Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 06:29:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: MacMiner beta with bfgminer included - testers wanted  (Read 28135 times)
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
April 28, 2013, 07:47:20 PM
 #1

THIS IS AN OLD THREAD PLEASE POST HERE:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0



Hi all,

Some of you may be aware of MacMiner which was launched earlier this month as a poclbm GUI. I've now added a bfgminer backed with support for scrypt etc., but the only easy way to do this was to use an installer package rather than the compressed .app I've been distributing so far.

To alleviate healthy concerns with regards to security, this installer package is signed with my developer ID (you can check the certificate by clicking the lock on the top right of the installer once you've opened it) - it will require admin permissions to install jansson and libusb in /usr/ folders, so it will ask for your password.

If you just want the poclbm support you can customise the install to skip the libraries, or just grab the .app from the original thread here:
thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=166347.0
download: http://fabulouspanda.co.uk/macminer/


But I'd really like some feedback on whether the bfgminer backend works for you. I've only tested on the machine I'm developing on and a VM, which lacks devices to mine with. To use bfgminer you'll have to open the preferences (from the MacMiner menu bar or cmd-,) and choose bfgminer, and for now it'll give you an error unless you use flags(options) - if you don't want any special flags you can just use -q (quiet) to minimise the hefty output it churns out. Or check out the available options on the bfgminer github: https://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer

Here's the installer:
redacted

all downloads require Mountain Lion (Mac OS 10.7+ )

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
1511116191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511116191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511116191
Reply with quote  #2

1511116191
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511116191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511116191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511116191
Reply with quote  #2

1511116191
Report to moderator
1511116191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511116191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511116191
Reply with quote  #2

1511116191
Report to moderator
MrNoSox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 10:57:13 AM
 #2

I've been trying to get a good GPU miner going all weekend and I wake up to this! I'm definitely going to test this out. Today is my birthday and this would be a great gift! Thanks!
MrNoSox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 11:01:18 AM
 #3

crashes for me. This is what I get:

Code:
4/29/13 7:00:21.787 AM MacMiner[484]: startPressed
4/29/13 7:00:21.787 AM MacMiner[484]: tasklaunch
4/29/13 7:00:21.969 AM MacMiner[484]: getdata
4/29/13 7:00:21.969 AM MacMiner[484]: controlappend
4/29/13 7:00:21.972 AM MacMiner[484]: getdata
4/29/13 7:00:21.972 AM MacMiner[484]: controlappend
4/29/13 7:00:22.408 AM MacMiner[484]: getdata
4/29/13 7:00:22.409 AM MacMiner[484]: controlappend
4/29/13 7:00:22.414 AM MacMiner[484]: getdata
4/29/13 7:00:22.415 AM MacMiner[484]: controlappend
4/29/13 7:00:22.483 AM poclbm[523]: poclbm Error
4/29/13 7:00:22.484 AM MacMiner[484]: getdata
4/29/13 7:00:22.484 AM MacMiner[484]: controlappend
4/29/13 7:00:23.454 AM MacMiner[484]: getdata
4/29/13 7:00:23.454 AM MacMiner[484]: task terminated
4/29/13 7:00:23.455 AM MacMiner[484]: finished

Using bfgminer, I get this:
Code:
[2013-04-29 07:03:01] Started bfgminer 3.0.1
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] CL Platform 0 vendor: Apple
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] CL Platform 0 name: Apple
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 (Dec  4 2012 18:26:30)
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] Platform 0 devices: 2
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] 0 ATI Radeon HD 5870
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] 1 ATI Radeon HD 5870
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] Unable to load ati adl library
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] Testing pool http://mining.pool-x.com
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] HTTP request failed: necessary data rewind wasn't possible
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] HTTP request failed: necessary data rewind wasn't possible
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] JSON decode failed(1): '[' or '{' expected near '<'
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] JSON decode failed(1): '[' or '{' expected near '<'
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] Pool 0 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] Unable to get work from pool 0 http://mining.pool-x.com
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] No servers were found that could be used to get work from.
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] Please check the details from the list below of the servers you have input
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] Most likely you have input the wrong URL, forgotten to add a port, or have not set up workers
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] Pool: 0  URL: http://mining.pool-x.com  User: USER.1  Password: PASS
No servers could be used! Exiting.
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] Started bfgminer 3.0.1                   
 [2013-04-29 07:03:01] Probing for an alive pool                   
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] Pool 0 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid                   
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] Unable to get work from pool 0 http://mining.pool-x.com                   
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] No servers were found that could be used to get work from.                   
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] Please check the details from the list below of the servers you have input                   
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] Most likely you have input the wrong URL, forgotten to add a port, or have not set up workers                   
 [2013-04-29 07:03:02] Pool: 0  URL: http://mining.pool-x.com  User: USER.1  Password: PASS                   

