Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 05:30:20 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Multibit unconfirmed  (Read 1490 times)
pokrpokr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 09, 2017, 07:42:05 PM
 #1

Hello,

Yesterday  I sent via Multibit 0.16 BTC to 1FP39uEheKYHoBDoUZjM2uoke74D2m5kGB, and then 1.66 BTC to 1MoxbSpYnhyzfp2VXWvNHvJRbKuojGmnfm (Local bitcoins)

Transactions have not been confirmed. And remaining account balance has been transformed to unconfirmed.

I read the forum. Reinstalling, recovering from backup, recovering from words,  repairing the wallet. No results.

Will someone help me? I am a beginner.

http://www.tomaspokorny.com/bitcoin1.jpg


http://www.tomaspokorny.com/bitcoin2.jpg

Thank you...
1513056620
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513056620

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513056620
Reply with quote  #2

1513056620
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
pokrpokr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 02:41:19 PM
 #2

Thank you for answer. I use last version. Somebody with access to mining pools to help me confirm this 2 low fee transactions?


seran
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 02:49:13 PM
 #3

Hi all!

I have exactly the same problem. I set 0.0001 BTC as tx fee, which always worked fine, but now obviously is too low. The tx was seen by 60+ peers but not confirmed. After 2 days in blockchain.info it was marked as 'Transaction rejected by our node'. When I restarted Multibit Classic, it automatically resent the tx, again with 0.0001 btc fee.

Since I didn't want to wait, I transferred the amount in a second tx with a higher fee and it went through perfectly. Then I exported my private keys from the wallet, deleted it and waited until blockchain.info gave me the message again. Then I created a new wallet, imported the private keys and resynced with the network. I thought the cancelled tx should be gone now, but it reappeared a third time. Maybe from the mempool of some node, idk. But it has the date of the resync as creation date, so it was sent by multibit a 3rd time.

Is there a way to actually cancel this tx? I just want the money back in my wallet.

Any ideas?

Thanx a lot,
seran
seran
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 09:04:08 AM
 #4

Ok, I tried to migrate my private keys to another wallet, but I failed. Bitcoin Core does need 122 GB of free space, which I do not have on my notebook (not even closely). Bitcoin armory gives me an error, it says it failed to spawn db. Multibit HD does not allow to import existing private keys.

So I'm wondering if it might help to redo the steps I already tried, but leave more time in between. So delete wallet, then close multibit, leave it closed for a week or so (until hopefully all nodes have forgotten about the tx) and then recreate the wallet from the private keys. Do you think that would help?
HCP
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 448

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 11:12:18 AM
 #5

If you have an Android smartphone or an iPhone, you can use your MultiBit HD seed to restore your wallet to "Breadwallet" app. It is the only wallet that will work with MultiBit HD seeds (since Hive got shutdown).

Otherwise, you can try using my recovery scripts to dump out the addresses and private keys from your MultiBit HD wallet that have unspent outputs in them... you can then import those private keys to another wallet.

It would appear that while the MultiBit HD wallet "fees" setting says that it is calculating as X mBTC "per KB"... it is in fact just setting the fee as X mBTC for all transactions up to 1KB... so for an "average" 226 byte transaction, that should result in a relatively "decent" fee of ~221 sats/byte if you stick with the default 0.5 mBTC... However, once your transaction size starts climbing (ie. adding in multiple inputs) the fee starts getting smaller and smaller until at 1000 bytes, you would end up with a 50 sat/byte fee and transactions getting "stuck" Sad

The fees seem to be set here:

Quote
    public static final Coin MINIMUM_FEE_PER_KB = Coin.valueOf(1000);   // Slightly higher than the minimum relay fee (1000 sat per KB)  as per Bitcoin Core 0.9
    public static final Coin DEFAULT_FEE_PER_KB = Coin.valueOf(50000);  // 0.5 mBTC per KB - a long used fee structure which works as of spam attacks of July 2015
    public static final Coin MAXIMUM_FEE_PER_KB = Coin.valueOf(500000);  // 5.0 mBTC per KB

and you either pay 1000 sats total (0.00001) , 50,000 sats (0.0005) or possibly 500,000 sats (0.005)... as when the wallet goes to send bitcoins it just calls normaliseRawFeePerKB():

Quote
      // Prepare the transaction i.e work out the fee sizes (not empty wallet)
      sendRequestSummary = new SendRequestSummary(
        sendRequest,
        fiatPayment,
        FeeService.normaliseRawFeePerKB(Configurations.currentConfiguration.getWallet().getFeePerKB()),
        null
      );



seemed like they meant to calculate when you needed to add another lot of fees"

Quote
/**
   * The boundary for when more mining fee is due
   */
  private static final int MINING_FEE_BOUNDARY = 1000;  // bytes
But that MINING_FEE_BOUNDARY is not actually used anywhere in the code?? Huh


seran
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 11:50:44 AM
 #6

Sorry, i didn't make that clear, I'm using Multibit classic and I want to migrate from there to any other wallet.
HI-TEC99
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
May 11, 2017, 01:13:33 PM
 #7

Sorry, i didn't make that clear, I'm using Multibit classic and I want to migrate from there to any other wallet.

