Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2017, 12:57:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: onboard GPU not showing up in miner when pci-e GPU is used.  (Read 906 times)
stickystyle
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 12:00:35 PM
 #1

(If this could get moved to the approiate mining subforum, that would be handy  Smiley )

I have a ASUS AMD Zacate E350 that has an onboard 6310, and a 5770 plugged into the pcie16x slot.  This is all running on a Debian wheezy box with ATI catalyst & drivers 11.3 and AMD APP SDK v2.4.
When I don't have the 5770 plugged in I can mine on the 6310 for 10Mhash, however when the 5770 is plugged in, the onboard 6310 no longer displays as an available device to mine on, and there doesn't seem to be much sense in letting that extra capacity go to waste.

Do I need to put in a dummy plug for the onboard APU/GPU? Everything I've read thus far seems to indicate that is only required on Windows miners.  Perhaps this board just disables the onboard GPU when an external is added? I think that would be a silly design choice because it kills the ability to have a dual screen setup.  Although when I try to boot the machine with the LCD attached to the onboard GPU when the 5770 is plugged in I don't get anything on the display  Huh
1495846642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495846642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495846642
Reply with quote  #2

1495846642
Report to moderator
POLONIEX TRADING SIGNALS
+50% Profit and more via TELEGRAM
ALTCOINTRADER.CO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495846642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495846642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495846642
Reply with quote  #2

1495846642
Report to moderator
1495846642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495846642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495846642
Reply with quote  #2

1495846642
Report to moderator
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 21, 2011, 07:49:52 AM
 #2

I'm Debian user who soon will install a decent Radeon GPU on pci-e plug. My board has also a slum old Nvidia builted in.

So, I'm curious how to manage both GPUs. I don't have the expertise you need. Anyway, I guess this is something related to xorg.conf. Search in forums "xorg.conf".

P.S. look at this: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=17833.0

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!