Bitcoin Forum
June 17, 2019, 10:21:39 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum Server Synchronisation Help  (Read 385 times)
byt411
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 07, 2017, 07:01:08 PM
 #1

Hey guys, a complete noob to linux here. I've managed to get bitcoind up and synced, and I'm trying to configure an electrum server using the standard method (not ElectrumX).

Problem is, its taking ages to sync up. I've tried changing the cache sizes to 12GB (I have 16GB ram) but it just goes even slower. Any ideas?

Running off an old i3 3250, 16GB ram and a 1TB hard drive.
1560766899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560766899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560766899
Reply with quote  #2

1560766899
Report to moderator
Even in the event that an attacker gains more than 50% of the network's computational power, only transactions sent by the attacker could be reversed or double-spent. The network would not be destroyed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1560766899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560766899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560766899
Reply with quote  #2

1560766899
Report to moderator
1560766899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560766899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560766899
Reply with quote  #2

1560766899
Report to moderator
1560766899
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560766899

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560766899
Reply with quote  #2

1560766899
Report to moderator
kolloh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1003


View Profile
April 07, 2017, 07:37:48 PM
 #2

I believe they are now recommending the use of ElectrumX over the normal Electrum Server. Is there a reason you aren't using ElectrumX?
byt411
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 07, 2017, 08:26:27 PM
 #3

I believe they are now recommending the use of ElectrumX over the normal Electrum Server. Is there a reason you aren't using ElectrumX?

Basically because I spent like three days configuring the normal electrum server to work properly, and I don't want to go through all that again for ElectrumX.
byt411
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 08, 2017, 12:27:59 AM
 #4

I believe they are now recommending the use of ElectrumX over the normal Electrum Server. Is there a reason you aren't using ElectrumX?

Basically because I spent like three days configuring the normal electrum server to work properly, and I don't want to go through all that again for ElectrumX.

Have you tried downloading the UTXO database instead of generating it from scratch?   Electrum maintains a daily version here:  http://foundry.electrum.org/leveldb-dump

Yep, but I still have some blocks to catch up since I'm only on a 30mb down connection.

I just wanted to know if there is some other way, like tweaking settings or something.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!