Bitcoin Forum
July 20, 2018, 08:52:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: fee is too large, too many small inputs for a single transaction.  (Read 490 times)
remoteknife
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 09:10:23 PM
 #1

Because old wallet is compromised, I have to move to a new wallet. The old wallet is on a dedicated harddisk which I usually only connect and sync each aeon. Mostly it has received small bits.

Now I have set up an offline wallet with Armory 0.95.1 on an old laptop and 0.93.3 watching-only wallet on my desktop. (Couldn't get 0.95.1 to sync).

When I tried to transfer from my old wallet, I got the message:
   
"Minimum Transaction Fee Is Too Large

The minimum fee for this transaction is 0.011275 BTC. That fee is too large and indicates that there are probably too many small inputs to fit into a single transaction. To send these Bitcoins, this transaction must be broken up into smaller pieces".


I tried breaking it up into smaller pieces, but had to go so low the fees will eat too much.

I don't think I can import the address from the old wallet since someone has my paper backup, but is sweeping something I can do to transfer this?
1532119955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532119955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532119955
Reply with quote  #2

1532119955
Report to moderator
fair bitcoin games | pvp - pve - solo pve games | faucet |
Free satoshi code btcoon500
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532119955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532119955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532119955
Reply with quote  #2

1532119955
Report to moderator
1532119955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532119955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532119955
Reply with quote  #2

1532119955
Report to moderator
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1096

Armory Developer


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 09:32:00 PM
 #2

Get 0.95.1 synced:

1) Turn off auto bitcoind in File > Settings

2) Upgrade to Core 0.12+, but don't run 0.14. Otherwise, try the 0.96 testing builds as long as your online machine is not running Windows.

3) Get rid of any rpclogin and rpcpassword entries in your bitcoin.conf. Make sure it has "server=1"

4) Delete your database folder

That should get you going with 0.95.

0.93.3 has hardcoded fee limits, you can't do anything about it without modifying the Python scripts.

remoteknife
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2017, 09:48:10 PM
 #3

Thank you so much! Amazing  Shocked

I'll try to understand and make it happen.
harlequininja
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 12:33:58 PM
 #4

Hello Goatpig,

I wanted to ask, if the the version 0.96.3 (armory) and the core 0.15.1 also solve the issue mentioned below/above (hardcoded fee limit in version 0.93.3) since I'm experiencing the same problem as I haven't upgraded for a while.

Cheers!
droark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447
Merit: 256


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2017, 07:34:24 PM
 #5

I believe the latest version (0.96.4 RC1) removes/modifies the fee limit. I can't swear to it, though.
harlequininja
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 10:29:39 AM
 #6

I'll give 0.96.3 a go...lets see...if it works I'll let you know.
harlequininja
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 17, 2018, 06:57:55 AM
 #7

So I have tried the version 0.96.1 together with the latest bitcoincore version.....it didn't work.

Now I got Bitcoincore 12.1 and Armory 0.95.1 as suggested and I still get this note:

"Minimum Transaction Fee Is Too Large

The minimum fee for this transaction is 0.01002257 BTC. That fee is too large and indicates that there are probably too many small inputs to fit into a single transaction. To send these Bitcoins, this transaction must be broken up into smaller pieces".  Huh

droark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447
Merit: 256


View Profile WWW
January 17, 2018, 08:30:43 AM
 #8

Who recommended Core 0.12.1 and Armory 0.95.1? Both are very old, and bouncing between Armory 0.95 and 0.96 will wreck the Armory database.
harlequininja
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 17, 2018, 09:25:55 AM
 #9

goatpig wrote: "2) Upgrade to Core 0.12+, but don't run 0.14. Otherwise, try the 0.96 testing builds as long as your online machine is not running Windows."

PhoenixFire
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 16


View Profile
January 17, 2018, 02:28:51 PM
 #10

goatpig wrote: "2) Upgrade to Core 0.12+, but don't run 0.14. Otherwise, try the 0.96 testing builds as long as your online machine is not running Windows."
That advice is about 10 months old.
Get yourself on Core 0.15.1 and Armory 0.96.4 RC3
harlequininja
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 17, 2018, 03:23:10 PM
 #11

What really pisses me off, is that switching between all those versions cost time and money!
What I don't get either, is why older versions of Armory like 0.92.1 are no longer available although they fulfilled there purpose nicely without the above mentioned interruptions? 
Holliday
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1002



View Profile
January 17, 2018, 06:36:28 PM
 #12

What really pisses me off, is that switching between all those versions cost time and money!
What I don't get either, is why older versions of Armory like 0.92.1 are no longer available although they fulfilled there purpose nicely without the above mentioned interruptions? 

I upgrade to the latest versions on a regular basis and have never had a single issue with running any version of Armory (since 2011).

Before you are so quick to anger, consider the vast number of computers in the world and the amount of variables that are involved including (but not limited to) hardware, operating system, basic health of the computer, various software which could interfere such as firewalls and anti-virus, and let's not forget simple user error (which probably accounts for 90% of the issues that arise in this sub-forum). Honestly, for an unpaid, one man (for the most part, no offense to those that contribute) dev team, the software functions quite well and security (the most important aspect) is job one, and has never failed me.

Finally, I'll end my rant with the fact that Bitcoin itself is still relatively new and technically still beta software. It's really up to the user as to what kind of experience one is going to have. Understand that certain parameters might need to be tweaked in order to provide the best experience, especially when running a full node and software which interacts with that full node.

---

Of course older versions are available: https://github.com/etotheipi/BitcoinArmory/releases (I certainly don't recommend them though as, despite your issues, there have been many improvements in the code over the years, many of them security and privacy related, but feel free to do as you like.)


If you aren't the sole controller of your private keys, you don't have any bitcoins.
droark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447
Merit: 256


View Profile WWW
January 17, 2018, 06:39:37 PM
 #13

Pre-0.94 releases use LevelDB, which is notorious for being unstable. Alan (Armory creator) shoehorned LevelDB into 0.90 because, pre-0.90, the entire blockchain was mapped in RAM. (Whoops!) It worked shockingly well, all things considered, but it was unstable. Even on Core, it's unstable, although the devs have done a heroic job of minimizing the instability.

Anyway, anything pre-0.95 will crash if it encounters a SegWit-enabled blockchain. So, you'd be stuck on older software and wouldn't be able to use SegWit if that's an option you choose. There are quite a few other things you'd be stuck with too, would have to downgrade your offline signer if you're using one, etc.

Also, if you really did go from Core 0.15.X to 0.12.X, I'm surprised you got it to work (not to mention having to completely rebuild the Armory DB). If you're smart enough to go diving into dev notes in order to re-enable older software, you're smart enough to know that a dev wouldn't say, "Yeah, just ignore all the newer releases and go back to a 3 1/2 year old release." At a bare minimum, you should've posted logs here before downgrading.

In other words, please upgrade to the latest software (0.15.1 and 0.96.4 RC3), let the blockchain sync, try again, and post logs if it doesn't work. Thanks.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!