Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 04:47:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Stuck on "Initializing bitcoin engine" forever  (Read 840 times)
TheNerd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 08:08:23 PM
 #1

I'm with Armory 0.95.1-beta and bitcoin-0.11.1 on Ubuntu 16.10
When I start Armory, it starts bitcoind as well but it closes shortly after. So it's stuck at "Initializing bitcoin engine" forever

Sometimes after couple of runs it goes beyond that and hangs all day on syncrhonizing with network, but it's just few days behind so couldn't be taking whole day for sure.

So basically I can't access my money again.
1510980451
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510980451

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510980451
Reply with quote  #2

1510980451
Report to moderator
1510980451
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510980451

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510980451
Reply with quote  #2

1510980451
Report to moderator
1510980451
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510980451

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510980451
Reply with quote  #2

1510980451
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2017, 08:12:58 PM
 #2

In Armory, uncheck the "Let Armory run Bitcoin Core in the background" Checkbox. Stop Armory. Start Bitcoin Core. Let Bitcoin Core sync. Then start Armory again.

          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
.
|
.
|
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
unthy
TheNerd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 08:44:54 PM
 #3

When starting bitcoin-qt it said corrupted database block detected and started reindexing blocks from the beginning which last time took couple of days.
This is like the 3rd time this happens (second in a month)

Is there particular reason this happens so often?



p.s.
thank you for the help!
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666

Armory Developer


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 09:34:21 PM
 #4

If you don't shut down Core gracefully, the leveldb database may get corrupted. Your best bet is to manually control BitcoinQt to make sure it is shut down properly (that the shut down period is respected).

TheNerd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
April 04, 2017, 09:17:48 AM
 #5

I see. More often than not Armory freezes when quitting on Ubuntu and I have to kill it.
TheNerd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
April 18, 2017, 08:44:50 PM
 #6

I just spent 3+ days rebuilding the whole database with bitcoin-qt and when finally started armory the dblog ends with
Quote
-INFO  - 1492548099: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:56) updated HEADERS db in 68.9895s
-INFO  - 1492548099: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:106) scanning new blocks from #457820 to #459045
-ERROR - 1492548100: (BlockchainScanner.cpp:271) raw data does not match expected block hash

how many block files I have to delete?
Can't afford to wait another 3+ days to rebuild.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666

Armory Developer


View Profile
April 18, 2017, 08:59:54 PM
 #7

You should just rebuild & rescan here. Don't delete blocks files just yet.

TheNerd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
April 19, 2017, 06:13:24 AM
 #8

That didn't help, so i went the starting bitcoin-qt route so it rebuilds everything.
After it did that for 3+ days armory still hangs on scanning transaction history and bad block hash
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666

Armory Developer


View Profile
April 19, 2017, 06:26:04 AM
 #9

Delete your databases folder. Start ArmoryDB from the command line with the following:

Code:
ArmoryDB --db-type=DB_BARE

Once, it's done building, you can shutdown the DB and start the client as usual.

TheNerd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
April 20, 2017, 08:56:43 PM
 #10

Thank you! I did it, it's now stuck at:

Quote
-INFO  - 1492718365: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:268) parsed block file #837
-INFO  - 1492718368: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:268) parsed block file #841
-DEBUG - 1492718393: (Blockchain.cpp:242) Organizing chain
-INFO  - 1492718401: (DatabaseBuilder.cpp:56) updated HEADERS db in 2358.24s
-INFO  - 1492718403: (BlockUtils.cpp:1636) Enabling zero-conf tracking
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666

Armory Developer


View Profile
April 20, 2017, 10:38:16 PM
 #11

That's not stuck, that's how far the DB can get without wallets registered. Now start ArmoryQt to get to the next step.

TheNerd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
April 21, 2017, 11:12:08 AM
 #12

aha thanks!
Now stuck at initializing bitcoin engine. bitcoind is running and at 40% cpu usage.
uh
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666

Armory Developer


View Profile
April 22, 2017, 02:12:41 AM
 #13

Don't run auto bitcoind if your setup isn't stable. Run BitcoinQt and make sure it's sync'd before running anything else. The fact that it's eating 40% CPU implies it's not done syncing.

bitminerinthecloud
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 12:13:26 AM
 #14

In Armory, uncheck the "Let Armory run Bitcoin Core in the background" Checkbox. Stop Armory. Start Bitcoin Core. Let Bitcoin Core sync. Then start Armory again.

Let me get this straight: "Let Bitcoin Core sync." - Start syncing or finish syncing?

Gostou da Resposta? Doe 1M9fhSfcR5L9hnq9ZMLN9s9jrXywqCX1Bk

Did you like the Reply? Donate 1M9fhSfcR5L9hnq9ZMLN9s9jrXywqCX1Bk
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2017, 12:18:12 AM
 #15

In Armory, uncheck the "Let Armory run Bitcoin Core in the background" Checkbox. Stop Armory. Start Bitcoin Core. Let Bitcoin Core sync. Then start Armory again.

Let me get this straight: "Let Bitcoin Core sync." - Start syncing or finish syncing?
Finish syncing.

          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
.
|
.
|
          ▄█████▄
        ▄█████████▄
      ▄████▀   ▀████▄
    ▄████▀   ▄ ▄█▀████▄
  ▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▀████▄
▄████▀   ▄███▀   ▄   ▀████▄
█████   ███▀   ▄███   █████
▀████▄   ▀██▄▄███▀   ▄████▀
  ▀████▄   ▀███▀   ▄████▀
    ▀████▄       ▄████▀
      ▀████▄   ▄████▀
        ▀███  ████▀
          ▀█▄███▀
unthy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!