Did you password protect your multibit classic wallet?

Before you do anything else use these instructions to back up your wallet file.


Have you made any backups of your multibit wallet, or private keys yet? Don't risk doing anything until you make those backups and test they aren't corrupted. You can backup your private keys by clicking tools, then the dropdown menu item entitled "export private keys".



Your multibit wallet files are in a folder that windows hides by default.

You can back up your multibit wallet files by clicking the windows start button, then copying and pasting the line of text below into the search box that opens, then pressing your "enter" key. That should open a folder containing another folder called Multibit. Backup that whole Multibit folder.

%appdata%

This is what the windows search box should look like after pasting %appdata% into it.



If your multibit classic wallet isn't password protected you can use these instructions to extract the private key from it, then import the private key into electrum.



If you export your multibit wallet's private key to a file without a password, then open that file in notepad you should see something like the text in the quote below. The bit in blue is the private key. You can import that into electrum using these instructions.


Quote
# KEEP YOUR PRIVATE KEYS SAFE !
# Anyone who can read this file can spend your bitcoin.
#
# Format:
#   <Base58 encoded private key>[<whitespace>[<key createdAt>]]
#
#   The Base58 encoded private keys are the same format as
#   produced by the Satoshi client/ sipa dumpprivkey utility.
#
#   Key createdAt is in UTC format as specified by ISO 8601
#   e.g: 2011-12-31T16:42:00Z . The century, 'T' and 'Z' are mandatory
#
L4ciWWbEdt3hauU5Tudn13RuN9ZdTqqtm7X1DHbCDgUzpMvQiwsU 2009-01-03T18:15:05Z
# End of private keys


seran
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 01:47:18 PM
 #8

Thanks, good hint! The keys were password protected, of course I cannot import them. Will try again without password
seran
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 07:07:58 PM
 #9

Thanks, that did the job! I have my wallet in Electrum now. Can I just wait until the network forgets about the transaction, or will electrum also rebroadcast it?
Mike8
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 07:11:49 PM
 #10

The safest is to double spend: send it to another wallet address of yours with a big fee.
HI-TEC99
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
May 11, 2017, 08:00:12 PM
 #11

Thanks, that did the job! I have my wallet in Electrum now. Can I just wait until the network forgets about the transaction, or will electrum also rebroadcast it?

If you don't mind posting the transaction ID here I could try getting it confirmed with the viabtc accelerator. If you want to try using the accelerator yourself it's available at this link.

https://www.viabtc.com/tools/txaccelerator/
seran
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 12, 2017, 07:09:17 AM
 #12

The thing is, I don't really want it to be confirmed. I already resent the btc with a higher fee manually and the easiest thing would be if the network just forgets about the tx. I read, that that's possible, the only problem so far was, that multibit classic kept rebroadcasting the tx.
seran
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 23, 2017, 11:15:41 AM
 #13

Ok, I don't get it. I deinstalled multibit classic and also Electrum from my PC and i have no other wallet software running anywhere, but still my tx keeps being rebroadcasted every 4-5 days.

https://blockchain.info/tx/bebc65518e950228b51a0ba867a15b2b2abe33987fdb6faf2501cab21446e347

Before it was rebroadcasted on the 17th, the 12th and the 9th. How is that possible? Are the miners now rebroadcasting the transactions, because they want to force users to double spend and raise the fees even higher? And would it help to import the wallet keys into Armory or the core client and 'Clear All Unconfirmed Transactions'?

My main problem is, the target address I sent the bitcoin to doesn't exist any longer (the receiver has no more access to it). So if I really can't cancel the tx, is there a way to double spend the bitcoins and send them to a different address?
HCP
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 448

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
May 23, 2017, 11:42:30 AM
 #14

Seems like it is being relayed by someone in Singapore: Relayed by "IP 59.189.202.8"

https://whoislookupdb.com/whois-59.189.202.8

As for your other problem... Bitcoin addresses don't magically vanish or stop working... a valid bitcoin address is a valid bitcoin address forever. How did they lose access to it? Did they lose their private key or something?

seran
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 23, 2017, 02:53:29 PM
 #15

Yes he's new to bitcoin, his harddisk crashed and he had no backup.

