Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2017, 06:03:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Starting First Mining Operation  (Read 1284 times)
arnel88
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 09, 2017, 11:50:33 PM
 #1

Hey Guys
I have been following the crypto scene since 2014.I planned to invest around 1.5k EUR and wanted to mine Litecoin,but i could not buy anywhere the gpus for a reasonable price back then and i quieted.

Fast forward 4 years and now i finally have some cash and made the move.

I ordered :

8GB Sapphire Radeon RX 570 Nitro+ x 48
MSI Z270-A PRO Intel Z270 So.1151 x8
Seasonic PRIME 1200 W Gold x 8
Intel Core i3 7100 2x 3.90GHz So.1151 x 8
120GB SanDisk Plus 2.5" x8
16GB G.Skill RipJaws x4
EDIT : USB3-0-PCI-E-PCI-Express-1x-to-16x-Riser x 70 red one version 0007

These are the parts i ordered,they will arrive at the end of the month.I will be making 8 rigs with 6 gpus each.

This is the biggest investment in my life ever,i usually stacked the money under the pillow Smiley, but i am really fascinated by the whole system and i think it will be the future.

If anyone have any tips for me on the start that would be great.Since i think that i will encounter a lot of problems on the beginning with setting up the hardware and software.

PS. I will also keep you guys updated from a noob side from setting the rigs up and getting the most MHS out of them.
1508695391
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508695391

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508695391
Reply with quote  #2

1508695391
Report to moderator
1508695391
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508695391

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508695391
Reply with quote  #2

1508695391
Report to moderator
1508695391
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508695391

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508695391
Reply with quote  #2

1508695391
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508695391
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508695391

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508695391
Reply with quote  #2

1508695391
Report to moderator
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 01:11:52 AM
 #2

Well, if this is your first venture into mining I would advise you to start small, build 1 rig and learn the process, after it's running 100% stable for a week build the next one, etc.... 8 at once may be difficult at first.

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
arnel88
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 09:53:38 AM
 #3

Well, if this is your first venture into mining I would advise you to start small, build 1 rig and learn the process, after it's running 100% stable for a week build the next one, etc.... 8 at once may be difficult at first.


thats a big problem since i need to wait so much for the parts,becouse of the order process.im from bosnia and all the parts im buying are at germany 2000KM ride,since that thing i also cant min/max the price,since i need to order the things that are specific in that store.
evakka
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
May 10, 2017, 03:10:46 PM
 #4

I totally agree with Elder

The construction of six rig system is a quite complex situation and many issues can occur until it becames stable

▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ICO ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
WIRELINE.io  -  Largest Fund worldwide for distributed application makers
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
gwestcot
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
May 10, 2017, 05:57:44 PM
 #5

I also agree that it can be overwhelming to start out that way. That being said, I did start quickly as well and I built 5 rigs for a total of 32 GPU's. There will be so many things that you will run into that you didn't anticipate and for me it took a few weeks before my setup was stable in any sort of way.

Bitcore airdrops - 3% every week!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1883902.0
arnel88
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 08:15:46 PM
 #6

I also agree that it can be overwhelming to start out that way. That being said, I did start quickly as well and I built 5 rigs for a total of 32 GPU's. There will be so many things that you will run into that you didn't anticipate and for me it took a few weeks before my setup was stable in any sort of way.

i know the process will be hard and i will run into a lot of things


can u point out some issues ? that you had trouble with ? would help me a lot.thanks in advance

eth4lyfe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
May 10, 2017, 08:56:15 PM
 #7

I also agree that it can be overwhelming to start out that way. That being said, I did start quickly as well and I built 5 rigs for a total of 32 GPU's. There will be so many things that you will run into that you didn't anticipate and for me it took a few weeks before my setup was stable in any sort of way.

i know the process will be hard and i will run into a lot of things


can u point out some issues ? that you had trouble with ? would help me a lot.thanks in advance



Cooling and auto-restarts Smiley
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2017, 04:25:22 AM
 #8


I ordered :

8GB Sapphire Radeon RX 570 Nitro+ x 48
MSI Z270-A PRO Intel Z270 So.1151 x8
Seasonic PRIME 1200 W Gold x 8
Intel Core i3 7100 2x 3.90GHz So.1151 x 8
120GB SanDisk Plus 2.5" x8
16GB G.Skill RipJaws x4

These are the parts i ordered,they will arrive at the end of the month.I will be making 8 rigs with 6 gpus each.


i did not see any powered risers on your shopping list

Im not asking for donation for my advice , never will , but i'm supporting this Mom. I read her story somewhere , and I felt like I have to share with everyone ... You can support Her if You sign her petition
VoskCoin
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 196


YouTube.com/VoskCoin


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2017, 04:31:19 AM
 #9

How do people prefer to monitor this many rigs so they run effectively?

Check out my Crypto YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/VoskCoin
If you enjoy my content click Subscribe
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2017, 04:42:40 AM
 #10


If anyone have any tips for me on the start that would be great.Since i think that i will encounter a lot of problems on the beginning with setting up the hardware and software.

PS. I will also keep you guys updated from a noob side from setting the rigs up and getting the most MHS out of them.

You might going to run into some trouble with those 1200Watts PSU's
Rx570 nitro+ cards without any overclocking , undervolting can draw 190-200 watts easy during mining
With 6 cards installed you already hit your max psu rating , your system will consume another 100watts or less , your psu might will overheating , and randomly shut down (overheat protection) . If you are using the max watts of your psu , it will be hard to set up a stable system .
I would go for 1600watts psu's.
Of course you can use a 6 cards setup with proper fine tune , undervolting the GPU , mem , but you not going to be able to get the full hashing power from those cards .

