Bitcoin Forum
April 22, 2018, 05:27:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: HELP! 6-7x RX570 Rig Help  (Read 571 times)
minerman121
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 05:32:09 PM
 #1

Hi all!
I built 4 rigs, but issues on the 7 GPU RX570 Rig. Constant BSOD Loop when attaching more than 5 Cards to rig.

Here is my specs and issue;

MSI Z97 Gaming 5 - Tested on Gen 1, 2, 3 and Auto.
7x MSI RX 570 4GB Gaming X - all on powered USB risers.
Windows 10 Professional
1250W Platinum Rated PSU
120GB SSD
AMD 17.4.x (tested 3 and non-wqhl 4)

All my other rigs are the same, except for the 570 GPUs.

The issue is that if I attach 1-5 GPUs to this rig, it will mine and mine well. Once I attach 6 (and/or 7) GPU's, it will boot into windows, recognise the 6th card, declare a BSOD (Tried to execute noexecute memory) and loop. If I detach the 6th and 7th GPU, it will boot into windows but Once I try to start mining in (and do other things), I get a BAD IMAGE error for certain DLL files.

Here is what I've tried;

BIOS Update
Different Gen and PCI Bus Clock Speed combos (all combos)
Reinstall Windows cleanly (required once the bad image errors come up)
Swap Risers, USB Cables, Cards in different slots.
Set higher Virtual Memory
Tested all drivers that my card uses ( was told I was obligated to use 17.x.x)
Flashed the BIOS to a modded one, then tested that, didn't work, flashed back to stock, didnt work.

Here are my theories;

It has to be the new drivers. I loaded SimpleminingOS (I hate linux and its slow hash), all 7 card recognise, and begin to mine. If I load Windows with 7 Cards attached to the board, but with no drivers installed, Windows will recognise all 7 GPUs under Basic Display Adaptor (with only the GPU with Screen Attached showing as active).

I also got this same BSOD loop error when incorrectly trying to load 16.12.x Drivers with my RX470's and not correctly patching the Driver Signer. That always led to the same Attempt Execute NoExecute Memory error.

I am extremely confident it is a Software issue, and I am confident that it is a driver issue.

HELP!

The network tries to produce one block per 10 minutes. It does this by automatically adjusting how difficult it is to produce blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524374872
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524374872

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524374872
Reply with quote  #2

1524374872
Report to moderator
1524374872
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524374872

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524374872
Reply with quote  #2

1524374872
Report to moderator
1524374872
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524374872

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524374872
Reply with quote  #2

1524374872
Report to moderator
Truthchanter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 486
Merit: 251


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 05:42:44 PM
 #2

its a driver issue with the 500 series, this is all over this forum. searching may help next time
minerman121
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 05:44:08 PM
 #3

Solid point, but it was my impatience that led me to post. If you get the search term wrong I have to wait like 30 seconds and it just got frustrating.
Apneal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 06:32:13 PM
 #4

Fill out an AMD bug report like the rest of us, but you present an interesting idea.

"I also got this same BSOD loop error when incorrectly trying to load 16.12.x Drivers with my RX470's and not correctly patching the Driver Signer."

I'm assuming you're talking about replacing the atikmdag.sys, installing the drivers, and then running the patcher? Or do you mean just running the patcher like you would on the newer drivers? If the former, could you test out replacing the atikmdag.sys file on the new drivers and see if it alleviates the issue?
minerman121
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 03:11:01 AM
 #5

Ah you present an even more interesting idea! Look I will give it a solid go this evening. By sheer dumb luck, when I was working on RIG4, RIG1's power supply died. Unrelated, obviously, but I have to return to my humble garage this evening, and shall attempt to replace the file.
Jamievs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 07:35:11 AM
 #6

See https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1900035.0 for a solution!  Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!