to save on heat and electricity i can push it upto 103Mh/s by editing BIOS.)

Hi, am inspired how you're able to use old HP workstation doing this. I was trying on old HP workstations but fail to get more than 3x GTX1050ti work (75w each). PCIE 1to3 or 1to4 expansion cards won't work either on both motherboard pcie slots.

I have tried slotting GTX1050ti into PCIE Slot 2 as well primary display (75w draw from motherboard direct) - not able go beyond 3x GPU as well. Actual GPU power draw should be much lower around 63w each.

- HP XW600 (475w) - Motherboard/CPU support: LGA 775
- HP Z200 (325w) - 503397-001 LGA 1156 motherboard

Generally,
- GPU0 in Slot 2 (tried on riser as well)
- GPU1 & 2 powered by PCIE 6P Y split pins + SATA (no split) on each riser

- GPU3 powered by SATA to riser (6P) - SATA should be able to supply 92w to riser ... Not able turn on.

Note: I didn't use Slot 4 PCIE (carries 75w) to connect to PCIE 1to3 expansion card though. Not sure whether the USB cable connected to riser does carry any wattage from motherboard to risercard though without need be powered via SATA/Molex.

Much appreciate your shared experience on this have a few of above workstations to repurpose.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!