So it looks like bfg would work, but it can't connect to my pool.
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 11:14:54 AM
 #4

Happy birthday! Thanks for trying MacMiner. It looks like a pool url problem - i couldn't find pool-x.com, only the litecoin pool pool-x.eu - which would require bfgminer and option --scrypt - can you post the website for the pool you're using please?

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
MrNoSox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 12:20:32 PM
 #5

Not only did I put in ".com" instead of ".eu", I also failed to put in a port number. whoops. Anyway, Got that all worked out and now this is what I get:

Code:
[2013-04-29 08:18:12] Started bfgminer 3.0.1
 [2013-04-29 08:18:12] CL Platform 0 vendor: Apple
 [2013-04-29 08:18:12] CL Platform 0 name: Apple
 [2013-04-29 08:18:12] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 (Dec  4 2012 18:26:30)
 [2013-04-29 08:18:12] Platform 0 devices: 2
 [2013-04-29 08:18:12] 0 ATI Radeon HD 5870
 [2013-04-29 08:18:12] 1 ATI Radeon HD 5870
 [2013-04-29 08:18:12] Unable to load ati adl library
 [2013-04-29 08:18:12] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-04-29 08:18:12] Testing pool http://mining.pool-x.eu:8000
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] JSON-RPC call failed: {
   "code": -1,
   "message": "method not getwork"
}
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] Network difficulty changed to 437 (3.135Gh/s)
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] New block: ...b812285cca68f803 diff 437 (3.135Gh/s)
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] Long-polling activated for http://mining.pool-x.eu:8000/LP (getwork)
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] Pool 0 http://mining.pool-x.eu:8000 active
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] Init GPU thread 0 GPU 0 virtual GPU 0
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] CL Platform vendor: Apple
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] CL Platform name: Apple
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] CL Platform version: OpenCL 1.2 (Dec  4 2012 18:26:30)
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] List of devices:
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] 0 ATI Radeon HD 5870
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] 1 ATI Radeon HD 5870
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] Selected 0: ATI Radeon HD 5870
 [2013-04-29 08:18:13] Selecting scrypt kernel

After that, it stops. I press Start again and get the same thing. Also, is it using both cards when it says "Selected 0: ATI Radeon HD 5870"? If not, is there a way to make it use both?
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 01:32:43 PM
 #6

I've set up an account at the pool to do some testing, and it does seem to work for me when I set it up with pool http://mine.pool-x.eu:8337 and options --scrypt OR -C (<-C to use CPU as well) but it doesn't seem to like multiple arguments in the Options text view, and it seems to have connection issues returning work to the pool, so I'll have to bugfix that before scrypt works in the GUI…

For the time being, you can get it working by opening the Terminal, there entering

cd /Applications/MacMiner.app/Contents/Resources/bfgminer/bin
(press return)
./bfgminer -o http://mine.pool-x.eu:8337 -u USER.1 -p PASS --scrypt --shaders 1600 -C
(press return)

shaders 1600 is the best for your GPU taken from here:
https://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer/blob/bfgminer/README.scrypt

edit: oh and re the GPUs it's supposed to use all by default but you can set -d 0, -d 1 on the command line to make sure it uses both

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
MrNoSox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 02:05:28 PM
 #7

Seems to want to work, then I get this, I have been getting this a lot with different miners, cgminer, reaper...

http://i.imgur.com/4PC5kJS.png

I've installed Xcode, Macports, and even Homebrew to try to get these to work. I looked up that error and it seems that it can be almost anything.
MrNoSox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 02:16:19 PM
 #8

