Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 01:09:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CRACKED! Run 6+ RX 580's in Windows 10!!  (Read 13454 times)
Apneal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 08:03:33 PM
 #1

Please thank new user atanas012 for sharing this!

Hello All.
I was able to get 6 x RX-500 series running on windows 10 x64. After two days the stupidest thing I tried worked  Grin.
1. use DDU to clean the PC from any previous drivers.
2. Disable 4G decoding so you can log into windows (only  for Z170,H170, etc.)
3. Extract older driver for RX 400 series in Drive C: (I use 16.9.2 )
4. Extract driver for RX 500 series in Drive C: (I use 17.4.3)
5. Copy and replace all content from "C:\AMD\Non-WHQL-Win10-64Bit-Radeon-Software-Crimson-16.9.2-Sep21\Packages\Drivers\Display\WT6A_INF\B307117"  to "C:\AMD\WHQL-Win7-64Bit-Radeon-Software-Crimson-ReLive-17.4.3-Apr17\Packages\Drivers\Display\W76A_INF\B313057" (Basically you copy the old driver over the new)
6. Install the VGA cards manually from Device manager in Windows pointing path to the new driver 17.4.3 in this case.
7. Reboot and enable 4G Decoding in Bios
8. Enjoy if it works for you.

You can try with different driver versions if they work for you. I`m happy whit the 16.9.2 for the moment but any driver that works whit 6 and more RX 400 series GPUs should work  Grin.

I know  that this solution sound stupid but it`s tested on 8 different rigs whit Asus Prime Z270-P and H270 Motherboards and works like a charm.
I`m pretty sure only handful of files need to be replaced but I don have the time to test more elegant solution.

Sorry for my English and grammar. Grin

Confirmed working on my rig!
1508418553
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508418553

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508418553
Reply with quote  #2

1508418553
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508418553
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508418553

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508418553
Reply with quote  #2

1508418553
Report to moderator
BeyondDeception
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 08:05:01 PM
 #2

Please thank new user atanas012 for sharing this!

Hello All.
I was able to get 6 x RX-500 series running on windows 10 x64. After two days the stupidest thing I tried worked  Grin.
1. use DDU to clean the PC from any previous drivers.
2. Disable 4G decoding so you can log into windows (only  for Z170,H170, etc.)
3. Extract older driver for RX 400 series in Drive C: (I use 16.9.2 )
4. Extract driver for RX 500 series in Drive C: (I use 17.4.3)
5. Copy and replace all content from "C:\AMD\Non-WHQL-Win10-64Bit-Radeon-Software-Crimson-16.9.2-Sep21\Packages\Drivers\Display\WT6A_INF\B307117"  to "C:\AMD\WHQL-Win7-64Bit-Radeon-Software-Crimson-ReLive-17.4.3-Apr17\Packages\Drivers\Display\W76A_INF\B313057" (Basically you copy the old driver over the new)
6. Install the VGA cards manually from Device manager in Windows pointing path to the new driver 17.4.3 in this case.
7. Reboot and enable 4G Decoding in Bios
8. Enjoy if it works for you.

You can try with different driver versions if they work for you. I`m happy whit the 16.9.2 for the moment but any driver that works whit 6 and more RX 400 series GPUs should work  Grin.

I know  that this solution sound stupid but it`s tested on 8 different rigs whit Asus Prime Z270-P and H270 Motherboards and works like a charm.
I`m pretty sure only handful of files need to be replaced but I don have the time to test more elegant solution.

Sorry for my English and grammar. Grin

Confirmed working on my rig!


If this works you or whoever created the solution is a god!!! Smiley
M1n0r
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 08:08:41 PM
 #3

Hello is it working on asrock h81 pro btc ?
BeyondDeception
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 08:39:01 PM
 #4

Question - I need to replace all the contents of "just" the "B307117" (old driver) to the folder of "B313057" (new driver). I've done that and it's telling me the best driver is already installed, which is just the generic Microsoft driver.
Apneal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 08:56:57 PM
 #5

Question - I need to replace all the contents of "just" the "B307117" (old driver) to the folder of "B313057" (new driver). I've done that and it's telling me the best driver is already installed, which is just the generic Microsoft driver.

I copied the contents over from the B30 folder into the B31 folder, replacing all files.

Ran DDU, totally clean, then installed the modified drivers by launching the setup from 17.4.3 which now has the 16.9.x files
BeyondDeception
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 09:07:27 PM
 #6

Question - I need to replace all the contents of "just" the "B307117" (old driver) to the folder of "B313057" (new driver). I've done that and it's telling me the best driver is already installed, which is just the generic Microsoft driver.

I copied the contents over from the B30 folder into the B31 folder, replacing all files.

Ran DDU, totally clean, then installed the modified drivers by launching the setup from 17.4.3 which now has the 16.9.x files

Figured it out - I was trying it with 15.12, but it does NOT work with 15.12. It does seem to work with 16.9.2. I haven't tried 6 cards yet, but it did manage to install the driver. I'm going to be trying the 6th card pretty soon here to see if it works. If it does, you have no idea how happy I'll be!!

