Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 06:46:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPU in 2nd PCI-E x16 Slot Not Showing Up  (Read 2888 times)
the_joey_o
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 05:07:55 AM
 #1

I just put in 2 new ATI 5770s into my machine. 1 is in my second PCI-E x16 slot. The other is attached by an adapter to my PCI-E x1 slot. I previously installed an ATI 5770 card in my first PCI-E x16, which has been working fine. The card in the PCI-E x1 slot is working great, but the card in the second PCI-E x16 slot isn't. I'm running Windows 7. The second x16 card has shown up in my Display Adapters in the Device Manager, but I can't find it in GUI Miner. Both new cards have dummy plugs that I made myself. Anybody know what's going on here?
1511160376
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511160376

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511160376
Reply with quote  #2

1511160376
Report to moderator
1511160376
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511160376

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511160376
Reply with quote  #2

1511160376
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511160376
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511160376

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511160376
Reply with quote  #2

1511160376
Report to moderator
1511160376
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511160376

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511160376
Reply with quote  #2

1511160376
Report to moderator
1511160376
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511160376

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511160376
Reply with quote  #2

1511160376
Report to moderator
the_joey_o
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 05:18:14 AM
 #2

Dumb mistake. Cost me a couple hours of my night, but I figured it out. I had the dummy plugs resistors on that card backwards. My dislexia strikes again...
yigga
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 12:33:12 AM
 #3

hey there...i'm facing almost the same problem. *bump*

have a hd5770 running on my mainboard (asrock k10n78FullHD-hSLI) in the pci-e x16 slot. (first monitor connected to this gpu DVI)

now i wanted to put another hd 5770 in the pci-e x1 slot (with a raiser 1x to 16x) but my win7 64bit wont recognise the second gpu. I have a tft connected to the second card as well with a VGA to DVI adapter.

What am I doing wrong? couldnt find anything. Or is it simply impossible to cennect an other gpu?

EDIT: the second card doesnt show up in harwaremanager...and its not possible to enable second screen in diplay properties


carbolic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 02:39:12 AM
 #4

If it doesn't show up in Device Manager, then it's probably not related to a dummy plug. The card should show up in device manager as "working properly", but Windows will consider it "disabled" until it senses a monitor attached.

Try replacing your main video card with this one to see if the card is bad or something else. You could have a bad card, a bad driver (try reinstalling the drivers), or a bad motherboard (or the slot is somehow disabled).
yigga
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 10:11:47 AM
 #5

reinstalled driver sveral times...no effect...

both cards work in the pci-e x16 slot...so the card is fine.

now i think the riser may be broken. i tried putting the riser to the gpu and pluget into the green pcie x16 slot. as a result i got a black screen.
it seems that the riser is broken or wouldnt it work in the x16 slot anyway?

can anyone confirm wheather or not a riser would work in the pcie x16 slot!?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!