Sorry for being such a noob. I found this but I have no idea what it means.

https://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer/issues/221

https://github.com/luke-jr/bfgminer/issues/220
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 03:55:03 PM
 #9

Ah sorry, my fault, it means it's not linked up to the libraries properly because I used aliases to replicate my system - I've replaced the aliases with the actual libraries now, if you download the pkg and run it again you should have success running it in the terminal now! Thanks for being patient Smiley

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
MrNoSox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 04:52:54 PM
 #10

Ah sorry, my fault, it means it's not linked up to the libraries properly because I used aliases to replicate my system - I've replaced the aliases with the actual libraries now, if you download the pkg and run it again you should have success running it in the terminal now! Thanks for being patient Smiley

Patient with you? Thanks for being patient with me! I reinstalled with the new pkg and got the same thing.
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 05:27:38 PM
 #11

Hmm, it's a little tricky as it's not telling you what's failing to load… Do you have a bitcoin mining account you could test it with (so it's not using scrypt)?

Could I ask you please to check whether all these files exist (and are not aliases):
/usr/lib/dyld
/usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib
/usr/lib/libcurl.4.dylib
/usr/local/lib/libjansson.4.dylib
/usr/local/lib/libusb-1.0.0.dylib
/Applications/MacMiner.app/Contents/Resources/bfgminer/lib/libblkmaker_jansson-0.1.0.dylib
/Applications/MacMiner.app/Contents/Resources/bfgminer/lib/libblkmaker-0.1.0.dylib

If you're in the Finder you can choose 'Go'-'Go to folder' from the menu bar and paste each of those in there

It might also be worth pasting this in your terminal:
sudo cp /Applications/MacMiner.app/Contents/Resources/bfgminer/lib/libblkmaker_jansson-0.1.0.dylib /usr/local/lib/
press enter and when prompted enter your password and it'll copy that dylib to /usr/local/lib
alternately, 'Go' to /Applications/MacMiner.app/Contents/Resources/bfgminer/lib/ and copy everything except pkgconfig to /usr/local/lib by dragging it across while holding 'alt'.

if that works please let me know and I'll update the installer!

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
MrNoSox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 05:37:58 PM
 #12

All of those lib files exist. I copied everything like you said and did the cp with terminal and still have the same error. I did notice when I was looking through the usr/lib folder that I had 173 alias files in there. Should those be there?

entered my info for slush's pool and it doesn't like that either.
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 05:45:35 PM
 #13

The alias files are there with a standard install - they're mostly just linking names a program might be looking for to what's actually there - libcurl.3.dylib and libcurl.dylib pointing to libcurl4.dylib for example.

Is the output for bitcoin mining on slush's pool the same?

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 06:02:42 PM
 #14

Oh and could you please go to the Applications/Utilities folder and open disk utility, select your startup disk at the top of the left pane and 'Repair Disk Permissions' on the right under First Aid please? It could be a permissions problem with a standard library..

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
MrNoSox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 06:16:54 PM
 #15

Yeah, it gave the same error on slush. Repaired permissions and still the same. Is it possible that installing Xcode (and Xcode command line utils), Macports, and Homebrew may have caused some problems? I installed MacMiner last and I've installed it over itself several times.
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 06:24:11 PM
 #16

Neither macports nor homebrew should cause a problem (i have one machine running each I've tested on) but it's not advisable to have them both installed at the same time... can you please run

port installed

and

brew list

in terminal and post the output of both here?

