Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:29:38 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HD5830 x4 - motherboard (&case) recommendation  (Read 793 times)
Endeavour79
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
June 18, 2011, 10:21:11 AM
 #1

Hi Folks,

as I can't post in the hardware section till today..here my request..

I am thinking of building a rig with 4x HD5830 and I have been looking around (here in Australia) for a motherboard that supports this configuration.
As the number of options seems pretty low, please recommend which hardware you would use?! (Price as low as possible, for sure  Wink )

In addition, which cheap case would you recommend and which PSU?

Thanks!!

End

NSW, Australia - Rigs, Mining, Pools - Local help needed? Send me a message!
1481142578
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142578

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142578
Reply with quote  #2

1481142578
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481142578
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142578

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142578
Reply with quote  #2

1481142578
Report to moderator
1481142578
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142578

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142578
Reply with quote  #2

1481142578
Report to moderator
1481142578
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142578

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142578
Reply with quote  #2

1481142578
Report to moderator
Wuked
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile WWW
June 18, 2011, 10:28:16 AM
 #2

I think you might struggle to find a "Cheap" Case to fit this all in.

You might be better off running case less.

If you have to put it in a case then you'll probably be able to fit it in a Corsair 650D or an 800D


Endeavour79
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
June 18, 2011, 10:45:02 AM
 #3

Thanks.. I can't run it without a case..Unfortunately the Corsair tower is about $220 here, which is too expensive Sad

NSW, Australia - Rigs, Mining, Pools - Local help needed? Send me a message!
Endeavour79
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
June 18, 2011, 12:36:12 PM
 #4

Does a normal Mid ATX tower offer enough space for 4 cards??

NSW, Australia - Rigs, Mining, Pools - Local help needed? Send me a message!
noedaRDH
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


Finding Satoshi


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 12:43:14 PM
 #5

Get a large ample case or don't get one at all. I don't think a mid tower will be optimal.

It'd be throwing money away that you could otherwise spend on some fans positioned to cool a case-less rig.

1NwGKiLcAngD1KiCCivxT6EDJmyXMGqM9q

Ask not what Bitcoin can do for you - ask what you can do for Bitcoin.
Wuked
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile WWW
June 18, 2011, 03:22:05 PM
 #6

Most cases only have 7 back slots as well, and of course you'll need 8...

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!