Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 05:47:10 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Back to "100% of processor" problem  (Read 926 times)
Fizpok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2013, 11:36:14 AM
 #1

Windows XP, 2x5770
I got a problem: whenever I do mining with some configurations, on 2 cards, it takes 100% of CPU (not GPU) and then mining speed drops to kHashes, instead of MHashes.

The problem is well-known, it is supposed to be curable with drivers (tried it, didn't work).

However, here is an interesting twist: I can mine, in any pool, on port 3333. I cannot mine, neither on pool, nor solo, on port 8332.
Which is strange, but maybe someone advanced will be able to figure out what the problem is?

Example of such a pool: btc guild's merged mining (it is done through 8332). While it is fine on main BTC Guild (through 3333).

Suggestions?

Ethereum Programming Guide
Create Solidity contracts: Step-by Step Hands-on Guides.
1542433630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542433630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542433630
Reply with quote  #2

1542433630
Report to moderator
1542433630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542433630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542433630
Reply with quote  #2

1542433630
Report to moderator
1542433630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542433630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542433630
Reply with quote  #2

1542433630
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542433630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542433630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542433630
Reply with quote  #2

1542433630
Report to moderator
1542433630
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542433630

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542433630
Reply with quote  #2

1542433630
Report to moderator
Rawted
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:54:38 PM
 #2

Open port 8332 in xp firewall.

As for the cpu problem. which miner? can you post your config here?
Fizpok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2013, 03:44:41 PM
 #3

I'll send config first thing I get home.
As for opening port... The miner does work at approx. 180 MHs per card, for about one minute. I can see results in BTC Guild's cabinet.
Only then it goes down. I am not sure firewall can allow something to access a port for that long, and then suddenly block it.
Or can it?

Ethereum Programming Guide
Create Solidity contracts: Step-by Step Hands-on Guides.
Rawted
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 04:10:22 PM
 #4

No youre correct, however you stated above "I cannot mine, neither on pool, nor solo, on port 8332.", and hence my suggestion. please post your config when you can, i'm confident we can get your issues solved.
Fizpok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 26, 2013, 06:17:11 AM
 #5

My config file (we are talking about bitcoin config, correct?) contains only login and password.

Ethereum Programming Guide
Create Solidity contracts: Step-by Step Hands-on Guides.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 10:51:19 PM
 #6

Windows XP, 2x5770
I got a problem: whenever I do mining with some configurations, on 2 cards, it takes 100% of CPU (not GPU) and then mining speed drops to kHashes, instead of MHashes.

The problem is well-known, it is supposed to be curable with drivers (tried it, didn't work).

100% CPU bug is well known.  Hash rate dropping from Mhs to Khs?  Never heard of that.

What driver's did you try?  What mining software are you using?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Fizpok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2013, 05:59:15 AM
 #7

I use XP / 5770x2 / catalyst 11.3 / GUI Miner

I am not going to upgrade to Win7+ for different reasons, and all other drivers I tried either didn't work or resulted in an unstable system.

Ethereum Programming Guide
Create Solidity contracts: Step-by Step Hands-on Guides.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 02:12:15 PM
 #8

I use XP / 5770x2 / catalyst 11.3 / GUI Miner

I am not going to upgrade to Win7+ for different reasons, and all other drivers I tried either didn't work or resulted in an unstable system.

Which OpenCL SDK?

I can't remember which Catalyst version did and didn't have the 100% CPU bug problem.  But the dramatic hash rate problem is something else.  I would investigate that independently of the CPU utilization.

That being said, read the CGMiner FAQ on the recommended Catalyst and OpenCL.  Also search the CGMiner thread on which Catalyst does NOT have the CPU utilization bug.  I have my notes somewhere as I saw them last week.  If I find them again I'll post what I was using when I had a similar configuration as yours.

In the mean time you can set your processor affinity for your mining software to only use one core of your CPU, if you have more than one core on this system.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Fizpok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2013, 06:29:54 PM
 #9

Thank you. I'll search cgminer's faq.
BTW, affinity DOES NOT help. Processor load, hash rate drop.

Ethereum Programming Guide
Create Solidity contracts: Step-by Step Hands-on Guides.
Fizpok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2013, 07:23:38 PM
 #10

And yes, 2 cores, not one.

Ethereum Programming Guide
Create Solidity contracts: Step-by Step Hands-on Guides.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!