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
MrNoSox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 06:29:18 PM
 #17

Code:
The following ports are currently installed:
  bzip2 @1.0.6_0 (active)
  expat @2.1.0_0 (active)
  gettext @0.18.2.1_0 (active)
  gmp @5.0.5_0 (active)
  gnutls @3.1.10_0 (active)
  libedit @20121213-3.0_0 (active)
  libgcrypt @1.5.0_0 (active)
  libgpg-error @1.10_0 (active)
  libiconv @1.14_0 (active)
  libidn @1.26_0 (active)
  libtasn1 @2.11_0 (active)
  ncurses @5.9_2 (active)
  nettle @2.6_0 (active)
  openssl @1.0.1e_1 (active)
  pcre @8.32_1 (active)
  wget @1.14_5+ssl (active)
  zlib @1.2.7_0 (active)

Brew
Code:
autoconf coreutils jansson libusb xz
automake curl libtool pkg-config
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 06:55:47 PM
 #18

it's good to see you don't have any conflicting installs, although I do wonder whether the jansson and/or libusb are having problems with the versions the installer puts in - how does running brew doctor look? It might throw up some issues around those…

I would suggest using brew to uninstall both then running the MacMiner installer again

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
MrNoSox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 07:10:49 PM
 #19

Code:
Warning: "config" scripts exist outside your system or Homebrew directories.
`./configure` scripts often look for *-config scripts to determine if
software packages are installed, and what additional flags to use when
compiling and linking.

Having additional scripts in your path can confuse software installed via
Homebrew if the config script overrides a system or Homebrew provided
script of the same name. We found the following "config" scripts:

    /opt/local/bin/gpg-error-config
    /opt/local/bin/libgcrypt-config
    /opt/local/bin/ncurses5-config
    /opt/local/bin/ncursesw5-config
    /opt/local/bin/pcre-config

Warning: Your Xcode (4.5.2) is outdated
Please install Xcode 4.6.2.

Warning: You have MacPorts or Fink installed:
  /opt/local/bin/port

This can cause trouble. You don't have to uninstall them, but you may want to
temporarily move them out of the way, e.g.

  sudo mv /opt/local ~/macports

Warning: Unbrewed dylibs were found in /usr/local/lib.
If you didn't put them there on purpose they could cause problems when
building Homebrew formulae, and may need to be deleted.

Unexpected dylibs:
    /usr/local/lib/libblkmaker-0.1.0.dylib
    /usr/local/lib/libblkmaker_jansson-0.1.0.dylib
    /usr/local/lib/libjansson.4.dylib
    /usr/local/lib/libusb-1.0.0.dylib

Warning: Unbrewed .la files were found in /usr/local/lib.
If you didn't put them there on purpose they could cause problems when
building Homebrew formulae, and may need to be deleted.

Unexpected .la files:
    /usr/local/lib/libblkmaker-0.1.la
    /usr/local/lib/libblkmaker_jansson-0.1.la
    /usr/local/lib/libjansson.la

Warning: Unbrewed static libraries were found in /usr/local/lib.
If you didn't put them there on purpose they could cause problems when
building Homebrew formulae, and may need to be deleted.

Unexpected static libraries:
    /usr/local/lib/libjansson.a
    /usr/local/lib/libusb-1.0.a

Warning: You have unlinked kegs in your Cellar
Leaving kegs unlinked can lead to build-trouble and cause brews that depend on
those kegs to fail to run properly once built. Run `brew link` on these:

    jansson
    libusb

Warning: /usr/bin occurs before /usr/local/bin
This means that system-provided programs will be used instead of those
provided by Homebrew. The following tools exist at both paths:

    easy_install
    easy_install-2.7

Consider amending your PATH so that /usr/local/bin
occurs before /usr/bin in your PATH.

I knew Xcode was out of date. For some reason I can't get the installer for 4.6.2 to launch but I didn't figure it was *that* big of a deal. Anyway, how do I uninstall with Brew?
Anonymailer
aka BitBacco
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 07:20:37 PM
 #20

aha, it looks as though we're getting close to the root of the problem!

brew remove libusb jansson

^that should take care of those

but you have some other warnings related to macports so if just removing those and running the MacMiner installer again doesn't work you might want to run

sudo mv /opt/local ~/macports

which will put all your macports installs in a directory called macports in your home folder and stop them being loaded by the system.

just in case they're related, does the app store give you an error code when you try to install the xcode update?

MacMiner - The first, best and easiest to use native Mac coin mining app: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=197110.0

BTC: 12vZf8mjaXvHorXWVWfv7nZspHa8L8kfoG LTC: LLRqwo3YcLqoRyfZRVmUevtd2Y35Vvnt4w
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!