Im not asking for donation for my advice , never will , but i'm supporting this Mom. I read her story somewhere , and I felt like I have to share with everyone ... You can support Her if You sign her petition
crossabdd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
May 11, 2017, 04:45:34 AM
 #11

you choose wrong grapic card for starting mining. this is just my opinion, better you buy Rx 480 4gb, its highest mining power with only 1conector.
the rx 570 4gb give 2 conector power, 6pin + 8pin, its not a great card for mining, because we need more than 1 psu for mining.

TheRider
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 05:09:07 AM
 #12

you choose wrong grapic card for starting mining. this is just my opinion, better you buy Rx 480 4gb, its highest mining power with only 1conector.
the rx 570 4gb give 2 conector power, 6pin + 8pin, its not a great card for mining, because we need more than 1 psu for mining.

The 6pin is optional, according to the spec.
RentGPU
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 05:20:44 AM
 #13

Man thats a big start , as you already bought the machines i suggest you gather a team of your friends or so who have some pc knowledge to help you setup that farm or you will hit too many problems may cause the end of this project before it start and a big resell loss..goodluck
omonuyak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
May 11, 2017, 07:12:32 AM
 #14

Well, if this is your first venture into mining I would advise you to start small, build 1 rig and learn the process, after it's running 100% stable for a week build the next one, etc.... 8 at once may be difficult at first.
I think what you said is through starting mining in a little ways will give you time to learn how mining really work in a practical theme and also it will enable you to easily current your mistake without mush financial cost then from there one can expend little by little.

arbenowskee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 07:47:18 AM
 #15

Hey Guys
I have been following the crypto scene since 2014.I planned to invest around 1.5k EUR and wanted to mine Litecoin,but i could not buy anywhere the gpus for a reasonable price back then and i quieted.

Fast forward 4 years and now i finally have some cash and made the move.

I ordered :

8GB Sapphire Radeon RX 570 Nitro+ x 48
MSI Z270-A PRO Intel Z270 So.1151 x8
Seasonic PRIME 1200 W Gold x 8
Intel Core i3 7100 2x 3.90GHz So.1151 x 8
120GB SanDisk Plus 2.5" x8
16GB G.Skill RipJaws x4

These are the parts i ordered,they will arrive at the end of the month.I will be making 8 rigs with 6 gpus each.

This is the biggest investment in my life ever,i usually stacked the money under the pillow Smiley, but i am really fascinated by the whole system and i think it will be the future.

If anyone have any tips for me on the start that would be great.Since i think that i will encounter a lot of problems on the beginning with setting up the hardware and software.

PS. I will also keep you guys updated from a noob side from setting the rigs up and getting the most MHS out of them.

as some people mentioned, be sure to mod VBIOS, to get that GPU power consumption down. You want to have your power consumption at max 80% of the PSUs nominal power in order not to damage it long term. This is max 960W at the wall in your case.
Its good thing you bought nitro+ cards as a beginner - those have a backup bios in case you mess something up, so chances of bricking your card is lower.

For future - you do not need as powerful cpu or that much RAM, because they just prolong your ROI and do not make notable difference with GPU mining. Better to invest in good motherboard and good PSU.

And you're also missing powered risers and cases. Will you build cases by yourself?
arnel88
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 09:23:22 AM
 #16

The parts i ordered is the tricky thing,since in my country all the parts are super expansive i ordered the parts at a store in Germany thats 2000 km from me im at Bosnia.Becouse of that all the parts are from the same store and i cant min max that much.The cpu can go much cheaper but the problem is that at that store there are no other MOBOS,if it where i would buy the biostar mobo or the asrock.I picked the 8gb sapphire so it would be easier for me to resell it later.

i ordered 70 risers on ebay USB3.0 PCI-E PCI Express 1x to 16x the red one version 0007.I choose 70 becouse i heard that lot of them dont work and i want to be sure that i have enough.

the cases i will build alone
Pennywis3
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 199


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 09:38:37 AM
 #17

@xxcsu

RX570 Nitro+ uses 150w at dual mining, only eth u can bring it down to 110-120@the wall easy. 6 GPU rig goes below 1000w dual mining.

@arnel

The PSU's you ordered only have 4 PCI-E cables, so you will have to connect 2 cables to 4 cards.
Be carefull here with the power draw, if both cards start start pulling close to 300w, that could be a problem and the connectors might get burned.
arnel88
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 09:50:36 AM
 #18

@xxcsu

RX570 Nitro+ uses 150w at dual mining, only eth u can bring it down to 110-120@the wall easy. 6 GPU rig goes below 1000w dual mining.

@arnel

The PSU's you ordered only have 4 PCI-E cables, so you will have to connect 2 cables to 4 cards.
Be carefull here with the power draw, if both cards start start pulling close to 300w, that could be a problem and the connectors might get burned.

i have just seen that,thank you so much for pointing that out.

i looked at the shop and i found an alternative it would be the

Corsair HX1200 80+ Plus Platinum 1200 Watt would you recommend that ? i have somwhere read that the connectors burn,thats why i skipped it in the first place.
Pennywis3
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 199


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 10:01:42 AM
 #19

The corsair has 5 pci-e connectors, the 6th one is for the CPU Smiley

I recommend EVGA units, G2 or P2, the never ones 1000W G3 also dont have 6 connectors.

EDIT: dobivaš ovo sa mindfactory? caseking?
arnel88
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 10:27:12 AM
 #20

The corsair has 5 pci-e connectors, the 6th one is for the CPU Smiley

I recommend EVGA units, G2 or P2, the never ones 1000W G3 also dont have 6 connectors.

EDIT: dobivaš ovo sa mindfactory? caseking?

e odakle si ? Smiley

sa ove stranice - computeruniverse.net
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!