Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:28:50 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Any UK Quad GPU miners here? Advice needed  (Read 880 times)
bitebitebite
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 03:36:38 PM
 #1

 Hi Guys,

 Looking to setup a small Quad gpu mining rig for the fun of it and could use some advice (UK miners would be easier due to sourcing but all help is really appreciated). I have an E6750 Core2Duo CPU and some DDR2 RAM already so would ideally be looking for complimentary components. So far, with my very limited knowledge, I believe these system components would be best:

*Corsair Professional Series Gold AX1200 High Performance 1200W Modular Power Supply (CMPSU-1200AXUK) £209.99
* 4x 5830 GPU (already sourced)
*x48 Motherboard
*GPU Risers?
*Dummy plugs?

 I will be going caseless but do not have a clue about sourcing the correct risers, an adequate x48 board or the dummy plugs and have went with a 1200w PSU as the 1000w alternative is only ~£14 cheaper (Corsair HX 1000W ATX Modular SLI Compliant Power Supply (CMPSU-1000HXUK)).

 Can anyone shed some light on the unknowns/ and if possible sourcing? Would really help me out, and would be more than happy to send a BTC or two as thanks when I mine them

 Thanks for your time,

 [edit] just fyi, have successfully setup bitcoin mining (solo&pooled) on my main computer (6990) but it crashes whenever I run BluRays etc, so cannot use this - as my system is in use all day long for entertainment
1480904930
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904930

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904930
Reply with quote  #2

1480904930
Report to moderator
1480904930
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904930

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904930
Reply with quote  #2

1480904930
Report to moderator
1480904930
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904930

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904930
Reply with quote  #2

1480904930
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480904930
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904930

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904930
Reply with quote  #2

1480904930
Report to moderator
1480904930
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904930

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904930
Reply with quote  #2

1480904930
Report to moderator
1480904930
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480904930

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480904930
Reply with quote  #2

1480904930
Report to moderator
zerokwel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 04:51:07 PM
 #2

quite a few have issues with video playback. if you are using switches change it from -f 0 to -f 120

or turn off hardware acceleration in your blueray player

also i use www.overclockers.co.uk for my normal hardware but for the extra bits I have never found a site selling them. there is cablesrus on the forums he's a good guy for the risers and stuff. has pcie 1 to 16 converters and stuff.


Antec CP 1000W Modular Power Supply £130 that will save ya a few quid

I am not a big intel person so am unsure about the mobo. someone else should be able to help there but an example is below but dont take my word on the mobo

Asus P6X58D-E Intel X58  £150     3x 16  and 1 1x

also with 4 connected it might pull 2 much from the mobo so the extender cables might be a idea to get one that has a power connector on it so its not pulling the power from the motherboard


EDIT what chip have you got atm. or where you planning on changing that as well ?
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 04:57:33 PM
 #3

Hi Guys,

 Looking to setup a small Quad gpu mining rig for the fun of it and could use some advice (UK miners would be easier due to sourcing but all help is really appreciated). I have an E6750 Core2Duo CPU and some DDR2 RAM already so would ideally be looking for complimentary components. So far, with my very limited knowledge, I believe these system components would be best:

*Corsair Professional Series Gold AX1200 High Performance 1200W Modular Power Supply (CMPSU-1200AXUK) £209.99
* 4x 5830 GPU (already sourced)
*x48 Motherboard
*GPU Risers?
*Dummy plugs?

 I will be going caseless but do not have a clue about sourcing the correct risers, an adequate x48 board or the dummy plugs and have went with a 1200w PSU as the 1000w alternative is only ~£14 cheaper (Corsair HX 1000W ATX Modular SLI Compliant Power Supply (CMPSU-1000HXUK)).

