Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:44:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help: Transferred wallet to secure drive and bitcoins aren't showing up.  (Read 823 times)
Misterboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 07:42:47 PM
 #1

Hi all,

I need a bit of help.  Due to all the security issues, I thought I should put my bitcoin wallet into an encrypted location.  I use Truecrypt, so I created an encrypted file and transferred the bitcoin folder there.  I then edited my shortcut with the -datadir= attributed and pointed it to the folder in the encrypted drive.

Everything seems to be working fine, except my bitcoins aren't showing up in the client.  I know the client is pointing in the correct location because I tried deleting all the files in the direction (except the wallet file) and sure enough, on re-opening the bitcoin client, the files got regenerated.  So I'm pretty sure it's looking in the right location.  However, now I have a new bitcoin address and my balance is 0.

I looked through the forums.  I saw suggestions to clear the bitcoin direction and let the client re-download the block files.  While all the files seem to be regenerated, the client isn't accessing the network to do anything.  Upon first re-opening it, I had some connections, but now my connections are listed as 0, and nothing is really going on.  I thought maybe I had to be patient, but it appears as though nothing is really happening.

Am I doing something wrong?  Do I just need to wait for many hours?

Many thanks for your help!
1481100269
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100269

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100269
Reply with quote  #2

1481100269
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481100269
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100269

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100269
Reply with quote  #2

1481100269
Report to moderator
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 08:19:34 PM
 #2

Are you firewalled or moreso are you blocking outbound connections?

You need the whole blockchain for your transactions to show up. If you exported and imported your keys then you can rescan the blockchain manually by running bitcoin with the-rescan option.

Sound like you have a network issues though if you have zero connections.

W

Misterboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 20, 2011, 04:38:09 AM
 #3

Thank you for the response.

I started getting connections, but it took a while.  It began downloading blocks.

I've been away, so haven't been able to let it run long.  I have it back up and running now and it's continuing to download blocks.

By "key" do you mean my bitcoin address?  I haven't imported or exported anything, that is, I haven't done anything using an "import" or "export" feature.

I tried the -rescan feature and that didn't seem to change anything.  So I deleted the block files.  I guess I'm now in the process of re-downloading the block files, so I guess I'll have to be patient.  I'll report back if my bitcoins show up.  I'm pretty damn anxious at this point :-)
Misterboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 21, 2011, 12:58:40 AM
 #4

Just to clean things up:

I gave up and deleted everything out of the secure partition.  I recreated the Bitcoin folder and copied my wallet in again.  I fired up bitcoin, and voila... it saw my transactions and I merely had to wait until my bitcoins were reverified.

I have NO idea why this didn't work exactly the same as last time.  Perhaps copying over the various database files confused things.  Rather annoying.  But all seems to be well now.

One question in case anyone sees this post:  My "database" folder is about 500mb.  It's FULL of 9.766mb log files.  Is this normal?  Seems like a lot of space, and it matters because my secure drive is a Truecrypt mounted file.  So I've got things set to a defined space.  I thought 1gb would be plenty.  Now I'm not so sure??
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!