That said - for anyone else looking trying this, two quick comments:

- 15.12 - Does not work.
- It is going to tell you that it does not recognized the signature do you want to proceed. I proceeded and it worked. Recognizes the video cards as RX580 but is the driver of the 16.9.2.

Checking to see if everything it is stable and okay with the drivers. Did not install AMD settings - just the driver - and modified voltage, clock, and memory within Claymore. So far so good. This was my unstable machine.

Going for the sixth card next. I'll update as soon as I have.

**Update**

I haven't tried the optimized driver 16.12.2. HOWEVER, I CAN CONFIRM THIS DOES WORK!!! I see all six cards. Holy hell whoever atanas012 is, thank you! You are the man!  I'll update again. I'm going to try the 16.12.2. I may even try the 15.12 again. I may have screwed up, but now that I know the process - I can confirm this definitively.




Sequoia93
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 10:36:45 PM
 #7

Anyone get 7 running yet?  Grin
Apneal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180


View Profile
May 03, 2017, 11:35:42 PM
 #8

Anyone get 7 running yet?  Grin





Question - I need to replace all the contents of "just" the "B307117" (old driver) to the folder of "B313057" (new driver). I've done that and it's telling me the best driver is already installed, which is just the generic Microsoft driver.

I copied the contents over from the B30 folder into the B31 folder, replacing all files.

Ran DDU, totally clean, then installed the modified drivers by launching the setup from 17.4.3 which now has the 16.9.x files

Figured it out - I was trying it with 15.12, but it does NOT work with 15.12. It does seem to work with 16.9.2. I haven't tried 6 cards yet, but it did manage to install the driver. I'm going to be trying the 6th card pretty soon here to see if it works. If it does, you have no idea how happy I'll be!!

That said - for anyone else looking trying this, two quick comments:

- 15.12 - Does not work.
- It is going to tell you that it does not recognized the signature do you want to proceed. I proceeded and it worked. Recognizes the video cards as RX580 but is the driver of the 16.9.2.

Checking to see if everything it is stable and okay with the drivers. Did not install AMD settings - just the driver - and modified voltage, clock, and memory within Claymore. So far so good. This was my unstable machine.

Going for the sixth card next. I'll update as soon as I have.

**Update**

I haven't tried the optimized driver 16.12.2. HOWEVER, I CAN CONFIRM THIS DOES WORK!!! I see all six cards. Holy hell whoever atanas012 is, thank you! You are the man!  I'll update again. I'm going to try the 16.12.2. I may even try the 15.12 again. I may have screwed up, but now that I know the process - I can confirm this definitively.


If you're going to do some testing, I believe you only have to replace one file, atimkdag.sys
BeyondDeception
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 12:00:23 AM
 #9

Question - I need to replace all the contents of "just" the "B307117" (old driver) to the folder of "B313057" (new driver). I've done that and it's telling me the best driver is already installed, which is just the generic Microsoft driver.

I copied the contents over from the B30 folder into the B31 folder, replacing all files.

Ran DDU, totally clean, then installed the modified drivers by launching the setup from 17.4.3 which now has the 16.9.x files

Figured it out - I was trying it with 15.12, but it does NOT work with 15.12. It does seem to work with 16.9.2. I haven't tried 6 cards yet, but it did manage to install the driver. I'm going to be trying the 6th card pretty soon here to see if it works. If it does, you have no idea how happy I'll be!!

That said - for anyone else looking trying this, two quick comments:

- 15.12 - Does not work.
- It is going to tell you that it does not recognized the signature do you want to proceed. I proceeded and it worked. Recognizes the video cards as RX580 but is the driver of the 16.9.2.

Checking to see if everything it is stable and okay with the drivers. Did not install AMD settings - just the driver - and modified voltage, clock, and memory within Claymore. So far so good. This was my unstable machine.

Going for the sixth card next. I'll update as soon as I have.

**Update**

I haven't tried the optimized driver 16.12.2. HOWEVER, I CAN CONFIRM THIS DOES WORK!!! I see all six cards. Holy hell whoever atanas012 is, thank you! You are the man!  I'll update again. I'm going to try the 16.12.2. I may even try the 15.12 again. I may have screwed up, but now that I know the process - I can confirm this definitively.


If you're going to do some testing, I believe you only have to replace one file, atimkdag.sys

Really? So to try the 16.12.2 - I just need to replace the atimkdag.sys file with the 16.12.2 (or 15.12) atimkdag.sys?

So far so good - system seems to be running well. No stability issues (knock on wood). Thanks for taking the time to post this!
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 12:29:37 AM
 #10

This is excellent news! I was getting concerned with all the Rx 470s vanishing from the market (at any decent price). Hopefully AMD will release a future driver that will work with 6 GPUs, but until then this should do the trick nicely. 