But as I understand it, it is possible to replace a transaction with another via Full RBF. I just don't understand how. Is there a tutorial available?


pinkpajama99
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
May 23, 2017, 04:38:05 PM
 #16

Hello,

Yesterday  I sent via Multibit 0.16 BTC to 1FP39uEheKYHoBDoUZjM2uoke74D2m5kGB, and then 1.66 BTC to 1MoxbSpYnhyzfp2VXWvNHvJRbKuojGmnfm (Local bitcoins)

Transactions have not been confirmed. And remaining account balance has been transformed to unconfirmed.

I read the forum. Reinstalling, recovering from backup, recovering from words,  repairing the wallet. No results.

Will someone help me? I am a beginner.






Thank you...

I"m having the exact same problem.  Money I sent 4 days later not confirmed. i've resynched my wallet 5 times and sent 3 tickets to multibit.     The top of my Multibit wallet shows I have $2 and $250 unconfirmed so I can't do anything cuz it thinks i have no money.   I closed it and opened it nothing.  I'm afraid to uninstall and reinstall.  I'm non-technical.  Please help.
Guido
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1018


FASTCOIN $FST


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2017, 11:00:43 AM
 #17

having same problem

never had a problem ever from a btc wallet in all these years

sent originally early may, rebroadcast and resynced using tool in multibit few days later
put down to mem pool backlog, high miner fees and clogegd network
assuming it would clear, get found or get returned

so i still have this transaction unconfirmed from 13th may just sitting in multibit seen by 85 peers
it is a joke tbh

have backup wallet and password

this txaccelerator thing, does it work?


Thanks, that did the job! I have my wallet in Electrum now. Can I just wait until the network forgets about the transaction, or will electrum also rebroadcast it?

If you don't mind posting the transaction ID here I could try getting it confirmed with the viabtc accelerator. If you want to try using the accelerator yourself it's available at this link.

https://www.viabtc.com/tools/txaccelerator/



had a fee added of 0.00010013

it auto set the fee and balance is now zero

I will try the transaction accelerator
thanks for heads up

Guido
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1018


FASTCOIN $FST


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2017, 11:05:21 AM
 #18

entered txid and captcha but just got a pop up saying beyond limits
dont know whetehr they are deluged with people trying

Guido
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1018


FASTCOIN $FST


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2017, 11:12:21 AM
 #19

okay found a new service to accelerate txid and transactions
you have to pay and is a joke as has to be by card! lol
it's part of btc.com so legit, is articles about site, i know roger ver was criticising them as card option not btc

its official btc has turned into the monster like banks and cc, slow expensive and the miners like bitfury should clear backlog as a favour to network, its not like they wouldnt collect fees and improve whole thing and benefi

anyway, https://pushtx.btc.com/#/

I amy try in a bit as over 10 days is a joke, it may stay like this forever ootherwise

they are quoting me $7.92
to add on what i already paid fee when sent from multibit
this is for less than half a btc i sent

hope the info helps, I will update if i use
time and effort needed to put in and wasted time may be well worth, we'll see

HCP
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 448

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
May 24, 2017, 01:16:32 PM
 #20

ViaBTC TX Accelerator works... but, they only provide 100 slots every hour. As there are 150,000 unconfirmed transactions around at the moment, their free service got VERY popular. They reset the 100 slot limit at the start of every hour, so you basically have to submit your transaction in the first minute of a new hour for it to work.

PROS: Free! It works.
CONS: Very busy, can be frustrating waiting for the hour to roll over so you can submit your transaction. You only get a confirmation when ViaBTC mine a block (They've just had a dry spell and haven't mined a block in over 5 hours)

Haven't personally tried the BTC.com one... but others have and it supposedly works.

PROS: legit site, works.
CONS: EXPENSIVE! No overseas payment options at present, Alipay only... and apparently that involves navigatin a lot of chinese Wink



WARNING: It seems with the increasing numbers of "stuck" transactions and people wanting to use accelerators... a number of scam sites have started to pop up claiming to be able to accelerate your transaction for a small fee. Generally they all say something like "With co-operation of main mining pools" or "With mining pool contacts".

If the site isn't actually a mining pool operator like ViaBTC or BTC.com... or a user known to have solid contacts with mining pools like Quickseller or macbook-air, then I'd be VERY wary of giving them any money.

Do your research, be careful with your coins Wink

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!