Bitcoin Forum
June 17, 2019, 08:09:09 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU mining 2017?  (Read 142002 times)
gorot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 10, 2018, 03:58:37 PM
 #341

CPU mining is only profitable while using server CPUs. I have 2x AMD Opteron 6276, they are not too exprensive and show 480 h\s each.  You can look at used Intel Xeon to.
NEW GAME FORMAT
JACKPOT UP TO $50000+
Guess The Symbols Of a Real Ethereum Hash
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
absolute_mining
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 10, 2018, 04:03:26 PM
 #342

I tried mine Ryzen 5 1600. According to my calculations the payback of the CPU about 1 year.
flower1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
January 10, 2018, 04:34:35 PM
 #343

What's the difference between CPU and GPU mining? I thought it was just ASIC and CPU mining..
The difference is simply that with CPU mining you mine some algo with your CPU doing the hashing. And with GPU mining, your GPU is doing the work. And then there are FPGA's and ASIC's

Most algo's are more efficiently mined with GPU than CPU. But you can definitely still mine with a CPU.
 
We can mine with CPU but I don't think it is worth for our investment and time. You can not mine a good coin with CPU and one more thing there is a possibility that you may lose your system. Bit expensive also no problem go with GPU mining it is worth for your investment.
crypto42
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117
Merit: 16


View Profile
January 11, 2018, 03:25:02 PM
 #344

I have been mining IntenseCoin for almost 2 months with CPU only on 5 cores and still get AWESOME profit.
If you ask me ITNS coin at the moment is the most profitable coin to mine with CPU or GPU.
Its still easy to mine, and you can still make profit of it.
Give it a try its worth it.
Check the graph stats for iTNS coin and see the recent grow over the past few months.

I will recommend on IntenseCoin ITNS for CPU miners.
Try it and tell me how it goes Smiley
cheers*
Sp0oner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 12, 2018, 08:11:15 AM
 #345

Hi i’m a complete newcomer to this so I wanted to find out more about my options. I’ve got 3 machines:

dual Xeon E5-2650 64gb ram nvidia quadro 4000 2gb
i7 4770 24gb ram radeon R9 270x
i7 6700HQ 16gb ram Nvidia geforce GTX 960m

I was hoping the dual xeon will cpu mine better than the R9 270x doing gpu mining? Is it likely to cost more in electricity than it will earn though?
theyus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 03:41:01 PM
 #346

YENTEN still best choise for CPU mining
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2329470.0
lakisc
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 169
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 03:53:08 PM
 #347

CPU mining in 2018 ? any coin still profitable ?
greentekel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 04:01:15 PM
 #348

Yes, all the CryptoNight coins, there are some old ones like Monero and some new ones like electroneum, croat, etc that have potential.
Fighterone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 04:49:48 PM
 #349

I have tested the Intel I9 7900X CPU. Nice but expensive.

Nicehash 490Mhz





https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=Zjt2A1EicZo
billhinge
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 05:19:07 PM
 #350

Watercooled Threadripper 1950x getting about 1250+ H/s default setting supplemented by Vega FE gpu's, mining electroneum
loremipsum
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 501


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 05:22:21 PM
 #351

Credits (CRDS) (look at my signature) is CPU-only:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1944858.msg28332044#msg28332044
We are not listed on coinmarketcap yet and not on any exchange. There is also an airdrop going on right now.

rohitm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 245
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 08:13:27 PM
 #352

Credits (CRDS) (look at my signature) is CPU-only:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1944858.msg28332044#msg28332044
We are not listed on coinmarketcap yet and not on any exchange. There is also an airdrop going on right now.

What is the current network hash rate? Couldn't find it on the block explorer.
Landy1264
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10

Tip: 139mxEoYubdtL22Z6QRfdJ3jghn38t5ijK


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 08:25:24 PM
 #353

Credits (CRDS) (look at my signature) is CPU-only:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1944858.msg28332044#msg28332044
We are not listed on coinmarketcap yet and not on any exchange. There is also an airdrop going on right now.

What is the current network hash rate? Couldn't find it on the block explorer.


Look here: http://31.31.72.59/crds/crds_stats.html

loremipsum
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 501


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 08:57:47 PM
 #354

Credits (CRDS) (look at my signature) is CPU-only:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1944858.msg28332044#msg28332044
We are not listed on coinmarketcap yet and not on any exchange. There is also an airdrop going on right now.

What is the current network hash rate? Couldn't find it on the block explorer.

It is around 15MH/sec, it has doubled since last week. It is on the block explorer on the top left.

rohitm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 245
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 09:25:06 PM
 #355

Credits (CRDS) (look at my signature) is CPU-only:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1944858.msg28332044#msg28332044
We are not listed on coinmarketcap yet and not on any exchange. There is also an airdrop going on right now.

What is the current network hash rate? Couldn't find it on the block explorer.

It is around 15MH/sec, it has doubled since last week. It is on the block explorer on the top left.

That's too much to be mined using CPU
lncm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 11


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 10:29:11 PM
 #356

Ryzen CPU's are great for mining cryptonight.

My 1700 does 530 h/s with 8 threads.

That's a 65w CPU, mind that.
hivemindtoday
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2018, 01:01:28 AM
Last edit: January 28, 2018, 04:32:16 PM by hivemindtoday
 #357

 i7-7800, and a geforce gtx 1060 3gb.

Does this look right?

https://ibb.co/eDkPob

Guessing if there is some OC then the CPU will mine just a little more?
lncm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 11


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 03:26:39 AM
 #358

Tested a friends computer with nicehash miner.

he has a i7-7800, and a geforce gtx 1060 3gb.

Does this look right?

https://ibb.co/eDkPob

Guessing if there is some OC then the CPU will mine just a little more?

Terrible. I got 200 H/s with a Xeon E5645 Westmere EP (2.4 ghz).

But then again, Nicehash is cancer...
maxiimallist
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 21, 2018, 08:29:44 AM
 #359

Even modern CPUs are not very suitable for mining. Yes, you can mine on them, but they have too little processing power. Video cards and specialized devices are more suitable for mining.  Wink

ⓄⓄ    Bitscreener - The world's first financial data ecosystem powered by blockchain    ⓄⓄ
ⓄⓄⓄⓄ    ICO starts in June 27     ⓄⓄⓄⓄ
Follow Bitscreener  | Facebook | Twitter| Telegram
hivemindtoday
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2018, 05:45:17 PM
 #360

good point
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!