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
BeyondDeception
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 02:55:43 AM
 #11

This is excellent news! I was getting concerned with all the Rx 470s vanishing from the market (at any decent price). Hopefully AMD will release a future driver that will work with 6 GPUs, but until then this should do the trick nicely. 

Yep - It's worked on 4 of my machines. Stability issues gone, recognizes all the cards, etc. All is well in my mining world. You just have to do any undervolting, clocking, etc. either through MSI or through claymore. I'm finding I like to just do it through claymore.
maomaopop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22

Mining is Fun!


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 04:29:14 AM
 #12

Does this mean Watt-Tool will work on RX 500 series as well since the 6-7 GPU hack driver is a mutated version 16?
BeyondDeception
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 04:53:41 AM
 #13

Does this mean Watt-Tool will work on RX 500 series as well since the 6-7 GPU hack driver is a mutated version 16?
No - I don't think so (just a gut feeling). Frankly, IMO the Wattman wasn't working that well with my 5 RX580 to entice me to use it. I think it's just a first driver for a new'ish card and so it's not completely stable. So I honestly haven't tried to install the AMD settings, because I was nervous of the same instability issues. All I did was install the driver manually through the device manager. For any adjustments, you can use MSI AB or just manually set it in Claymore. Personally, I like both of those options over Wattman. I hated having to manually input all the settings into the individual cards and then have it reset to default settings to do it all over again. With MSI AB it syncs everything.

That said, you can try it and see if it'll work, but at this point, I was just happy to get it up and running.

So far so good - all is well. It's the longest my machines have stayed up and I can see 6 cards.
micairvas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
May 04, 2017, 06:52:47 AM
 #14

Does anyone have higher power consumption on rx570 4gb cards (MSI RX570 4gb GamingX)? I modded factory bios, only inserted 1500 straps, consumption per card was about 160w (gpu/mem: 1080/1970 -84mV). Tried to flash bios from rx 470 (same memory - Hynix), I got a little bit lower consumption - 145w per card, but that's still not good. Does anyone have solution?
emdje
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 668


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2017, 09:18:05 AM
 #15

I really have to make a rig again, I miss tinkering with this stuff  Smiley

Great work btw  Cheesy

archforex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 05, 2017, 02:11:58 PM
 #16

i tried to make that
and download Drivers for Rx 400 V 16.9.2 and removed the rx 500 drivers
but no thing is working
i hope you make a video for it
and help me  for it 
Flickspeed
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
May 05, 2017, 11:47:47 PM
 #17

It works with the 16.12.2 drivers it seems just that I tested on 3 cards, a 480 a 570 and a 580. Copied atikmdag and atikmpag only. Patched with 1.4.4
Apneal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180


View Profile
May 06, 2017, 01:33:41 AM
 #18

Noice, good find, wonder if there's a performance difference between just replacing those two and replacing all
FFI2013
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431



View Profile
May 06, 2017, 11:34:25 AM
 #19

are these 580s stock or is the modded thanks

⟨⟨
Digital Identity Verification
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ for Enterprise ▬▬▬▬▬▬
Iverif-y              ▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄
      ▄▄▄▄█████████████████       
▄▄████████████████████████▌       ▄██▄▄
▐█████████████████████████       ▄█████▌
 █████████████▀▀▀████████        ██████
 █████████       ███████        ██████▀
  ████████        █████        ███████
  ▐███████▌       ▀██▀        ███████
   ▀███████▄       █         ███████▀
    ▀███████▄              ▄███████▀
     ▀███████▄            ▄███████▀
      ▀███████▄          ▄███████▀
       ▀████████▄      ▄████████
         █████████   ▄█████████
          ▀████████ ▄████████▀
            ████████████████
             ▀████████████▀
               ▀████████▀
                 ▀████▀
                   ▀
I
Token Sale opens 5th of October
▬▬Twitter FB Linkedin Telegram Discord ▬▬
⟩⟩I
ark02
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 06, 2017, 12:42:36 PM
 #20

If you're going to do some testing, I believe you only have to replace one file, atimkdag.sys

About to test 15.12, did you mean atikmdag.sys?  No mkdag here.

EDIT:
I tried this on a system with 5 480s and a single 580.  
1) After reboot none of the cards were functioning properly and 480's had been updated to catalyst 17 in Device Manager, right clicked one of the 480's -> Update Driver -> Browse Computer -> Let me pick from a List -> Chose older driver. Cards started working again

2) I then shut down, connected 6th card (480), booted back up, drivers automatically installed, reboot. All 6 cards show up in device manager (never got this far before!) but are once again not functioning properly and 480s have loaded catalyst 17. Right clicked one of the 480's -> Update Driver -> Browse Computer -> Let me pick from a List -> Chose older driver and BOOM! It works!

I was entirely convinced my motherboard/PSU couldn't handle the 6th GPU, Thank you for finding this.
Best,
Ark


tl;dr YES this works with 15.12 and YES you only need to replace atikmdag.sys

Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!