 Can anyone shed some light on the unknowns/ and if possible sourcing? Would really help me out, and would be more than happy to send a BTC or two as thanks when I mine them

 Thanks for your time,

 [edit] just fyi, have successfully setup bitcoin mining (solo&pooled) on my main computer (6990) but it crashes whenever I run BluRays etc, so cannot use this - as my system is in use all day long for entertainment

Ok, try newegg, or tigerdirect for the components, or try a local dealer or something. Those components should be fine, but what CPU you going to get? (only need a low end one). Run linux, then you don't need to spend the extra money on dummies. You can grab the risers from here. And just look on gigabytes website or something for a adequate motherboard (with enough PCI-E slots).
bitebitebite
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 05:17:26 PM
 #4

quite a few have issues with video playback. if you are using switches change it from -f 0 to -f 120

or turn off hardware acceleration in your blueray player

also i use www.overclockers.co.uk for my normal hardware but for the extra bits I have never found a site selling them. there is cablesrus on the forums he's a good guy for the risers and stuff. has pcie 1 to 16 converters and stuff.


Antec CP 1000W Modular Power Supply £130 that will save ya a few quid

I am not a big intel person so am unsure about the mobo. someone else should be able to help there but an example is below but dont take my word on the mobo

Asus P6X58D-E Intel X58  £150     3x 16  and 1 1x

also with 4 connected it might pull 2 much from the mobo so the extender cables might be a idea to get one that has a power connector on it so its not pulling the power from the motherboard

 Hi, thanks a lot for all your help zerokwel. I will look into these components, and cablesrus (if hes on the newbie forum, or I can PM anyone). Will try and find a quad pcie board if not, and find out if 16x cards fit in 8x slots @ 8x ofc (the mentioned motherboard is LGA 1366/DDR3 and will not fit the E6750 which is LGA 775, I think x48 is my maximum option). I am using -v -w 128 (sourced randomly, and gets me about 660/670Mhashes at stock) but will try the switch mentioned. I also use OCUK most of the time Smiley

 Hi SomeoneWeird, I am in the UK and have an E6750 as per thread, and would like to stick to what I know in terms of O/S (have never even looked at linux, so I think this would be a headache for me), appreciate your input though
zerokwel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 06:18:25 PM
 #5

you can get a riser that converts from pcie1 to pcie16 and not loose anything while mining. I am at a loss when it comes to Intel like say I use AMD

so you could get away with a mobo that has only 2x pcie16 and 2x pcie1. I do believe I aint tried this myself so could be proved wrong

I use good old windows as well with guiminer very easy to use when I am in hardcore mining mode i use -v -w 128 -f 0   when i am gaming i use -v -w 128 -f 120


he has a website as well http://www.cablesaurus.com/ oh his name was cablesaurus. and yep u can pm him

Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 06:20:56 PM
 #6

The fact that it freeze when you use the gpu for something else is a bug in opencl, nothing we can fix... but, you can simply deactivate the GPU use in the video player, so you can watch your movies without problems
bitebitebite
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 06:35:27 PM
 #7

 Thanks once again for your help zerokwel and the website link, I will definetley use that; and thanks for the info Gabi which I will use until I have my alternate rig setup.

 I think I may have lucked out and found an old quad PCI-e motherboard that meets all my currently owned hardware needs

http://www.pcupgrade.co.uk/productdetails.asp?ProductID=5658&categoryid=260

 It states:

Expansion Slots
1 x PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot at max. x16 link (blue)
1 x PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot at max. x8 link (white)
2 x PCI Express x16 slot at max. x4 link (black)

 but the pictued slots look very different from each other (having no experience in this I would have assumed all x16 slots looked roughly alike, but simply delivered different speeds). Can anyone with experience of this board or that has hooked up x16 cards to x16-x8/x4 slots confirm this will work with 5830's, or am I reading it wrong?

larger image: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_KxWbHlvOyKE/TOw9rFcKU9I/AAAAAAAAAOk/hnOrfmoFhpA/s1600/P5Q-PREMIUM.jpg

[edit] nevermind, I was comparing to the pci slots lol (hangover), everything solved except the dummy plugs. Will look into the info on that and try to source the components
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!